We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cosy place to stay, with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seahorse Inn

The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 135 Restaurants in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fabulous beach side dining with fresh seafood, premium ingredients, an awesome wine & cocktail list, and great personal and attentive service.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy place to stay, with excellent food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Seahorse and would definitely recommend it as a place both to stay and to eat. My room was very comfortable with all facilities you would expect and more, including a coffee machine, aircon, and towels provided. It's not a luxury hotel by any means and this is reflected in the price of the room but it is homely and cosy and I felt very safe as a female on my own. All the staff were so friendly and helpful; it felt like a home from home.
It is across a small road from the beach and you can hear the waves crashing while you are going off to sleep - very restful.
Breakfast was excellent, with a variety of options, and dinner was superb, with local fish and a beautiful creme brulée for dessert.
Definitely go and eat there even if you are staying somewhere else but if you also want good comfortable, clean, no frills accommodation then stay there as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    126
    42
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ate here 3 times in a week!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

In a one week stay in Tobago, we chose the Seahorse 3 times! The setting was beautiful and romantic, with the sounds of the ocean in the background. The food was excellent and we both really enjoyed everything we tried, which was different each visit. The service is fast, friendly and very courteous. It's quite pricey but not more than we would pay for the same in England.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rained out dinner !”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was my second visit and just my luck, it started to rain again. Had to be shuffled to the covered second floor seating area which was not very nice in the middle of the first course.
The setting outdoor is decent with the lovely sound of the ocean in the background. Staff very courteous. Cheap tablecloth and napkins are a bit of turn off. We ordered soup of the day - callaloo soup. My wife said she has had better from some of the quickfood vendors in Trinidad. The seared scallops came on a bed of risotto so big I thought it was a main course. The three brolied lobsters done in garlic butter did not disappoint . It is pretty hard to do a bad job broiling fresh lobster anyway! We all did the passion fruit creme brulee which failed to excite the buds.
Definitely not fine dining. Overpriced. Would probably not return again .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ameeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View and Food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent food in an outdoor setting with the sunset over the Carribean! Pricey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth every penny!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's a little hard to locate because of its hideaway location. It's directly opposite the stone haven bay, and one can hear the break of the waves while dining at this restaurant. We had the opportunity to dine on the balcony. It's a fairly small place, but not compact. Prior to our reservation, we looked at the menu to decide if here would be a great place to have dinner and most importantly, if the wine list appealed to us. I can say that they have an exhaustive wine list, and I am sure there is something on there to satiate any palate.

The service was great - very attentive staff, and quite knowledgeable about their menu and wines. The ambiance was so romantic, and being there made me fall all in love all over again...

I had the soup of the day, which was a cream of broccoli soup, and it was the best I have had. He had a roasted bell pepper and herbed goat cheese dish with a balsamic vinegar glaze. That, too looked and tasted amazing. The food is so flavorful and your appetite is wetted with the presentation. For the main course, I had the surf and turf, which was a petite sirloin and lobster. The garlic butter served with the lobster was perfect, and the peppercorn sauce over the steak was superb. His slow roasted pork belly and shrimp dish was also very good. The shrimp was cooked perfectly with Cajun spices.

We were too full to try the dessert, but will be back another time to sample the sweet. Great dinner experience, and will recommend to couples who are looking to spend a romantic, candle lit dinner together, with the background sound of breaking waves and crisp ocean air.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seahorse Inn also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing