We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don’t be fooled by the pictures on the website of Canoe Bay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canoe Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canoe Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #75 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Tobago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don’t be fooled by the pictures on the website of Canoe Bay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I just got back from Tobago where I was shocked and disgusted with the false advertisement of Canoe Bay Beach Resort. I should have listened to the individuals who were kind enough to leave reviews about this rude staff and the Dump called Canoe Bay Beach Resort. Don’t be fooled by the pictures on the website of Canoe Bay, we rented the grounds of this facility for a wedding and the pictures am posting will tell you the anguish I went through when I saw the dump called Canoe Bay Beach Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AmandaH701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I took my wife and mother-in-law to look at your beach facilities at Canoe Bay this afternoon (Sunday March 17, 2013) a little after 4:00 pm. After I parked the car, I was accosted by a man sitting with two others who demanded we pay TT$20 per adult even as we were explaining that we were only wishing to assess the facilities for a future visit. He was loud, rude and the most unwelcoming of all the people I had met in my 2 weeks in T&T. I had no way of assessing whether he was there in an official capacity (no entry booth no uniform) or if he was just angry at some previous incident. It really doesn't matter...it doesn't bode well for your facility or any other hospitality business when visitors and potential customers are treated with such disdain.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank BrianJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tobago hotels

Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

i visited this resort in July 2012 and it was not what i expected. the place was shabby and bushy, improper lighting, untidy, and unfriendly. People wishing to come to this place hoping that these reviews are wrong, please i beg u, dont book at this location... i BEG u. my family and i thought that despite the reviews the resort will still be nice considering the ads online. trust me, they are far from what they presume to be. as for the room accomodation, the room i stayed in for the one night i deposited (because i was not getting a refund on my deposit) was not bad however certain things they told me the room was equipped with, wasnt there and the staff had no problem what so ever in telling me to find another hotel.
please, save yourself the stress i had to go through. book somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Visited Canoe Bay in late May 2012, took my family. The place had bush all around. Very secluded! I booked two rooms for six people and they were a block apart (through bush) from each other and there was no lighting at night between the two. Lots of sandflies biting everyone because of the bush. The two bedrooms are airconditioned but the rest of the place is not. It was very hot. No working restaurant. No place to get food within walking distance. I asked the staff to get our rooms closer together and they said sure if I paid $390 more per night. The fridge in the room did not work. I then told them that I would be moving since I could not get my rooms closer to each other and I had only used one room since they were so far apart. They refused to give me back my deposit. They said that the deposit was not refundable.

Save your money and stay somewhere else. They look like they are getting ready to go under. They do not have a working restaurant and there is no place within walking distance to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dissatisfied001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I read a lot of good reviews about Canoe Bay Resort Tobago so I decided to book there for my family vacation which was scheduled at the end of July 2011...I paid my deposit in May and confirmed my reservation or so I thought. The first week in July I called Canoe Bay Resort as I was enquiring about some details of the room, at that time I was told that I should cancel my reservation as the owners of the resort had booked a conference at the resort on the same weekend that I had made my reservation, I was also told that the staff were trying to contact me to inform me of this new arrangement and could not reach my cell, however there were NO missed calls to my cell phone from the resorts telephone numbers. I went ahead and canceled my booking and thankfully I was able to get accommodation at another resort. Canoe Bay did refund my deposit but in future I will book somewhere else and save myself the trouble.

Room Tip: check the online reviews before you book and don't book at Canoe Bay resort Tobago
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Caribbeanwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was recommended 2 us so we gave it a try.It is a very lonely and dark at night...taxi drivers calls it a hole. The pool is deep even for adults and there are no lights around it at night. The place is swamped with huge attacking mosqitoes. The rooms are not equipt with microwave,drinking glass,coffee cups ect. The television did not work so not entertainment at night and u cant go out doors because of the bitting insects. The nearby beach is very calm and inviting except for the occational seaweed you will step on in the water.I did not have a good time here an am sure you wont..so mmake better arrangement and stay someplace better...............

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SexyTrini1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

I am a Trinidadian and I tok my family for a weekend getaway last month to Tobago. We stayed at Canoe Bay and we loved it! It was the first beach that I went to where I did not have to worry about the children bathing in the sea and we never felt in danger. In fact what we loved most about the place was that it was very secluded but we felt safe. The only thing that I would recommend is that they provide restaurant facilities because it is a long ways walk rom the road. Other than that, we enjoyed out time there and we are going back at the end of august

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CXCTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobago hotels
2.0 mi away
Native Abode
Native Abode
#1 of 20 in Crown Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buccoo Reef Bliss
Buccoo Reef Bliss
#7 of 8 in Buccoo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.8 mi away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chic, the boutique hotel & conference centre
1.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Bay Beach Resort

Property: Canoe Bay Beach Resort
Address: Cove Estate | Lowlands, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canoe Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Canoe Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Beach Hotel Tobago
Canoe Bay Beach Resort Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing