We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canoe Bay Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
$259
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$135
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$294
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$135
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
0
5
2
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
5
2
4
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 21 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was recommended 2 us so we gave it a try.It is a very lonely and dark at night...taxi drivers calls it a hole. The pool is deep even for adults and there are no lights around it at night. The place is swamped with huge attacking mosqitoes. The rooms are not equipt with microwave,drinking glass,coffee cups ect. The television did not work so not entertainment at night and u cant go out doors because of the bitting insects. The nearby beach is very calm and inviting except for the occational seaweed you will step on in the water.I did not have a good time here an am sure you wont..so mmake better arrangement and stay someplace better...............

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SexyTrini1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I am a Trinidadian and I tok my family for a weekend getaway last month to Tobago. We stayed at Canoe Bay and we loved it! It was the first beach that I went to where I did not have to worry about the children bathing in the sea and we never felt in danger. In fact what we loved most about the place was that it was very secluded but we felt safe. The only thing that I would recommend is that they provide restaurant facilities because it is a long ways walk rom the road. Other than that, we enjoyed out time there and we are going back at the end of august

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CXCTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This place has nice size rooms and a private beach, with not to much guest. The facilites of the pool, not hotel savy, its an above ground pool with lots of bushes around it. The lighting in the villas are not the best, its has glass doors which is not to safe for the area. The road to go in is a gravel road and very lonely (2miles with no street lights), the entrance to the hotel is very unwelcoming, please don't go at night because you may not find anyone to check into your room. There is no security and there was robbery while we were staying there whereby the couple from the England lost their passports monies and some other valuables. There is not breakfast or lunch facilites unless you let them know in advance, most times its to their convience. The price we paid for this place you could find a much more save and convient spot for the price. I would not recommend this spot (hotel) at all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TrinitravelerNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We visited Canoe Bay Resort at the end of a fabulous holiday in Tobago with a view to booking apartments there for a family trip next year. We made it clear that we wished to look around first and then we intended to stay at the beach for the morning so would come across to pay the older gentleman on duty at the pay desk. We were shown around very courteously by the young lady on reception. We found the double room suites to be very dark and certainly not luxurious as described on the brochure. We then walked over the lawns to have a look at the facilties including the pool and beach. There was a small pool which was above ground with a very small wooden deck tacked on one end We were the only persons in sight apart from one couple already on the beach and in full view still of the pay desk. We stood back from the beach to take in the view before heading towards the pay desk which was at the bar to pay entrance for the morning. At this stage the elderly gent started waving angrily at us to come over to him which we did with the intention of paying. We explained to him that we had just been looking which he already knew anyway. (Our beach bags and swimsuits were still in the car at this stage). He then became very unfriendly and said we had to pay right now and that we had no right to walk over towards the beach. Even though we explained again what we had been doing he then said they had enough people staying there without needing our clientele – at this stage I might add we are a couple in our late fifties with our adult daughter accompanying us. He told us the owner was nearby and we spoke to him. Unfortunately even though we explained what we were doing to him he was just as unfriendly and basically said that if we crossed the lawn towards the beach it was not allowed and no photos were allowed either.

Does this establishment want guests?! This was our first experience of an unfriendly and frankly antagonistic Tobagonian and it was very upsetting and disappointing. Up to that point we were very interested in staying but nothing would entice us back there to stay now, or even visit the beach. Neither would we recommend it to anyone else from the UK as who wants to be treated the way we were?

Stayed: March 2008
16  Thank Susie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews