We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glorious Days Are Over !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miller's Guest House
Ranked #6 of 92 Tobago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We decided to go to Miller's guest House, because we wanted an apartment close to the sea and because the good reviews in tripadvisor..." perfectly-located, clean, comfortable, had an excellent restaurant on the premises, and operated by a first-rate guy, Winston"...
Wow! we thought is the best appartmnet ever!!! and we booked 5 nights.
But. what we have experienced was anithing that the best apartment ever!!!
1. "Perfectly located"??? We found an old-falling-apart-little guest house closed to a fishermen-boat harbour, where since 5 o'clock am and at least until 9pm tourists and fishermen took turns at the pier located just in front of our room.
2."clean"??? My husband had to fight every night with at least 2 beatles (outside and inside the room)...i am honest...i was just screaming:-) must of all when one of those decided to flight just right into my face... I think is normal to see them often on the roads, since we are in the warm caribbean, but to be honest, i didn't expect to see them "so often" in our Guest House. Furthermore we were one day without toilett paper...the day after when we found Winston we asked him for some and then he asked if we wanted to have our room cleaned...i have to say, we had to ask for it, but then there was toilet paper and the room was clean.
3. "comfortable"??? The day we arrived "tired", there wasn't any water in the Guest House and we have to carry "alone" from the pier into the Guest House at least 3 buckets to flush the toilet and in the evening we took the shower also at the pier together with the fishermen. Furthermore, the apartment have had his glorius days at least 10 years ago and needs urgent renovation.
4. "had an excellent restaurant on the premises"??? The restaurant was closed the first 2 nights we were there and they didn't open also everyday for breakfast and lunch as advertised. In 5 days we were there, they opened 2 days for dinner and 1 for breakfast. On the third day we wanted to eat there and while we were waiting for the restaurant to be open, we saw and hear how the owner was very rude to the waitress, and then we decided to eat somewhere else...thanks God we had rented a car!
4."first-rate guy, Winston"??? When we arrived he compleined that we were half and our forward..but even the guests that arrived puntual in the followings days, have to wait for their rooms...the only time he smile to us, was the last day when we were leaving and he gave to us his visitor card asking for a review in tripadvisor...??? Sure!
Last but not least, once there, we realized that there were a lot of much more nicest and cheapest Guest houses and apartments with better service in Bucco. We will come to Tobago again..so much wonderfull nature, perfect clima, nice people and great tasting food...but in Miller's Guest House never again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gretchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghvibe, Manager at Miller's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

It is quite unfortunate that the client's expectations were not met, as we here at Miller's strive to ensure complete customer satisfaction at all times. I will address all the points made by the client/s in ascending order : The client referred to the property as "an-old-falling-apart-little-guesthouse' "located overlooking a pier frequented by fishermen &tourist from 5:00 a.m to 9:00 p.m"supposedly every day(1) The client is correct in stating that the property is old but it is also well maintained as evidenced by the pictorials posted on this site by other contributors, this guesthouse has a rustic & historical architecture that has been refurbished to ensure the character of the property is maintained and the modern creature comforts are also incorporated ,the fact that the client/s room was located overlooking the pier and the pier was frequented by fishermen & tourist is neither here nor there in terms of the association with the quality of the accommodation and it would also suggest that the client/s would have to be in the room for at least 16 hrs on any given day, which contradicts their statement of the guesthouse being "old-and-falling-apart". (2)The fact that they had an insect problem does not indicate that the room was not clean {room cleaned very 2 days},also this persisted for the entire stay i.e:5 days yet still this was not brought to the attention of management???!! Also again they allude to the toilet paper being depleted and state "when they found Winston the day after" yet still in the intro they indicated that the guesthouse was small and they go on to say when they found me the toilet paper was replenished and the room was cleaned therefore it would seem to suggest that the problem of no toilet paper was very short term as housekeeping it is done with the full acknowledgement and authorization of the client this is confirmed from their account and the room was attended to on the 3rd day of their stay, and still even though they interfaced with management at that time, they never indicated the supposed existent problem with the "beetles" (3)On arrival there was a problem with our water supply, of which they were immediately informed, as this was a problem that emanated from the main/singular supplier on the Island that affected the entire S.Western end of the Island, certain measures were taken to offset the negative effects in the short term as this was resolved within the 1st. 24 hrs yet still the client decided, under no force from management, to stay for the full period of their booking. The suggestion that they made concerning the room they occupied was that :"the apartment have had his glorius days at least 10 years ago and needs urgent renovation" this is not only non specific as not one facet of the room was identified also this apartment is well documented on this site attached are pics indicating it's comfort level as well as it's physical condition, also this statement is quite frivolous as this unit was refurbished 1yr. ago. (4) The restaurant was closed on the first day they arrived because of the existing water problem, and the 2nd. day it was closed because that is the scheduled day it closes during the week ,they also confirm that it opened 3 times after that {last 3 days} and suggested the times they saw or was aware it was opened, this would suggest that they were in the "dilapidated room or property" for their entire stay waiting to see if the restaurant was opened, "on the third day they wanted to eat there" , at which point they chose not to because they saw the owner/manager speaking to a staff member in a rude manner??? That in itself does not say anything about the food/service quality and is of an internal {staff/management} nature. (5) At no time did management complain about their early arrival, it is true that they were scheduled to arrive at 8:00 p.m, they actually arrived @10:00 a.m it was indicated to them that the time given was quite different to the time they actually arrived, nevertheless it was quite provident that the unit booked was available, if that constitutes a complaint well I stand guilty, also they suggested that other client/s checked in on time and had to wait to be accommodated, again this is quite contradictory and spurious as this would mean that they were in constant contact with all incoming guest asking them about their itinerary so as to glean info to include in this commentary. At all times during the clients stay management interacted with the customer and at all times no complaint was made,obviously this is somehow a personal opinion grounded in as much and the coup de gras was when they indicated that there are other guesthouses in Buccoo that offer a better service and are nicer, yet still they stayed their full 5 days here ???!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was referred to Miller's by a friend in Chaguaramas, who said that Miller's was perfectly-located, clean, comfortable, had an excellent restaurant on the premises, and was operated by a first-rate guy, Winston.

My friend's review was spot-on! We rented the "apartment" for five nights, and had a marvelous time. We swam, ate, drank and relaxed right on-site, and Miller's was a perfect hub for exploring the western half of the island. Proximity to the infamous "Sunday School" couldn't be any better...though honestly, ever since the new fancy Goat Racing Complex was built, Sunday School ain't so infamous any more—it's become a bit Disneyfied and touristy...but hey, still fun. The in-house "Latin Night" held on Friday in El Pescador was actually way better.



We enjoyed watching the fishermen bringing in their catch on the pier, and one night we bought a perfectly-filleted red snapper to cook ourselves in the apartment kitchen. We'll never get fresher fish than that!



Winston is indeed an A+ guy. He'll happily go above and beyond to make sure you're comfortable, and is great to hang out with and talk to. 

I'll echo what other guests have said about value-for-money. I've stayed elsewhere on the island and spent way more for way less.



Thanks Winston, we'll be back!

Geoff and Mandy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was my kind of place and guest house: property what was living nicely in past and hadn't repaired too much (also not rooms). Had a feeling of living. I liked. Was next to sea and beach. Was relaxing to watch 30+ pelicans. Also was next to small city central.
With that price was great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-PLaitio-Ramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Enjoyed my one night here sharing with my buddy. Thank God for the aircon! The room itself is fairly basic but everything works and, most importantly, is clean. Don't expect the Ritz but it's good value. I don't know if Winston owns the Restaurant by the beach but somebody ought to tell them that, although the food was pretty tasty, it is totally overpriced. To pay the equivilent of £20 for a fish dish (not lobster!) in Tobago at a beachside venue is about double the topend of what they should be charging. Although prices were marked on the menu we were shocked when the bill came..what a cheek!!
We really enjoyed our theological debate with the Christian Winston and he held his corner very well in defence of a superior being...although didn't manage to sway my agnostic beliefs!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nacflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Thanks for everything Winston! My fiance and I had invited close friends who are used to resort/all inclusives.I talked them in to trusting me with taking care of accomodations. They loved it and they experienced what the resorts cant offer...Tobago. It was perfect!! Staff went well out of their way for us,everything neat clean and styley..This is were we will be staying from now on.
Next time I will save more time for talking politics.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oNathano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I just stayed a few nights here and the room was great and well worth it for its bargain price. The food in the restaurant was great too and the view of the bay just makes it all worthwhile.
The owner was very helpful and was a good guy. I definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere affordable in Tobago.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eoin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I stayed at Millers in the last week of February and had just an amazing time there. The location is fantastic, the rooms are clean and well kept, and we got to spend a good amount of time hanging out on our "front porch" talking with new friends made there. This spot is truly a happy little place that I will look forward to going back to in years to come. Thank you to the staff (and neighbors) at Millers for making our vacation so special!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jplatow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobago hotels
3.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
2.2 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.2 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
5.2 mi away
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Half Moon Blue Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Guest House

Address: #14 Miller's Street | Buccoo, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tobago
Price Range: $63 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller's Guesthouse is situated in the rustic fishing village of Buccoo Point, the property overlooks Buccoo Bay official departure point to the world famous Buccoo Reef. Buccoo Point is located 6.5 miles West of the main ferry terminal {Scarborough} and 3.5 miles North of the A.N.R International airport. The accommodation offered is varied in nature with emphasis being placed on affordability,convenience&functionality.Located on the Southern end of the property is the restaurant El Pescador, the cuisine is themed after a Latin/Caribbean food fusion that is a gastronomic delight and served in an ambient atmosphere with the picturesque backdrop of Buccoo bay completing the exhilarating experience.We here at Miller's give our professional guarantee that your holiday will not only be affordable but memorable as well!! We look forward to serving you....God Bless!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miller's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller's Guest House Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing