We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grande Almandier
Ranked #1 of 1 North Coast B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I drove from Port of Spain to this hotel on the Easter weekend. It took just over 3 hours through some spectacular countryside. On arrival (after having a bit of difficulty finding the hotel in the village, tried several times to ring the hotel but got no answer!), we were shown to our room, number 8. The room itself was very small with a queen size bed surrounded by a mosquito net (very needed). There was just enough space to slide between the bed and wardrobe. The shower in the little en suite was not good, the hot tap was actually the cold water and vice versa and there was very little pressure. We had a small balcony which looked directly onto the beach, very nice. The room had quite a few mosquitos in it so I went down and asked for some bug spray to kill them, the girl said she would try to find some. I'm still waiting for her to come back with it. Also there were cockroaches although I'm not sure if it was 1 which got around the room a bit or if it was more than one. Didn't particularly bother me but just be aware that they can be there. Later that evening we went down to the little restaurant area and had a very reasonable priced meal ($TT200 for two main courses). My son is vegetarian and the chef came out and explained the various options he had, I was very impressed by this. The meal itself was fine although I asked for my food to be well cooked and it wasn't. After this we walked across the road to the office to get our permit for the beach and at 9.30 that evening we met the guide, Tyron, on the beach. What can I say, every little fault of the hotel was instantly forgotten when you are greeted by the sight of the magnificent leather back turtles. We spent about 90 minutes on the beach and were fortunate enough to see 6 turtles in various stages of nesting. We watched one turtle from start to finish, amazing. Our guide was knowledgable on the subject of the turtles. There is no flash photography allowed at night but in the morning it's ok. So we went to bed, to await the morning when we could get up again. My only complaint here was the noise of the music coming from some place near the hotel, it was still blasting at 12.30 when I fell asleep. The next morning we went onto the beach just before 6am and were lucky enough to see 3 turtles still there. In the daylight it was even more awe inspiring and I got some fantastic pictures. After another couple of hours we went back to the hotel, tired but thrilled. We spent the rest of the day on the beach, the hotel were kind enough to allow us to remain parked with them until we were ready to leave. My son loved the whole experience and wanted to stay another night and if the hotel had any vacancies I definitely would have.

All in all, this is a trip that every person should be allowed to do at least once in a lifetime. The total cost, including the permit, the hotel and food, was about 120 pounds sterling. As long as you are not expecting 5 star luxury, you will not be dissapointed. I guarantee you wil be humbled by seeing these magnificent creatures.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque New Mexico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Wonderful B and B on beautiful beach in Northern Trinidad. Room was lovely with beer and soft drinks chilled in fridge. Perfect size for family of 4 with hammocks outside on the deck. 3 hour journey from airport is lovely - through some fascinating towns, coastal scenery and rainforest. Staff - Cherry Ann and Jason were lovely - so helpful and Jason made sure that our meal was cooked to perfection. Food is pricey but they have the monopoly in this part of the world. The turtle viewing cannot be missed. They come to the hotel to let you know when the turtles are on the beach. We saw 40 or more laying their eggs. It was a unique and amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladys3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

This is a great Lodge type hotel overlooking the beach in a secluded spot, yet not too far from the town. The drive from Port of Spain to Grande Riviere was fantastic - through rainforest and beautiful vegetation. The staff here were very friendly, the food was good, but the best bit was the convenience of being on the beach where the turtles came to lay their eggs, then being able to walk out of your bedroom, on to the beach, and see them again in the morning ( you are not allowed to take photos at night!) when you can see them in daylight.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

This hotel is nice if you want to see the turtles. The service is pretty good but they fall short on a few things, i.e., continental breakfast included but told that coffee would not be ready for a long while; dinner - brought food incorrectly cooked. But, all in all, if you want to see turtles, this is a good place to stay. The hotel next door, Mt. Plasir, has much worse service for their restaurant and automatically adds their 10 percent service charge for their bad service so only eat there if you have many hours to spare. The rooms are clean but quite small but they are air conditioned which is nice. And, being right on the beach is good if you want to get up at 5 am to catch the turtles laying their eggs since you can just walk out the door and be right there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlelover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Le Grande Almandier is a pretty basic B & B - small rooms, tiny bathrooms, lots of mosquitoes & a deck you can take turns standing on - at a very inflated price, which they can get because the hotel sits on the beach in the remote north coast village of Grande Riviere where leatherback turtles come to lay their eggs.
Its a long drive, the last few miles of which are on a narrow, winding road with blind corners and bridges whose guard rails have been knocked out by the people who didn't make it over them - so you have to stay overnight and the few hotels in Grande Riveiere can charge whatever they want.
Food was was very expensive & not particularly good - given their website & previous reviews we'd been expecting something special, but we've honestly eaten a lot better at cheap roadside take outs. Dinner was tough stir fried chicken that had been pre-cooked & dried out before being tossed in a very bland sauce, and kingfish that had been seriously overcooked, accompanied by rapidly cooling mashed potatoes stuffed into half green peppers - breakfast was two slices of coconut bread, three very small pieces of fruit & coffee "and anything else is an extra"..
But to see leatherback turtles laying their eggs I'd have camped beside that beach in th etropical rain & eaten granola bars [which would certainly have ben a lot cheaper] so it was definitely worth going.
Two suggestions if you go - if you're driving [hotel wants $100 to pick you up & drive you in, so most people rent cars & drive themselves] make sure you have time to get there before dark at 6 because a] thats when the turtles come up & b] you really, really don't want to have to drive that road after dark.
And one night is plenty - dinner, go out on beach with local guide who you're required by the village permit system to have & watch the turtles lay in the dark [no flash photography because the light disorients them], then back out at first light at 5 when they'll still be laying & you can take photos.
Incredible experience, wouldn't have missed it for the world so was it worth it overall - yes, absolutely

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2008

The friendly, very helpful staff, lovely rooms and beautiful scenery made this my most pleasant stay in Trinidad.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPasoBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Most travelers make their way to Grande Riviere to see the leatherback turtles. Don't get me wrong, they are an amazing sight to see. But, even without that experience, we would have had just as nice of a time at Le Grande Almandier. The staff was really helpful in terms of figuring out transportation, etc., but were also very respectful of our privacy. And, the food was amazing! My husband and I still recount the great dishes that Jason put on the table- from breakfast through dinner. I have never had better seafood or fruit in my life.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Coast
0.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
0.0 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Fernando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande Almandier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande Almandier

Property: Le Grande Almandier
Address: 2 Hosang St. | Grande Riviere, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > North Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande Almandier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Grande Almandier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande Almandier Hotel North Coast
Le Grande Almandier Trinidad/North Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing