We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Grande Almandier
Nearby Hotels
$66
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm's Hotel Trinidad(Port of Spain)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn Flight Suites(Piarco)
$69
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
21
27
14
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
27
14
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleatherback turtlesturtle watchinglocal barsmall balconysmall villagebreakfast was includedoverlooking the beachthe riverwindy roadhot waterflashlighttrinidadspainportproximityttgetaway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 66 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

It´s turtle time again and we have just returned from a two day trip to Grande Riviere. Our usual hotel was booked out so we tried this place across the road but still right on the beach. Rooms are of okay standard and very clean. Ours we chose because it was large and roomy enough to cope with ourselves and two tween boys (see note below on room choice).

Service is relaxed and Trini-paced but very friendly and personal (I like a place where they remember your name immediately). These smaller B&Bs in Trinidad are not a natural choice if you´re in a hurry, need fast internet broadband and all mod cons! Here the pace is slow and easy going, perfect for relaxing and chilling out. Although we didn´t take the opportunity this time the hotel will arrange boat trips, waterfall tours and other nature activities for the more adventurous.

We found the food to be excellent both at breakfast (I love the local salt fish and fried bake) and dinner (grilled kingfish). One small complaint was the poorly stocked bar but the Mt Plaisir bar is an ice cubes throw away for your gin n tonics;)

Extras: The hotel has solid kayaks for rent to take up the river or around the bay

Room Tip: We travel with two tween boys and have need of an extra room usually. Here at the Almandier they have a large room above the reception with separate sleeping area for the kids with two beds. This makes things a little more comfortable than the other option in the area which only offers one extra futon bed in a single sleeping area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nogbad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel was located at the beach where the sea turtles come on land to engrave their eggs.

The hotel itself was very dull, the rooms were small and the shower unappealing and unclean. The room was so small that we could barely move. The staff was a bit distance but correct.
The beach is supposed to be beautiful unfortunately it was a dump place for garbage.
We did not try the restaurant cause it didn't look clean instead we used the restaurant from the hotel next door. The breakfast was poor. 2 slices of bread, butter and jam was included. For eggs and bacon you had to pay an extra.

I suppose staying for 1 night to see the turtles is OK. I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adnila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almandier, Owner at Le Grande Almandier, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your comment , we would take this as a way to improve our standards here, our aim is to please and make everyone as comfortable as possible and to best deliverer of good service.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We did not stay here but made a booking 3days earlier for our party of 15 turtle watchers to have dinner. We were told to report promptly at 7pm because they "had a few guests". We were on time - first to arrive. They hadn't prepared the table. We ordered. Others came (another 6 tables)and were served food before our drinks arrived at 8pm. At 8.45 our food arrived in 3 batches and it was not worth waiting for. By this time we were the only ones left in the restaurant, including a table of 6 who were seated at 8pm. The only reason we did not leave was because there was no where else to go. There were only 2 waitresses who it seems may also have had kitchen duties as they were not easy to find to complain. We kept being told the food was coming soon. No apologies were made but when we pointed out that we had booked and they should have told us they couldn't accommodate our party, we were told there was a mix up! Never again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almandier, Owner at Le Grande Almandier, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

We are so sorry for your experience here at our restaurant this was a first for our restaurant, we do hope that we would be able to better your experience at some given time.(soon)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from five nights at Le Grande Almandier (April 16-22). Wow----what a trip!!!! The hotel is a small, family owned property---owned by Cyril and his wonderful wife, Wendy James. Do not expect a five star property---only ten small rooms. You will be treated as royalty at this wonderful inn!!!! The entire place is spotless!!!! Our room was cleaned by Cynthia each day and was always very clean!!!!! Cherry Ann is the manager, waitress, ------she does it all!!!! And always with a smile on her face. The food is the best that I have had in any Caribbean country. Wendy and Jenny are the chefs ----and the best cooks around. We had delicous, warm coconut bread each morning for breakfast. The fesh fruit for breakfast was wonderful!!!!! Lunches were great with fresh seafood. My favorite meal was the coomagalah (this means-must come back--and you will want to come back!!!!) served each night as one of the entrees. I think I had this every night!!!! It is made with sauteed fresh, shrimp in a white wine cream sauce------delicous!!!!! We had a different side each night with our entree and they were wonderful---especially the potato-eggplant dish!!!!!
Homeade bread was served with every dinner!!!!! I can't say enough about the food!!!!! Fabulous!!!! Kudos to Jenny, Wendy, and the entire kitchen staff!!!! (the kitchen was spotless also!!!!)
Of course, the reason for our trip was to see the huge leatherback turtles that come ashore each night on the small beach in front of Le Grande Almadier. This was amazing!!!!! Our first day there, we saw a leatherback come in to nest around 4:30 pm. Since the beach isn't closed until 6:00 pm, we were able to go out, take pictures, and watch this massive animal lay her eggs, then return to the sea. After 6:00 pm, you must purchase a permit and go out on the beach with a licensed tour guide. The permit office is just around the corner from Le Grande Almandier. The staff will tell you exactly what you need to do to get your permit. Our first night out, tour guide Kevin (try to get him if you want a great educational experience----extremely knowledgeable) took us out on the beach. We saw turtles coming ashore everywhere. You could hardly take a step without falling over a turtle. I think the turtle count between 7:00 pm-1:00 am was 248. Kevin thinks there were probably over 500 turtles that came ashore that night----and each night. Every night on the beach was amazing---so many turtles!!! We were up at 6:00 am each morning to see the remaining turtles that were still on the beach. There were usually 6-8 turtles still nesting----great pictures. Discovery Channel was there filming on our last morning for a new show that will be aired in 2013---Wildest Islands? A tip for those interested in going out on the beach at night-----try to plan your trip during the week. The weekends get extremely busy---sometimes over a hundred people for the tour. (We only had around ten-twelve each night).
We will definitely return to this quaint place. We felt part of the family when we left. Thanks Cherry Ann, Wendy, Cynthia, Lisa, Alicia, and the entire staff for a memorable time!!!!! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 7, and 8 are on the ocean front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chugg1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent February 29, 2012 at this small quaint hotel on the beach in Grand Rivere, a small and "sleepy" fishing village. Very scenic drive from Toco. One of only two couples that evening. Excellent and personable service from CherryAnn and a fabulous and delicous dinner. Hot garlic wholewheat bread, real crab cakes, sublime pasta/prawns and salmon and to die for homemade coconut ice cream. My request for a mosquito net was granted and we were provided info re turtle watching and flashlight. We actually saw two that evening...an awe inspiring experience.A delightful morning with Wendy Ann at breakfast.We will return to enjoy this wonderful hospitality soon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room, so you can sit on the very tiny porch and enjoy the crashing waves.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annoyingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews