We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monique's Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Monique's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 4 Maraval B&B and Inns
Couva, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here for the 31st December 2011-1st January 2012. Expected Breakfast, because the website said complimentary breakfast...we got none...We arrived late around 8PM...the girl greeted me with , you are the lady who kept calling over and over....then the security had to show me to our room...The room looks very old, broken down and disgusting.....the worst part, first I thought it was the front door not being able to lock, but then sunday i morning after using the washroom i realized i couldnot get out. i was locked inside. Staff was very uinfriendly and the place smells like toilet...dirtyy toilet that is....it has no nature park and breakfast not complimentary..there is not even breakfast.....the nature park is a land with some grass and a maccaw in a cage and a man walking around with his hands in his scratching his botton...The bed was not even a king size, it was a regular full size bed, thank God we both small, and there was no blankets just a piece of white cotton as bed sheet and some piece of cloth wrapped around the bed underneath to make it seem like a bed skirt......the TV wow...if it is 15inches I say that big....that TV have cable but reall tiny and old aged.....The bathroom area and the apartment spelt like urine and the bathroom floor was stained with some nasty mess...

Room Tip: Rooms on all sides are horrible, room 24 we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Small_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bayshore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

To make a long story really short , this place sucked. The staff seemed preoccupied and unfriendly. The rooms were musty and dilapidated. I didn't like the bedsheets, I think they were dirty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTelfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maraval hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed in dec 08 09
on the first night we arrived the guy could not find the key to our room he put us in a tiny room when he opened the door roaches was found on the floor dead next day our room was ready I asked for a discount but the lady at the desk said no the beds are old no mircowaves in the room no where to make coffee the water was shut off in the middle of taking a shower the cleaning lady would knock on our door early to clean the room food too expenisve not worth the money I will not be stay at moniques ever again the rooms needs to be updated over priced and the staff needs to be friendly the outside looks nice but the inside is another story

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamlarsabosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

First of all, as an experienced Caribbean traveller, I must inform you that standards are lowered in the region, even in the Hilton, its not like the USA or Europe. When you travel to the W.I. tone down expectations, expect to be charged 25-50% more and get 2 star quality for the 4 star price. If you can understand that, then this is a good enough hotel. The problem people from N. America or Europe will have is "I paid $150 a night and got what $45 would buy me in the USA" - you have to get past this in the Caribbean, you will be overcharged and get limited value, that's how the region makes money, off tourists. Rooms are spacious, not much furniture, beds a bit old, yes pipes can be rusty, the level of service and hygene is not on N. Ameican standards - but price is! No Wifi, limited cleaning of rooms, Maravel is a good spot for getting to the beach (if you have a car) and restaurants, its only 10 mins or less to Port of Spain and you may not want to stay there, it isn't super-safe anyway.

For the region, it is an ok hotel - in other Western countries, it wouldn't fetch 2 stars or$50 a night.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irlundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Keep in mind when traveling to another country you can not expect things to be the same.
That said, our rooms were confortable, clean and in a great location. We had three rooms for eight travelers. We took advantage of the tours offered by the hotel and hired their driver daily throughout our stay. This is a family owned guesthouse and the service is very family oriented. The family and staff made our stay wonderful. They were able to handle all of our request with a smile. Maraval is beautiful and close to Maracas Bay.
If you stay at Monique's ask Jose to take you to Maracas Bay and do not leave without going to Richard's for Bake and Shark.

Hat's Off to the family and staff at Monique's from Mike and the Gang.
Savannah, Georgia

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed there in April 2009 and enjoyed the location as a base for expolring the Island and near by beaches. If you have a rental car you can go arond the country very easily as the access to the major high ways are easy to reach from Maravel. We stayed in the main hotel which was well furnished and clean. The other rooms on the hillside were a bit of a hike if you wanted the view but we were happy with our room on the ground floor. It is a bit basic but compared to other establishemnts it is cozy and more like home . Infact we cut short our stay in San Fernando to come and spend the rest of the week here.
If you are looking clean and comfortable guest house this would be the one I would recomend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lankaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We attended a wedding in Trinidad and the guest house was one of the recommended accommodations. As a timeshare owner I'm not thrilled about spending money on accommodations, but, since Trinidad had no timeshare locations I decided to stay at this el cheapo guest house. It was BASIC. If you have to stay there be sure to stay at one of the rooms up on the hill. This is a no frill location, there are no amenities. It's really just a place to lay your head. If you have a choice, stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimeSharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maraval
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
3278.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
0.8 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3279.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monique's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monique's Guest House

Property: Monique's Guest House
Address: 114-116 Saddle Road, Maraval, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Maraval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Maraval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monique's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Monique's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monique`s Guest House Hotel Maraval
Monique's Guest House Trinidad/Maraval

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing