We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg roll heaven!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiki Village

Tiki Village
Ranked #27 of 157 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Egg roll heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I ate at this restaurant three years ago on my first visit to Port of Spain and it was pretty great. While I didn't have time to fully dine in here on this trip, I stopped in and ordered egg rolls to go. Literally the BEST egg roll you will ever have in your life. I thought about it for three years and it was undoubtedly on my list of to-dos this most recent trip. Ask for the sauce on the side if you don't like a lot of sauce on your roll. Even amazing eaten cold the next day. The restaurant has an enjoyable interior and lovely staff. The hotel has a great view of Port of Spain and is a reasonably priced, excellent dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    51
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tiki village has a tendency of providing great tasting food. I've been to this restaurant a couple of times and the service was very good. The view from the restaurant (if you're seated near the windows) at night is awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to couples or small groups for a great dinner at an affordable cost. The only down side (if you consider as a downer) was that you order by portions not by meal.

If you want a very romantic dinner with your special someone, make reservations and ask for the "special seat with the panoramic view". You will not regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went for dinner with my wife and 4 friends , service was great, very professional, the server gave good suggestions and service was excellent, he was able to tell us how much portions we will need and told us when we were ordering and with his suggestion we were able to order the right amounts. The food was excellent, we had shrimp, chicken, broccoli and mushrooms, seafood noodles and chicken fried rice. Food was great no complaints, after we had crem caramel and cheesecake also very good. Overall my only complaint is that the restaurant closes too early because we were enjoying ourselves so much we did not even realized the restaurant had closed @1015pm and we were still there...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravidev2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
228 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Polynesian Delights and Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant sits atop the Kapok Hotel over looking the city. The views are spectacular and the food is purely polynesian style with a bit of Trini flair mixed in for that perfect blend of spice.

Definitely a place you want to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great setting, good food that is consistently of high quality (first time I went there was 25 years ago), great atmosphere and good service. The restaurant is a little too dark for my liking.

Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki Village also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Tiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing