We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Tiki Village

Tiki Village
Ranked #23 of 167 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tiki village has a tendency of providing great tasting food. I've been to this restaurant a couple of times and the service was very good. The view from the restaurant (if you're seated near the windows) at night is awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to couples or small groups for a great dinner at an affordable cost. The only down side (if you consider as a downer) was that you order by portions not by meal.

If you want a very romantic dinner with your special someone, make reservations and ask for the "special seat with the panoramic view". You will not regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went for dinner with my wife and 4 friends , service was great, very professional, the server gave good suggestions and service was excellent, he was able to tell us how much portions we will need and told us when we were ordering and with his suggestion we were able to order the right amounts. The food was excellent, we had shrimp, chicken, broccoli and mushrooms, seafood noodles and chicken fried rice. Food was great no complaints, after we had crem caramel and cheesecake also very good. Overall my only complaint is that the restaurant closes too early because we were enjoying ourselves so much we did not even realized the restaurant had closed @1015pm and we were still there...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravidev2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Polynesian Delights and Great Views”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant sits atop the Kapok Hotel over looking the city. The views are spectacular and the food is purely polynesian style with a bit of Trini flair mixed in for that perfect blend of spice.

Definitely a place you want to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great evening out”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great setting, good food that is consistently of high quality (first time I went there was 25 years ago), great atmosphere and good service. The restaurant is a little too dark for my liking.

Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Very Poor Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My last visit to Tiki Village was over three years ago, and my memories were only good...but after this last visit, I will never be going back and definitely not recommending it to my colleagues and friends. They brought the wrong dish and did not offer to replace it until we were leaving.
We had a female server, who spoke very softly...so much so when she asked for our drink order I had to ask her to repeat herself. We placed our appetizer and main course order with the same server, who did not write a single thing down, and did not repeat the order back to us. In retrospect we should have asked her to repeat everything back to us at the end.
Our main course came out a few dishes at a time. We started eating before everything arrived because the food on the table would have been cold by the time the last two dishes came out. When the noodle dish came out we realized that they had given us egg noodles instead of rice noodles. We immediately informed the male server who brought it and told him that we distinctly asked for the rice noodle option. He then went away to 'verify the order' and never returned.
We then called another male server who was walking by (since the young woman who took our order was nowhere to be seen) and told him that we did not order egg noodles and did not want them. He took about 20 mins to call the young woman who initially took our order...who claimed that she did not hear my husband specifically ask for rice noodles...of course by this time we were finished with our main course. At no point in the 40mins since we first informed them that the order was wrong did they offer to bring us what we ordered.
The male server then came to ask if we would like to have dessert...of course we were terribly disgusted by their lack of professionalism at this point and declined. We then asked for the bill. At that point, when our food was being packed minus noodles and the bill had been requested, one of the male servers returned, apologized for the mistake and offered to bring us the rice noodles we had ordered. we declined since we werent going to wait another 30mins. The same server then brought us the bill...lo and behold there was the noodles on there...they did not even have the courtesy to take the charge off. That was the icing on the cake; we paid our bill and left without leaving a tip. We vowed that we would never be going back since there were multiple times when they could have tried to rectify the situation but didn't. It was an honest mistake that did not have to be handled so badly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki Village also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Tiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing