We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious :-)”
Review of Joseph's

Joseph's
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 166 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Greek, Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Joseph's Restaurant is named after owner and chef, Lebanese-born Joseph Habr, who has over 35 years of experience under his belt. Nestled in the verdant Rookery Nook in Maraval, Joseph's is a unique haven away from the bustle of the city. Joseph's Restaurant offers many options for a unique dining experience. Diners can choose from the main dining area cooled by fans and the gentle breezes, the elegant air conditioned room or a private room suited for board meetings. Also available is the newly added patio area on the outskirts of the building with lush greenery and the chirping of the birds in the trees.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious :-)”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is the food, it was delicious, everything was so good.
Must admit it was quite expensive.
If you're in Trinidad be sure to check it out.
Regards to James and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite restaurants in Trinidad”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Joseph's is the best for it's variety of food. The wines are excellent. The service unobtrusive but friendly. The ambiance and beauty of the place is perfect for quiet enjoyment of a special evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Contented”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great setting with tasty Arabian food in manageable portion sizes. Wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable without being patronizing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Upscale and Eclectic hidden Mediterranean gem...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Styled as within the neighbouring strolls of the Mediterranean, a pleasant look comes upon the entrance to this restaurant which is hidden amongst lush greenery.
Inside, wroth iron doors open wide onto a lush green verandah style eating area making this trendy eatery especially appealing all year round. Enjoy the cool breeze flowing into the stylish inside main eating space, decorated by stone slabs, appropriately hung pictures, mini columns and its elegantly draped tables. This cozy enviroment affords ample space to create an intimate setting in an urban modern Mediterranean fare. One cannot miss the proudly display of the Lebanese flag. The magnificent dining is animated by old-school friendly service attendants who becomes precise in their service routine.
This upscale Lebanese hidden treasure offers what is an Arabic element with conventional Lebanese dishes and delights.
Kudos to its owner and chef "Joseph" a warm, hard working hospitable man who pays attention to every detail. His brilliantly inventive cooking is based on a deep knowledge of his Lebanese heritage to provide dedication whilst preparing his signature dishes. Do try the lamb, the fish or chicken dishes, the appetizers, lentil and the amazing chicken soup, escargots, house cured olives and the garlic butter are also standouts including the fish kibbeh. Salads, fresh vegetables, tabbouleh and fattoush together with dips such as hummus, baba ghanoush.
The dishes are seasoned with a fix of impeccable herbs, roasted nuts, green pistachios, almonds, chick peas, olive oil, thyme and lemon.
Delight in the many choices from a nice selection of truly healthy Lebanese Wines, chardonnay sauvignon, chardonnay by Chateau Ksara and another choice by Chateau Kefraya.
Indulge in some imaginative use of truly decadent desserts, tiramisu, flan and pastries such as baklava, etc.
Certainly a highlight of the evening is the appearance Joseph offers in personally visiting each table to inquire on his service and dishes. This appearance occurs on each and every visit to his restaurant.

We are truly impressed with the quality of food served at Joseph's.

Although there are a few authentic restaurants to choose from Joseph's remains our favourite place.
We observed that he must be doing something right as he maintains the same staff over the years whilst commanding and sustaining the highest level of service throughout our annual visits over the past 7 years.

(In our opinion and the many guest we have taken to this restaurant, the dishes at Joseph's are certainly not bland or over priced to which others have alluded.)


A visit to Joseph's is a MUST experience on your next visit to Trinidad, you will not be disappointed!!

Thank you Joseph and Staff - M/M. Dove.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khristian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephsAdmin, Manager at Joseph's, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Trinidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The atmosphere and service are EXCELLENT but the food is BLAND and way OVERPRICED. If you season with salt and pepper then this is the place for you! However if you are a spicy local go elsewhere, I tried the lamb and frankly its a bland version of the one my mother stews at home.The mushroom caps were good, but that about it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephsAdmin, Manager at Joseph's, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Venita,

I am sorry to hear that you enjoyed our mushroom caps but did not enjoy our lamb because it is one of our specialties. We actually put much more than just salt and pepper but also wine and other flavors. Unfortunately we do not have creole food on our menu but if that is your preference and you would like spicy food, just ask your waiter and the chef would be happy to help with your taste.

Regards,
Marie-Anne
Promotional Manager
Joseph's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Joseph's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing