We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionalism and Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I have stayed at the Trinidad Hyatt twice now, most recently during Carnival time. The Hyatt is peerless in Trinidad, and I have been extremely happy. It is the best Hyatt I've ever visited. I was particularly impressed at the excellent customer service and cleanliness during Carnival. The entire country, and millions of international guests, participates in trinidad Carnival. The hotel was filled to the gills, but you would never know it because the service and relaxation never stopped for one minute. The room was even quiet (I was on floor 15)! I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,111 - 2,117 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

I came here on business and loved the hotel. The rooms are very nice and extremely modern with great touches. Excellent service. Pool is very nice. This is the newest hotel in Trinidad and I believe probably the best. Definitely recommend. The only thing is that the food @ the restaurant etc is quiet expensive, but then again its a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgafster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Can't really fault it, staff were polite and helpful, food was good quality but there were no local dishes or tasty Caribbean flavours and the rooms were comfortable and clean with wonderful views of the sea.

It is a top class businessman's hotel, doesn't have any local style but is decorated to high standards with chrome & wood, lovely roaring fires in the lobby and waterfall. Swimming pool & gym were both good.

The MOST annoying thing (which isn't too surprising, just irritating) is that there were NO opening windows in the room, so the air was always dry (and cold if you don't watch the air con!), be prepared to freeze and think you're in Switzerland as soon as you walk through the doors!

If you like being in a hotel where you could be anywhere in the world, then this is for you. We'd probably stay there again unless a more Trinidad styled top class hotel opens up (and I don't think there are any plans) but will eat out more! :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taz78Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My friend and I were blown away not only by the amazing customer service but also our room. When we saw the bedroom and the ocean view we were going to have for a whole week....we litterally jumped up and down for an entire minute. The staff was great and super friendly, the hotel looks modern and luxurious. The food was really good, the breakfasts' were just gargantuous...try the Waterfront breakfast! Your stomach will be full for at least 4 hours! When I go back toTrinidad, the only place I'll ever stay is the Hyatt!!! AMAZING!

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank LadyMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about the Hyatt Regency. The luxury suite we were upgraded to was incredible. The staff were friendly, hospitable, courteous, helpful and polite. The food and service was execllent.. A special mention for Stacey Stoute, the front office manager. She was incredibly helpful. The infinity pool on the 4th floor, 50 feet from our suite was really nice - the views from the pool of the ocean are staggering. There is a nice bar by the pool - gets a bit warm when there is direct sunlight in the late afternoon/evening as the sun sets. The hotel does not have access to the water or a beach and is located in the business district of Port of Spain. It is a good base to explore the island. One of the nicest Hyatts I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAchanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great stuff and wonderful rooms.
Breakfast is good and pool is great.
You can get also interesting sightseeing tours from the hotel our guide Andrew was perfect and knew lots of things an took us to beautiful places.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaKristinaEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The Hyatt Trinidad is absolutely amazing. Every inch of the hotel is trendy, beautiful and exhibits grand splendor. The staff and service were top notch during our week long stay, which is not typical for Trinidad in general (service outside the hotel is horrible). The moment you arrive you are greeted by the most darling bell men that always seem to remember your name , open every door and are willing to answer any questions you have. The front desk continues to encourage the weary traveler with a smile and complimentary glass of wine. We felt very safe inside the hotel, they go to great lengths to keep it that way, undercover security is constantly present in both the lobby and around perimeter of the hotel, we felt like royalty. Other safety measures: The elevators are room key activated speed systems that do not allow you to jump floors, the rooms have safes in them as well. The rooms are fresh and contemporary and have amazing views of the city or the ocean (both views are wonderful ours was the ocean). They have a state of the art gym, not the closet with a treadmill that some hotels call a gym. The food at the hotel was fantastic and by far the best food we had during our entire week long stay in Trinidad. A few FYI's regarding the hotel: Local calls are $1 USD a min., We paid the $149 USD rate and Internet was not free with the room it was @ $10 USD per day additional. Trinidad now has a 10% service fee in addition to the 15% tax so you pay an additional 25% on all dining. We thought the dining in the hotel was priced high until we ventured out and discovered that dining in Trinidad is twice what it is in the USA, most meals cost us $60-$80 USD for 2 entrees without drinks. Service outside the hotel is horrible and costs just as much as dining in. Their web site says they do not have roll away beds, however they secretly do. In addition they have an unadvertised "family plan" that allows you to get a room connecting to yours for half price (they have one of these on each floor). The hotel is 23 floors the gym is on 2 and the pool is on 4.

The downside to the hotel is its location. Port of Spain is as close to a 3rd world country as I care to get, crime is so bad that NO ONE recommends you leave your hotel without a local guide and a car. With a car you are warned if your car breaks down call the police immediately, the locals are very nice but extreme poverty and drugs make theft and robbery very common. One block from the hotel is the worst slums I have ever seen, people are living in shacks with no water or electricity and the smell of raw sewage frequently blows to the hotel (not good when you are dining outside). I felt like I should have been on a mission trip rather than a vacation. If you have to stay in Port of Spain do so at the Hyatt, however rent a car and reserve it ahead of time so you can leave the area. Rental cars are not as accessible as the USA and they were ALL sold out the whole week we were there which left us trapped at the hotel. Port of Spain is so bad it may be worth staying in a lesser hotel just to get away. If you are going to Tobago the ferry is just outside the Hyatt, however reserve that ahead of time also because the boat sells out constantly due to cruise ships that dock in front of the hotel. The hotel has its own Taxi's, do not be afraid to use them, the price is the same as others but they are conistently wonderful drivers and use luxury cars rather than beaters. With the hotel taxi's you can feel safe that your not being cheated nor are you putting yourself in danger. Taxi prices increase by 50% between the hours of 10pm - 6am. For 4 people or less the trip to the airport is $25 each way for the whole car during normal hours.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank j2z2ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
322 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $177 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing