We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Fox, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

After 9 weeks at sea , the room was just what I needed. It was extremely comfortable. The chocolate cake that I got with my room service meal was AWSOME . The one scoop of the chocolate ice cream that came with it wasn't enough !
I was only there one night , but it was excellent !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    545
    125
    43
    33
See reviews for
384
499
106
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It was our Wedding Anniversary and from the time we arrived to when we left, they made customer service shine! Glasses of wine on arrival, seats overlooking the ocean with snacks, introduction to staff (and even hand over staff when the shift changed)! Fruit and dips in the upgraded room which was fantastic. Food was wonderfully prepared and a good quality and quantity.
Beware it is normal to add 35% onto the bill, which includes local tax and a mandatary service charge, so it can be expensive eatting on the hotel, although the experienced is great!

Room Tip: Most of the restaurants in the Port of Spain are not open in the evening, there are fast food places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpowell190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The terrific staff really made our stay memorable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. The room has the shower literally in the room (has frosted glass walls, but open floor plan) so there isn't much bathroom privacy. The bed was very, very comfortable! The pool was ok, but the area around it was untidy with empty plastic water bottles, cups, straws, and used towels laying around. The location of the hotel was about a couple of blocks from the ferry.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with coworkers last August and will be returning this month. One of the nicest hotels I've ever had the pleasure of making home base on a business or pleasure trip. Great restaurant and lounge. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Sitting outside having drinks as the sun sets is something I won't soon forget. Fantastic hotel - highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Certainly one of the best hotels i have stayed at. Big well furnished rooms with a great view of the sea. Good bathroom and power shower. Staff were all helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good and the restaurant was super for dinner. Only downsides are that its expensive, wifi is only free in the lobby not in the room and some of the bar food is mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed three nights on business. Location is at the port near main business district, no beach so more business oriented. Property looked well maintained, room was great and bed excellent, gorgeous lobby and restaurants, very good food. Service was prompt and excellent, really found nothing to fault at all during my stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms do have view of the ocean, but nothing really to see except open water. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The suite we booked was unavailable and not ready yet. A whole lot of 'run around' but we were sent to a normal room until made available. Although other families had suites booked and we checked in before they did, they got theirs but we had to wait. Of course they said they would call us when ready but we knew better so went back to the front desk after a few hours and of course nobody knew a thing because shifts changed but luckily there was one familiar face on staff whom we reminded about the issue. We were eventually placed in the room we booked and requested which by the way was always a splendid suite. This isn't the first time this has happened - suites not being ready nor is it the first country to have this problem when checking in. Just something about booking suites. The rate was adjusted to make up for the inconvenience. So why have an international hotel check-in time and check-out time if nobody checks anything or nothing is ever ready??? Lol.

Nevertheless, if you are a "trini" (Trinidadian) and don't want to see fellow trinis, don't go there haha because all you going to meet are Trinidadians. Phew! The boardwalk is nice but there's nothing for children to do there. There is a small pool. The location is ideal for business people and families too because there are things to do nearby like go to Movietowne etc.

Parking facilities yes but needs cleaning and pressure washing regularly and the Government ministers need to stop parking all their vehicles in there so the rest of us can get a spot. Geez! It's a bit lonely in there like most car parks of that nature. Handicap parking is available, one per floor if i remember correctly which I don't think is enough for such a large car park.

What I was most impressed by and I am not being biased here, is the humility and friendliness of the staff. I was happy about that because nowadays, anywhere you go in Trinidad, nobody cares about customer service or quality service. The business centre is good because we had certain things to get done.

Breakfast buffet is a lot better on weekends - more options. The room service and in-room dining is marvelous because you have a variety of dishes to choose from. When they tell you your food will be ready in 40 minutes, it is ready and delivered.

Keep on smiling Hyatt Regency Trinidad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
304 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing