We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you are traveling for business, Hyatt Regency is the place to stay in Trinidad.
It is perhaps one of the most modern hotels in the island. Take time to enjoy the pool on the 4th floor. If you are up for some Trini style breakfast, walk over to the "Breakfast Shed" and try some of the local food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were just in Trinidad for three nights. I had lived here as a child and my husband wanted to see where I had spent my primary/elementary years. It was 33 years since I had been. When I checked with folks I knew still in Trinidad they said it was the best place to stay and they weren't wrong. The hotel although six years old was like it was new. We had an oceanview room (note there is no beach here). The staff were wonderful, attentive and most helpful. We were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and they quickly saw to my request to hire a driver for the next day to take us round my childhood homes, schools, beaches etc. Steve was excellent and a good day was had. Back to the hotel. The room was bright and modern with all the amenities you could want and more. Also on arrival it was quickly pointed out that if we purchased the business package it included breakfast and internet daily plus laundry service. Well worth the cost. The breakfast is a combination of the usual European and North American items plus wonderful local dishes. We had breakfast the three mornings on the deck with the wonderful breeze blowing.

The lounge area is truly wonderful - inside and outside - and the Sushi Bar is a MUST! We live in a city that is known for fresh fish and sushi and this was comparable.

If we ever visit Trinidad again this will be a must stay and we highly recommend it to others.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Hyatt is located in the downtown area of Port of Spain, on the water near the shipping port. I found the hotel room, restaurant, lounge and service all to be of a high standard with modern amenities. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the rate included a better than average breakfast buffet. Walking through the front lobby, gave me the feeling of having escaped the clamor and chaos of Port of Spain. Overall, this is my first choice of business hotels in Port of Spain.

Room Tip: Arrange transport from the airport with the hotel in advance and they can help expedite you through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A true oasis in an otherwise dismal locale. An attentive staff, new and modern rooms and facilities make this hotel a true pleasure at which to stay. Great training combined with an excellent HR department has created a hotel that operates like a well oiled machine, something that is sometimes not the case in the Caribbean. I wish that the hotel and the staff were located elsewhere in the Caribbean, however, staying within the immediate area of the hotel was enjoyable and relaxing. I needed to use the dry cleaning service, which was prompt and the work was beyond reproach. Be sure to spend at least one afternoon sitting on the back deck off of the lobby where wonderful food and a variety of drinks are all served with a view of the Caribbean. Don't miss the Sushi Bar either! Have fun!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Training must dictate that they try to place guests in rooms with less desira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreggLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Even though we visited the islands of Trinidad and Tobago in November during the rainy season we totally enjoyed our stay. The staff could not have been more accommodating, the tour company used by the Hyatt was amazing and the infinity pool overlooking the ocean was beautiful. As it rained we read under cover and swam when we wanted despite the rain.
One of the tours we took included going to have lunch prepared by a local couple whom we visited with, which we ranked as the nightlight of our trip. The flight to Tobago was so inexpensive and the beaches were beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

In my previous review, I focused entirely on the failure of the airport pick up. Yet, I have stayed a few times since. Here is an update: The breakfast is probably the best anywhere especially from a health view. The buffet has smoked salmon and walnuts, so no excuse not to indulge in Omega 3. The lunch has a wide variety including a salad bar option, which enhances one's health some more. The front desk and catering staff are super friendly. However, lock what you can in the safe. I had a yellow sweater disappear even after befriending the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with a very modern vibe, very nice lobby and bar area with a courtyard facing the ocean. Very nice ocean and city views from the suites. Service upon arrival was excellent with a glass of champagne offered by the reception staff. Breakfast was very nice also. The suite is large and modern.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank EJT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
319 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing