We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

In my previous review, I focused entirely on the failure of the airport pick up. Yet, I have stayed a few times since. Here is an update: The breakfast is probably the best anywhere especially from a health view. The buffet has smoked salmon and walnuts, so no excuse not to indulge in Omega 3. The lunch has a wide variety including a salad bar option, which enhances one's health some more. The front desk and catering staff are super friendly. However, lock what you can in the safe. I had a yellow sweater disappear even after befriending the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    506
    114
    35
    32
See reviews for
351
464
100
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful property with a very modern vibe, very nice lobby and bar area with a courtyard facing the ocean. Very nice ocean and city views from the suites. Service upon arrival was excellent with a glass of champagne offered by the reception staff. Breakfast was very nice also. The suite is large and modern.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EJT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a standard business hotel located on the coast in Port of Spain. Note that the nearest beach is about 45 minutes away, so this is not the place for a beach holiday.

The hotel is fine if you want a charmless business hotel. Staying there, I'm not sure you would know that you're in Trinidad.

In summary:
- Downtown PoS is nearby, but it's not particularly nice and you're advised not to go to certain parts.
- The hotel's restaurants are incredibly expensive - catering for business accounts and do not have authentic Caribbean food.
- WiFi is not free in rooms. It's yours for about US$35 a day! Again, for people to expense. There is free WIFi in the lobby so you'll notice a lot of people there all hours of the day checking in.
- There is a business room but it's not complimentary.
- Nice infinity pool with ok bar.
- The hotel is in an industrial area. Next door is a huge shipyard that is not pretty.
- Concierge desk is helpful. You will need to use them unless you rent a car as you'll be trapped in the hotel otherwise. Nothing in walking distance other than centre of PoS, ferry terminal and the Breakfast Shack, which is worth a quick visit and nothing more.

So why 3 stars and not worse? Well, it's a nice, friendly hotel and ideal for a meeting or conference. but not a vacation. I would avoid and get to Trinidad instead for a proper Caribbean experience (20 mins flight from Trinidad).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Lovely hotel, overlooks the water, great room! But they use flat sheets tucked in, instead of fitted sheets. They are not long enough to tuck in at the foot of the bed...so that means bare mattress in the middle of the night. Beautiful place but unless you pack sheets....and unless you do not mind bare mattress sleeping...

Room Tip: Get ocean front and bring sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I recently visited this hotel for a wedding. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were very attentive. I loved the shower. It had a huge shower-head (old style) mounted to the ceiling and it was like showering in a waterfall. The bed was comfy and we had a view of the city, the Savannah and the mountains. The buffet breakfast had all kinds of yummy food for any appetite.

The location of the hotel leaves a bit to be desired. You're right on the port and next door on both sides are container ships constantly loading and unloading. As you'd expect the area is very industrial and the area around the hotel felt rather deserted after 5. To find any kind of nightlife or see the city you had to walk pretty far out or hire a taxi.

Room Tip: I had a 14th floor room so there was no noise of any kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finemind1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port of spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our stay at the hyatt with our then 5month old son proved that this Hotel caters for everyone and every occasion.......I had no concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room in terms of our baby...he slept well and there were no repercussions to him sharing our bed. ...the meals were excellent and the various options were tempting to say the least. ..we will be back as family again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classyjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything was as you would expect from a 5* hotel - all very clean, good service, helpful staff. As a British guy I found the overbearing American influenced niceties a bit sickly (as did my American colleague). It became quite amusing when the staff ask you the same question in the same manner every night as if it is your first time dinning with them :)

All in all a very good hotel and it would be a pleasure to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
34.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing