We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great island hotel- very modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great island hotel- very modern!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our trip was April 2-6 2014. This hotel was wonderful! The room is very clean, a very nice size, and very modern. We loved the peek-a-boo shower in the middle of the room. Speaking of the shower, the overhead rain shower head was amazing. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I've been to quite a few "island" hotels, and their standards don't usually measure up to American standards, but this hotel did! It was very clean, updated and comfortable. We had a great view of the ocean which was nice, but I wish we had known there was no beach. The infinity pool on the 4th floor was amazing; A little cold, but its really nice and fun to look at against the ocean. Upon check-in we were offered water, juice or sparkling wine (we chose the wine of course), and it was delicious. We got a business package added to our room which included internet for up to 6 devices, breakfast for 2, free local calls, and 1 item of laundry service each and the cost was $50 per day. It was well worth it, we were able to call and schedule all tours without having to pay per call. Breakfast was buffet style or you could order ala carte. We ate from the buffet and everything was delicious. They had an omelet stand, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, eggs, bacon/sausage, pancakes, red potatoes, and a few local dishes. We ordered room service one night which was just mediocre. The bar, the store Cinnamon, and the dinner restaurant are all very convenient. The hotel is walking distance from downtown Port of Spain, so at some points we didnt require the expensive cab rides. Cabbies typically hangout across the street from the hotel, so its never a hassle to get a cab. The only downfall to taking a cab, is the cost. A cab ride anywhere is fairly expensive, to the airport is $30 one way, to Maracas Bay is $100 rt, to The Avenue is $24rt. The cabbies are making a killing. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The concierge was knowledgeable and helped us with organizing ferry rides and flights to and from Tobago. Overall this hotel not only meets all your needs, it by far exceeds them! This was by far the best hotel on an Island I have patroned and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Trinidad.

Room Tip: The ocean view is not really worth it, put the extra money towards the business package instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank str8foward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    558
    125
    43
    34
See reviews for
406
508
110
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

First time at this Hyatt and was welcomed at check in with choice of water, juice or champagne. It was too early for the juice or water. Friendly staff but few of them on reception at busy periods. Lobby area has atmosphere, as it leads straight out to the large deck with comfy seating overlooking the the port. Excellent waiting staff who are happy to joke and serve reasonably promptly for the Caribbean. This is a business hotel so I assume that little extra edge matters. Room was spacious and comfortable with good WiFi throughout. Bed very comfortable. Small pool for more chilling out in than swimming. Gym OK too. Did not try the Spa. Friendly bar staff who introduced me to a power drink, Guinness, milk, banana, bitters, and other stuff. Like a non sweet thick shake, tasted great.Breakfast buffet was generally fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our family stayed here for a few nights before commuting back to Canada. This is one of the BEST hotels and we have stayed at several. The accommodations and food are terrific. They have an excellent breakfast with lots of variety. The hotel staff is very accommodating and ensure your stay is very comfortable. Booking a seaside view is an absolute must! The rooms are beautiful with an open concept which makes the rooms feel very inviting. The pool area is very scenic and gorgeous. The only negative feedback would be the pool which is just too cold which makes it uncomfortable to swim in for an extended period of time. Overall, We enjoyed are stay and would most definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Seaside View if possible with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelkek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay, service is excellent and the hotel is up2date. Breakfast was awesome, the other food options were ok but their coffee bar was a life saver (excellent cappuccino)! Overall a good experience.
One thing I'd recommend: make sure you get a room which is away from the elevators - we heard them in the night and decided to change rooms the next day!
Also good to know: even room numbers have ocean view, uneven face the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Tried to book for the 2015 carnival season (in March 2014) and was told that the hotel is booked. Upon further invistigation, I was told that the Hyatt Trinidad hold the rooms for Corporations during the high season (carnival). I;ve stayed at this hotel before during the low season so I am very disappointed that I am welcomed only when the Hyatt Trinidad cannot find Corporations to fill the rooms. The Hyatt chain and especially The Hyatt Trinidad should make this policy clear to the public. "Big corporations first,,,families/friends and individuals as needed!"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fuzzthebuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We arrived at Port of Spain from Tobago for the night to stay with friends so was met at the ferry terminal and we headed to the Hyatt. The location is amazing and we watched the sunset go down on Friday and Saturday sitting on the terrace overlooking the beach and watching the ferries come in. We had a variety of cocktails, Prosecco and food nibbles which were all beautifully served by the ever so helpful staff and all at a very reasonable price. Will definately be back one of these days......to stay!!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a table on the terrace outside overlooking the beach for pre evening drinks. Fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad several times and each time its scored high on location, style, up keep and amenities. The service is hit or miss, most of the staff are Hyatt quality. Only the surrounding area is a bit shady, wish a skywalk was made to walk across to the downtown areas.

Room Tip: Book the club rooms, better views, higher floors and the use of the club lounge just off the lobby w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinibadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
312 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing