We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay, service is excellent and the hotel is up2date. Breakfast was awesome, the other food options were ok but their coffee bar was a life saver (excellent cappuccino)! Overall a good experience.
One thing I'd recommend: make sure you get a room which is away from the elevators - we heard them in the night and decided to change rooms the next day!
Also good to know: even room numbers have ocean view, uneven face the city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank chrisd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 2,244 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Tried to book for the 2015 carnival season (in March 2014) and was told that the hotel is booked. Upon further invistigation, I was told that the Hyatt Trinidad hold the rooms for Corporations during the high season (carnival). I;ve stayed at this hotel before during the low season so I am very disappointed that I am welcomed only when the Hyatt Trinidad cannot find Corporations to fill the rooms. The Hyatt chain and especially The Hyatt Trinidad should make this policy clear to the public. "Big corporations first,,,families/friends and individuals as needed!"

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fuzzthebuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We arrived at Port of Spain from Tobago for the night to stay with friends so was met at the ferry terminal and we headed to the Hyatt. The location is amazing and we watched the sunset go down on Friday and Saturday sitting on the terrace overlooking the beach and watching the ferries come in. We had a variety of cocktails, Prosecco and food nibbles which were all beautifully served by the ever so helpful staff and all at a very reasonable price. Will definately be back one of these days......to stay!!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a table on the terrace outside overlooking the beach for pre evening drinks. Fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebDenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad several times and each time its scored high on location, style, up keep and amenities. The service is hit or miss, most of the staff are Hyatt quality. Only the surrounding area is a bit shady, wish a skywalk was made to walk across to the downtown areas.

Room Tip: Book the club rooms, better views, higher floors and the use of the club lounge just off the lobby w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinibadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better view of the harbor. The restaurant and bar open out onto the promenade by the harbor. The food was good but unexceptional, given that the prices were higher than I expected.

Room Tip: Make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Prestinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed twice in the space of two weeks and each time we had an identical room. Twin queen beds and bath. Plenty of space overlooking the sea/port. Comfortable bed. Only drawback is that there is no kettle only a filter coffee machine which as anyone knows is no good for making tea! The first room had a very dirty hairdryer caked in grunge for want of a better expression. Otherwise clean and good. Mini bar empty!

Staff were always friendly and smiling. Had excellent service from all especially from concierge Dexston. Problems with menu in the restaurant and undercooked meat were all resolved by the restaurant manager. Not sure what happened to the previous reviewer.

Food was OK. Breakfast had a reasonable variety but a la cart orders took a long time to arrive. Always had to order honey which was a bit strange. Lunch good especially on terrace and at the pool. Sushi good in the evening.

Will come again and recommend to others. Walking distance to Tobago ferry and water taxi terminal.

Room Tip: I would go for a room either overlooking pool or higher up for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location, let me state that I am a frequent visitor to Trinidad and always wanted to stay in the Hyatt. However the staff were lousy. The check in staff just refuse to upgrade the room said no, although it was not busy judging by the empty lobby and restaurant . It turns out the room bath door was broken. The food in the waterfront restaurant was not good should have dine out side the hotel. We were told there was a 15 wait for a table at 9pm and was directed to the bar for drinks ,a deliberate attempt for us to buy drinks we did not require as within 2 minutes after ordering the drinks the table was ready.
The waterfront breakfast staff were even worst as one of the server kept looking at us with a hostile look every time she passed by. No smiles or pleasantry from the am staff.
Please improve your staff as I will be coming back with family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annasarranpersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
319 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing