We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements Needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Improvements Needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel i general was in a very good condition and the staff helpful and attentive. We ate dinner in the main restaurant, which was excellent, with very good service. Th epool though is disappointing and looks in need of a revamp.
In addition, the pool area delivered some of the worst service I have ever experienced in a Hyatt property. Surly, disinterested and distinctly unhelpful characterise the experience we had on both days. We sat at a table for 18 and 22 minutes on consecutive days before anyone would even deign to acknowledge us- both days the pool bar was not busy.

it soured our experience so much we cancelled the two nighta we planned to stay there at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    434
    90
    23
    24
See reviews for
294
388
86
647
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandy utah
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For an upscale hotel,they nit picked us to death. They were most un accommodating After 4 visits to the concierge we finally found someone who could grudgingly give us a map. This was during business hours. No help at all in arranging anything. The breakfast buffet was of limited variety compared to other upscale properties we have stayed at. The swimming pool was great and well maintained

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went to Trinidad the first week of September. The Hyatt staff is professionnal, yet warm and accomodating. We really loved the service. All the small attentions surely make us want to go back. The pool area is unbelievable and the food is tasteful!! You can feel easily at home there. If you get a chance to meet Marck, an employee at the pool, he is one of the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Soleil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first night we were met in the lobby with sparkling wine. The staff is over the top helpful. On a trek to a local beach, they made sure we had water and towels for our trip. They offered great directions wherever we wanted to travel, and always with pleasant demeanors and smiles.

The spa was great! Very clean, relaxing. They made us feel quite welcome and comfortable.

The pool bar was fantastic! Friendly, relaxed, laughing staff made it a very enjoyable, relaxing experience.

Fell in love with Oma, the cleaning woman on our floor (17), she was absolutely delightful!

The breakfasts served were varied, and delicious. My ONLY complaint was the coffee service in the restaurant...I had to practically beg to get a second cup.

Highly recommend...the hotel is beautiful, with many lovely seating areas, inside and out.

Room Tip: Amazing sunrises and sunsets were a bonus of a room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalaVarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Being presented with chilled sparkling wine on arrival was a very good touch. Great ambiance in the swimming pool area. Although it was offered to us complimentary on requesting it we felt to be charged $ 20 a day for Wi fi connection was not what one wouldn't have expected in a hotel of this caliber. Staff helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Request floor 16 sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NariRanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This government-owned hotel is operated by Hyatt and ideally located for those with government business - T&T parliament is just across the street - but isolated from the downtown area and not located in an area suitable for strolls. Hotel has modern facilities, well-trained staff and spacious rooms. Basic room rate does not include breakfast, internet access (US$ 15 per day) and basic business center usage (US$ 1 to print a page). Buffet breakfast is not generous, with limited choices. Lobby level terrace is great for early evening drinks overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms have beautiful view to the ocean. Even-numbered rooms face other buildings and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The ambiance is wonderful especially at the evening time the sunset is breath taking at the terrence , the staff is also friendly they make you welcome , they are very attentive to you the server Kardene was very nice my wife wanted a nice fruity drink and she recommended the the Island Vibes for her and my wife loved it and I was looking for a drink with local rums and she recommended the Traffic Jam for me which tasted wonderful . She made our time at the lobby bar very welcoming with her pleasant personality . I would definitely if your traveling to Trinidad you stay at the Hyatt regency . We would definitely come back and stay at the Hyatt

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweetybird87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.6 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
34.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#13 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 428 room hotel presents offers contemporary style and an comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility, one full-In addition, a serene rooftop pool and terrace will provide a relaxing escape for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing