We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Conference Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is strategically located in the capital city of Port-of-Spain where there is no end of action and easy access to other towns. The hotel rooms are well appointed with a sexy ambiance in both city view and sea view rooms. There are countless meeting rooms and spaces that can accommodate multiple functions from different agencies...there were at least four different conferences going on during my stay.

The reason why I award four stars and not five is that the quality of food for room service was quite bad. I paid $110TT for a dry, crusty, ham and cheese panini with absolutely no garnishes (tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber). I also felt that they needed to be more attentive to the needs of our vegetarian/vegan conference participants who had real challenges in obtaining their meals on time, even though they made special requests before our arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macomere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of Port of Spain. Blocks from independence square, directly on the water and next to the heavily secured parliamentary buildings. This hotel boasts a upscale clientele, swank decor, beautiful rooms, an amazing pool and above all safety and security. While I would say that the food is very good and I love the irony in finding a great sushi chef in Trinidad, the only drawback to this hotel is cost of the food outlets. However, if you want the best you've found it and sometimes that means $20 lunches. The rooms are beautifully decorated with postcard views sure to make your Facebook quiver for a vacation. Sporting all glass showers which flow from the cieling as their centerpiece, serenity and romance are sure to abound. The 4th floor inifinity edge pool is ripped from the pages of scandelous celebrity magazines, celebrities whom commonly adorn its surround. Live the good life throw a little caution to the tradewinds and enjoy yourself in one of the nicest Hyatt properties to grace our wonderful world.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBurrowsFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a welcomed oasis in the heart of the city. For Business or Leisure, this hotel is sure to please. From ample parking to a rooftop pool to amazing guest rooms and exceptional customer service, this hotel does not disappoint.

Try to get a high floor with a city view and if possible, a balcony room. The views are breath taking and leaves you with a sense of calm and peace. Ensure you book your room with breakfast as their buffet fills any appetite and sets you for a full day ahead!

Room Tip: Select a high floor and water view. Additionally, if you can select a balcony room, the views will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is overrated, the food was ok, the rooms were ok, the pool is small & shallow, the view from my room on the 16th floor & pool side was beautiful! what stood out for me was the very warm professional & helpful staff & an impeccable security system. We did a buffet style breakfast which was limited in variety but the ambiance made up for what they lacked. As stated above it is an ok hotel, but heavily overrated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is central, right on the water overlooking the sea. It's wonderful having breakfast outdoors facing the sea and enjoying the fresh sea breeze. The service on the whole is quite good.
We were there for a wedding. It was our 2nd stay.
If you like local food- The Breakfast shed is within walking distance
We certainly enjoyed the local creole soup
It's definitely up to foreign standard.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor facing the ocean near the elevator Ask for a similar room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mango851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for one afternoon and night while passing through Trinidad.
Cant fault the place in any way.
Was greeted in a very welcoming and professional way by polite and courteous reception staff who could not do enough for me.
Even offering a complementary glass of wine or champagne while we waited to be seen at the front desk.

The room was on the 5th floor and clean, spacious, modern and comfortable.
Wonderful shower and toiletries with big white fluffy towels.
Wi Fi signal in the room was excellent, fast and consistent.

I spent most of the afternoon at the infinity pool and bar area where again the staff were fantastic.
Service was always with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.
I at ate at the pool bar and really enjoyed it, didn’t have to wait long and all easily charged to the room.

In the evening I ate in the restaurant down stairs where once again service was fast, efficient and very well mannered.
There was a great range of food on offer and although the prices may have been a little on the high side, the quality of the food I ordered really was value for money.

The hotel staff organised transport for me to a nearby shopping area in one of their limo’s at a much cheaper rate that a local taxi plus offering to collect me at no extra cost.

Enjoyed a fantastic sleep and checked out early the following morning.
The only gripe I had was my breakfast arrived a fair bit too late to my room.
My early departure was some hours before the main restaurant opened, therefore I had to order room service.
Unfortunately so did a lot of other people and hence the delay.

Would not hesitate is staying here again when in Trinidad, it simply is the best hotel on the island. OK there is no beach at the hotel, but the pool and view from it more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Try to face the sea, on the other side its building and roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangestormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter long weekend 2013. It is a stunning hotel, everyone is extremely friendly and welcoming. This hotel is perfect for a business trip, I would not however stay here if I wanted to get a true feel of the Caribbean. The room was amazing, the bed was super comfy and the view was outstanding! (watched boats and ships pass all night....true ocean view). The restaurant was good also (we recommend the Caribbean Jerk burger) and the drinks were nice and strong (try Traffic Jam ;) ). The breakfast buffet was amazing! One thing that was slightly annoying is the WIFI isn't free...its around $15USD/day unless you get a package.

The location of the hotel was also great, we were able to walk around the city and do as much sight-seeing as possible before everything shut down (around 6pm!...maybe that was just for the long weekend....).

Overall it was a great experience, I may stay there again (if not, we'll be staying at a local B&B)

Room Tip: the higher the better. City or Ocean view doesn't really matter, they're both beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
320 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing