We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a business trip that will allow you to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose Succotz, Belize
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business trip that will allow you to relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Nice rooms, loved the bathroom; the plush bed allows one to relax after your business day is over.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmanza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    507
    114
    35
    32
See reviews for
352
465
100
747
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed at your hotel carnival 2010 and returned 2011, it was that GREAT, I will again book for 2012, last year I came with a small group this year it got larger, next year it will be even bigger, all the staff were fantastic, after last year Ingrid became our friend, I did call her for rates before we came this year, she is always so welcoming...the Lime fete out of this world, Celine at the bar always looks out for us. My family and friends look forward to joining you again....

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaacinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

This was our first time to Trinidad and we were not disappointed. The resort has some of the best service I have ever experienced anywhere! You are treated "first class" from the time you walk into the door and addressed by name! We had a corner room suite that faced both the pool and directly at the water with a balcony. The infinity edge pool is absolutely beautiful. Once again, the service at this facility is the best in the industry. The location is not the best, because it is located in an industrial area next to the ferry terminal. There isn't much to see in this area, so don't expect much! Please, don't make the mistake we did by taking the ferry to Tobago. Fly Caribbean Airlines! We were there over the start of "Carnival." Trinidad has one of the best Carnivals in the world and we should know, as we headed down to Rio de Janeiro after staying in Tobago! Plan on going to Tobago for a few nights atleast. Tobago is very undeveloped with no tourism per say. Stay at Seascape or Castara Retreat in Castara Bay. This is the nicest beach in Tobago, bar none! The scuba diving/snorkeling was fantastic with great clarity. Lots of turtles and other sea life. Plan your trip over the "Carnival", as this is when Trinidad shines! The weather was the best I have ever experienced in any Caribbean country!

Room Tip: Highest floor, ocean front w/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31350WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Although located in an ugly part of the city, the hotel is very nice and the stay very pleasant. The staff was always nice and it has a marvelous sunset from both the restaurant and the bar/pool balcony.
The rooms were also very nice and spacious.
Overall, a good choice!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmlousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Service was always with a smile, from the moment we pulled up in drive to time we checked out. Stayed for five nights, with staff remembering our names, including bell staff to the snack food counter. Atmosphere was modern -- easily a corporate meeting hotel but enough aesthetics that family was comfortable and at ease. Room with view over harbor/ocean, nice to look at water but ferry terminal to far left view. Not bad view, just not a sandy beach with palm trees. Room furnishings very comfortable, shower in middle was, frankly, cool. Choice of rain shower or hand-held shower head, loved by wife. Plenty of drawer and armoir space. Daily maid service was excellent [tipped TT$20, or about US$4 a day and got wonderful response]. Infinity pool was great, obviously loved by 10 & 12 year olds, as well as Dad. Pool bar service [for parents and daughters] was very good, with smoothies for them and local beer for Dad. Room service was quite surprising -- eggs benedict was best we've had anywhere save maybe New York. Ate in-room in evening several times [lack of restaurants to take family anywhere near], but always very pleased. Hamburgers late night were always prepared well [get bacon!!!]. Good snack bar in lobby for croissant sandwiches to take on driving tours of island. Main restaurant had excellent food, although a bit pricey and service somewhat lacking, but food made up for it. Nothing to do in immediate vicinity of hotel other than a walk up Independence Square, and no touristy stuff. We don't like touristy stuff, so no loss. Do recommend for family with children if you take the time to let them splash in 4th floor infinity pool looking over harbor and indulge in smoothies! Oh, and the wife and the spa -- got good reviews from her. Book spa services in advance since they need lead time. Very pleased, even surprised overall. If it's this good for a family staying five nights, it's got to be excellent for business. All the amenities for business trip, just didn't use them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for our anniversary in Dec 2010 and we had such a fantastic stay we keep telling everyone to stay at the Hyatt. The staff was excellent and definitely superbly trained. Although, when we arrived our room was not ready, we were served sparkling wine in the well appointed lobby while we waited and when there was a problem with the rbc bank system, the manager was quickly able to help us with the problem and a bottle of wine was sent to our room as a result of the delay and mishap. The surroundings are beautiful and the water front view from our room breathtaking. The shower is partly transparent and faces the water, so no matter what you are doing you can get a glimpse of the water and the horizon, once you are on a higher floor in a sea facing room. We had an appetizer at the bar downstairs and that was just ok, but we had dinner at the hotel that night and it was excellent. Although, a little pricey, the food was delicious and well presented and the ambience was romantic and inviting, just what we were looking for on our anniversary. Sunday morning greeted us with an excellent buffet breakfast downstairs on the patio at the waterfront. This was such a wonderful experience, sipping coffee and having breakfast with a beautiful sea view, again the staff was excellent and ready to serve. We would not only recommend the Hyatt but are going there again for my husband’s birthday and expecting similar service and luxury!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcouple2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I am going to keep this review short and point out the pros and cons:

Pros
Located downtown Port of Spain which means you can easily access several areas close by if you are in town for business.

Con
Location can be prone to traffic in rush hour and it is not the best part of the city.

Pros
Room is lovely, nice beds, water front view is gorgeous, everything new, contemporary and stylish. Complimentary robes and slippers.

Cons
The bathroom is unique and not very private you have to pay for wifi

Pros
Service is top notch. Sparkling wine on checking in, customer service was very helpful in working out wifi connectivity issues and giving us a business card to call if we needed anything was a nice touch.

Cons
No con when it came to service


Pros
Relaxing pool area with infinity edge pool, makes you feel you are worlds away from a busy hotel.

Con
Part of the pool is shaded from the sun during the day, not really a con for me as I liked being able to escape the sun when I felt like it.

Pros
Excellent sushi, buffet breakfast is also an impressive spread!

Con
Dining at the hotel can be expensive with the added taxes of VAT and services charge.

Overall I had a fabulous time at the Hyatt as I was there to attend an event hosted by the hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again in future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandBabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
34.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing