We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanna's Place
Nearby Hotels
Kapok Hotel(Port of Spain)
$145
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tony's Guest House(Port of Spain)(Great Value!)
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at 87(Port of Spain)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Trinidad(Port of Spain)
$193
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Culture Crossroads Inn(Port of Spain)
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forty Winks Inn(Port of Spain)
$105
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn(Port of Spain)
$55
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
105
22
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
22
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homeevery morningbed and breakfastcorner storealarm clockcricket groundyogurtbotanical gardenssavannah parkthaisbaymontkerncarnivalabbytrinidadzooguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 131 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Its proprietress, Mrs. Anna Camps, is a charming,pleasant, always helpful motherly person. It is located five minutes away from the savannah-reputedly the world's largest public park-a favourite for joggers and walkers doing its circuit. The savannah is also the location for the start of Trinidad's glorious annual carnival. You can hail a taxi passing outside Thanna's Place and be taken down Charlotte Street into the heart of Port-of-Spain for only $3TT. For trips to and from Piarco airport,or to any destination, Thanna's will arrange for you to be picked up by Mr. Omar Mohammed, who is both a taxi driver and a certified tour guide.He is a young,enterprising, gentle, courteous, honest, and soft-spoken guy. His phone number is 1-868-737-4422.Was it worth staying at Thanna's Place? absolutely! would I go again? I sure would! Its rates were certainly very reasonable for what its amenities and security.

Room Tip: Discuss it with Mrs, Camps. My room met my needs, private bath, air conditioning, and comfortable mattress. I could switch the air conditioning on-and-off as needed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campoac, Owner at Thanna's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We at Thanna's just love to know that our guests are happy with their accommodation choice. We thank you for taking your time to write this review and we do appreciate the comments. We have realised the tips and comments come in quite handy to prospective guests. All the best to you and we hope you would give us the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I've stayed at many guest houses and bed and breakfasts in and around Port of Spain but by far this has to be the best. Not only was it clean, private and comfortable, the hostess Anna and her daughter Thais were friendly and extremely accommodating.

I felt like i was a member of the family, i was never rushed for breakfast, whatever time i got up there was a note and instructions to call Anna who ensured that my meal was fresh and always delicious. To top it off breakfast was fantastic everyday, something new always awaited me.

I left Thanna's very rested, happier and a few pounds heavier. I highly recommend this place and do look forward if i can get a space(lol) to visit again. Truly wonderful experience.

Room Tip: i choose the room in the picture, it is just as it looks, king size-bed excellent for a couple or an individual who likes lots of space
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campoac, Owner at Thanna's Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

It is always a pleasure having our Trinbagonian family with us. We try to provide a getaway that is homely yet with a degree of privacy, 'call us when you need us'.
Your comments are much appreciated and know that you can consider Thanna's your Port of Spain home. We look forward to spoiling you again. Best of wishes to you and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arranged for Thanna's to pick us up on our arrival in POS, and from then on everything about Thanna's was friendly, comfortable and accommodating. We were traveling with our 2-year-old daughter, and Anna went out of her way to make sure we had a crib, a good room location, delicious breakfast, etc. She was a smiling and gracious presence throughout our stay (and followed up with nice emailed photos. We walked everywhere - to good food, the center of town, a playground. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campoac, Owner at Thanna's Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how much you valued our service. It is always a pleasure to see families enjoy their Trini home. We are thankful for your comments as we strive to make Thannas as warm, comfortable and welcoming as we possibly can. We wish you all the best and do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a pleaseant stay.....all things needed when away are right here at Thannas..........Great location, great breakfast (other bb in trini need to take a lesson from Thanna), great rooms, wifi, and safe....certainly enjoyed my stay, and encourage everyone in pos to stay by Thannas!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shine2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having learnt about Tjhanna's Place via tripadvisor, I was impressed with the simplicity of this bed and breakfast facility, and most particularly with the reviews of persons who had experienced the services being offered there. My initial correspondence to Thanna's Place was met with a very warm response from Anna, the head of the family that operates this family run business. From there onwards, the experience of me and my spouse was most enjoyable. The commitment to standards, affection, ease and joy witch is displayed by Anna, Thais (Anna's daughter) and Charles (Thais's husband) will; forever remain in our hearts. The room was very comfortable and we were able to sleep throughout the night, something which I had been unable to do even in 5 star hotels in other countries. Breakfast was prepared and served alternately personally by Anna and Thais. Admirably, the kitchenette of this facility is open to guests 24 hours a day and offers complementary tea and coffee. Further, Thais went out of her way one night to drops us off at TGI pro bono when we had a difficult time to get a taxi. Thank you Anna, Thais and Charles. We have already decided that we will stay nowhere else but Thanna's Place on our next visit to Trinidad.

Room Tip: Room No. 4
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VishnuPersaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews