We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home in Port of Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 42 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Your home in Port of Spain”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Thanna's for two nights at the end of our Trinidad & Tobago honeymoon; most of the trip was spent exploring the islands' beautiful natural areas, but we wanted to get a taste of the city as well (literally, since we both love Trini food).

Thanna's was the perfect base for us. It's homey rather than luxurious, tucked away on a residential street, and Anna is an extraordinary host. (How many other places have you stayed where you were welcomed with a hug?) Our room was simple but immaculately clean, with a supremely comfortable bed. Breakfasts were delicious, and the little breakfast area provided a nice place to sit and relax (as did the charming garden patio outside).

It's just a short walk to Queen's Park Savannah, where food vendors set up in the evenings (especially weekends), and to the botanical gardens . . . a longer stroll, but still very doable, to downtown Port of Spain.

Since many travelers end up taking red-eye flights home, one amenity worth noting is the ability to arrange for a late checkout. We paid 1/2 the (extremely reasonable) nightly rate and kept access to our room well into the evening, which made our last day MUCH more pleasant. Your hosts will also make arrangements for a driver to and from the airport -- again, very helpful if your flight is arriving or departing at an off hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
36
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my first visit to Trinidad, and staying at Thannas contributed to an amazing trip. Thannas place was amazing, it truly felt like a home away from home. Staying at Thannas was like staying with family. The staff were wonderful;very polite, respectful and caring. Not only was the staff great, but the facility was also good. The rooms were very clean, with consistent servicing. Each morning the breakfast was fresh and tasty, and there was enough food to eat until content. I would suggest staying at Thannas place over a hotel. It is a much more personal experience, and there are people who actually care about your safety, well being, and making sure that you have an enjoyable trip. I would definitely consider staying at Thannas place again and would suggest it to anyone visiting Trinidad!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thanna's was absolutely fabulous! Not only is it a family run business, but Anna and Thais took us in like we were one of their own. The rooms were nicely decorated and up to date, cable was provided and we had clean bathrooms with spacious showers. Our rooms were cleaned daily and provided with new towels. There was a lovely security person which definitely made me feel more safe and comfortable. Additionally, what made this place outstanding were the little things. Every morning a fresh, healthy and delicious breakfast awaited us in the dining area, and if we missed breakfast they covered it up and put it in the fridge with our room# on it. After a long day of being on the road for Carnival Monday we came home to corn soup, which was a blessing. There was a complimentary tea/coffee station with a water jug dispensing hot &cold water which was also a great bonus. Everyone was kind, helpful and welcoming. The great customer service and positive aura of Thanna's definitely contributed to making my first trip to Trinidad memorable and amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My stay here during carnival 2013 was the absolute best. It was very clean and nicely decorated with up-to-date bedrooms and bathrooms. Both Anna and Thias were very hospitable and accommodating. They were able to provide me with a vegan breakfast despite being Informed last minute of my dietary needs. The breakfast was great!!!! And we even got corn soup on the night we returned from mas!!!! I felt really safe especially since the property was guarded and had onsite security. I will definitely return for 2014. Thanks for everything!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Thanna's turned out to be exactly what we were looking for on our first trip to Port of Spain- a centrally located, comfortable place with the true character of the city, both in its neighborhood and its host. In planning our trip, we struggled to find the right place to stay in the city; in the end we were choosing between Thanna's, the Hilton and the Hyatt. And we chose correctly!! Anna was a fantastic host and truly made us feel at home; learning that we had come to Trinidad to explore its cuisine, she prepared special items for us at breakfast and recommended places and ways to find what we were looking for in the city. Our room- king bed, en suite bathroom- was quite comfortable and immaculately clean, as was the whole property. We enjoyed having the indoor and outdoor seating areas available to relax after being out and about in Port of Spain. A wonderful experience and we recommend it to anyone looking to experience a real taste of Port of Spain!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The three of us stayed at Thanna's place in December 2012. It is hard to find a better example to demonstrate why exactly we prefer to stay in B&Bs. First of all, the location is great: close to everything you may want to visit while in Port of Spain. Anna is an extremely welcoming and attentive host. Not only does she personally tend to her guests but she does so with utmost attention and care. We arrived late (and she helped us arrange airport transfer), but she waited to greet us and did not leave until she made sure that all of our questions are answered and we were satisfied with our rooms. She offers a great variety of food for breakfasts. Rooms are nice and air-conditioned. The bathrooms are clean and spacious. You can use a refrigerator and the kitchen is well-equipped. But then again, it is the host that makes you want to come again and stay there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campoac, Owner at Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Loving what you are doing makes all the difference. That is what Thanna's is about- knowing that our guests are comfortable and happy- ensuring that their needs are met and giving them a true Trinibagonian experience.
We loved having you and hope to see the family again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you enjoyed about your stay. This helps us to continue doing what pleases our guests and to improve in the areas that we need to. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is an absolute diamond in the ruff. I stayed here for Easter 2012 with my 1 year old and I just loved everything about this establishment. It is secure, family is educated and well rounded, staff is kind and hospitable and the place is very clean. They also provide transportation and tours for an additional cost. I just wish I would have known about this place long b4 now. The vibe is very relaxing and it's like home away from home. If you are going for carnival it is located in the midst of all the excitement. Thanna;s is a must stay if you are in Trinidad I wouldn't go anywhere else. If you stay somewhere else and then stay at Thanna's you will regret that you didn't come to Thann's place first. I could go on and on about how much I luv Thanna's but I'm sure you get the point. Overall I love Thanna's and this is where I'll be when I'm in Trinidad:). Abigail

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,023 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#3 of 21 in Port of Spain
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at 87
The Inn at 87
#6 of 42 in Port of Spain
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Address: Erthig Road, Belmont 27, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "Trini home away from home" haven which boasts friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Thanna’s Place is a family run business with a unique feature of privacy - "you call us when you need us." Thanna’s owners are just a stone’s throw away. Located 15 minutes from the heart of the capital, Port of Spain and a 5 minute walk to the Queen’s Park Savannah, Thanna’s location offers you convenient transport when planning a business or pleasure trip. Whether for shopping, eating out or night life, there is a choice of public transport or private taxi service at your doorstep. At Thanna’s Place you can look forward to convenience, affordability, comfort, warmth and a friendly atmosphere! We welcome you to your Trini home. Come join us at Thanna’s Place, Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing