We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty Winks Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

To have spent three nights in a small Inn in Port of Spain and not wanting to leave is an indication
Of how I regard this hotel
The people who work here are personal and relate to their guests.
My room at the front of the house was always clean and well maintained
The breakfast was great
It was well located in relationship to great restaurants and it is in a very safe area.
The air conditioner was a blessing in the extreme heat.!!!
The rooms are basic rooms. If you want a fridge you can share the one in the kitchen
It's not the Hilton, but in ways it far better because of Pam and her workers who make you feel special.
What makes this little hotel shine is no doubt all the above plus the good price coming together to provide the traveller with an excellent place to lay their head
Well done " you little gem!"

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms in the establishment. They are relatively small but provide the basis. I was in front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsteele507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments John, we had a hail and hearty time with you. Have a safe onward flight to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Recently stayed d at 40 Winks and we had an unexpected medical issue. Pamela and staff were extremely helpful and made a bad situation much more bearable. Highly recommended and breakfast great too!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_W60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We were happy to be of service and hope all is well with your friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Forty Winks Inn! We stayed for carnival 2014 for nine days, and we are glad we choose Forty Winks! The room we had was nice and comfortable. Location was great, we walked all over town with out any problems! Everything we needed was in walking distance, we felt like locals by the end of our stay!!! Pam and her staff was amazing, they gave us great info on were to go, eat, fetes, and getting taxi's if needed! Breakfast was prepared daily and it was great! Special Thanks to Tricia and Karen, great cooks and great conversations!!! We look forward to our next trip to trinidad and will definitely be calling Forty Winks Inn for our stay!!!

Andre' and Latoya
Atlanta, Georgia

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

You were a great, fun-loving couple who brought more sunshine into our already bright space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A cozy boutique hotel combining elements of location, comfort and friendly service that can satisfy the needs of busy travelers. Safe and pleasant surroundings within walking distance to many carnival events, along with reliable taxi referrals who can be hired to and from far away destinations that make Trinidad carnival a bucket list event. Friendly and hospitable staff make the breakfast gatherings a bonding experience among guests, while broadband wireless access throughout the premises allow work for both business and pleasure. Pam and her staff go that extra mile to personalize your stay which makes all the difference!

Room Tip: Top rooms are small but with convenient access to roof-top patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rdottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed spending carnival 2014 with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My mom and I have stayed at the Forty Winks Inn several times over the years and it's always been a great experience for us!! This was our second year staying for carnival 2k14 and it was awesome! Pam and her staff are friendly and kind, which makes the stay even better. They really are family to us and we adore them! We highly recommend staying at the Forty Winks Inn because of it's convenient location, comfortability, delicious breakfast and it's safe neighbourhood. Thank you for ALWAYS taking the BEST care of my mom and I...we will see you again next year God willing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhadijaW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We're smiling too Kay, We look forward to seeing you 2015 carnival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Pam and her team are exceptionally hospitable and friendly. Breakfast every morning is delicious and served as early or as late as you want. The staff went out of their way to make everything comfortable and convenient. The room was really nice with an ensuite bathroom. It could've been a little larger, but had great air conditioning and was very comfortable. Traveling to a different country made us concerned about safety and a good location, but Forty Winks is located in a very safe and ideal location for participating in Carnival and going to events at Queens Park. I cannot say enough great things about Forty Winks!!! They were a major part of our trip and we could not have asked for a better stay and experience with them!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idigmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We are so flattered by all your generous comments. Glad that you enjoyed the local breakfasts and a birdie told me that you also loved our after breakfast sweets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A nice B & B. Be aware the rooms are tiny, and the bathrooms could be cleaner.
The front desk was friendly and tried to be helpful--they didn't understand some of our questions, and we had a weird (and kindof horrible) dinner at a restaurant, so make sure you don't have any misunderstandings over what you want, but it was lovely of her to try!
Great location, right near the park, in a safe feeling area.

Room Tip: Try to stay upstairs, the first floor is "garden view", ie; underground, no real windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43323Globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Yes our rooms are cosy and pretty.
The first floor is not underground but at normal street level

There are 2 sets of windows in the ground floor rooms.These are above eye level because the architecture of this of this quaint neighborhood is such that houses are narrow and very close to each other.

For privacy the windows are placed higher than usual.
However the rooms are air conditioned and windows would normally have remained closed like most other accommodations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
0.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
#7 of 21 in Port of Spain
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Address: Warner St 24 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $96 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forty Winks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing