We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forty Winks Inn
Nearby Hotels
$152
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapok Hotel(Port of Spain)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at 87(Port of Spain)
$95
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Trinidad(Port of Spain)
$206
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn(Port of Spain)
$55
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tony's Guest House(Port of Spain)(Great Value!)
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Culture Crossroads Inn(Port of Spain)
$105
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
111
68
17
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
68
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basichome cooked breakfastrecommending restaurantsearly morning departurelocal personwithin walking distance of restaurantsreliable taxiwalked everywherekept clean and tidytwo nightsplace to stayfast wificozy hotelarrange taxisqueens parkoutside patiofelt safe
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 203 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A cozy boutique hotel combining elements of location, comfort and friendly service that can satisfy the needs of busy travelers. Safe and pleasant surroundings within walking distance to many carnival events, along with reliable taxi referrals who can be hired to and from far away destinations that make Trinidad carnival a bucket list event. Friendly and hospitable staff make the breakfast gatherings a bonding experience among guests, while broadband wireless access throughout the premises allow work for both business and pleasure. Pam and her staff go that extra mile to personalize your stay which makes all the difference!

Room Tip: Top rooms are small but with convenient access to roof-top patio
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rdottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed spending carnival 2014 with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My mom and I have stayed at the Forty Winks Inn several times over the years and it's always been a great experience for us!! This was our second year staying for carnival 2k14 and it was awesome! Pam and her staff are friendly and kind, which makes the stay even better. They really are family to us and we adore them! We highly recommend staying at the Forty Winks Inn because of it's convenient location, comfortability, delicious breakfast and it's safe neighbourhood. Thank you for ALWAYS taking the BEST care of my mom and I...we will see you again next year God willing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhadijaW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We're smiling too Kay, We look forward to seeing you 2015 carnival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Pam and her team are exceptionally hospitable and friendly. Breakfast every morning is delicious and served as early or as late as you want. The staff went out of their way to make everything comfortable and convenient. The room was really nice with an ensuite bathroom. It could've been a little larger, but had great air conditioning and was very comfortable. Traveling to a different country made us concerned about safety and a good location, but Forty Winks is located in a very safe and ideal location for participating in Carnival and going to events at Queens Park. I cannot say enough great things about Forty Winks!!! They were a major part of our trip and we could not have asked for a better stay and experience with them!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idigmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We are so flattered by all your generous comments. Glad that you enjoyed the local breakfasts and a birdie told me that you also loved our after breakfast sweets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A nice B & B. Be aware the rooms are tiny, and the bathrooms could be cleaner.
The front desk was friendly and tried to be helpful--they didn't understand some of our questions, and we had a weird (and kindof horrible) dinner at a restaurant, so make sure you don't have any misunderstandings over what you want, but it was lovely of her to try!
Great location, right near the park, in a safe feeling area.

Room Tip: Try to stay upstairs, the first floor is "garden view", ie; underground, no real windows.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43323Globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Yes our rooms are cosy and pretty.
The first floor is not underground but at normal street level

There are 2 sets of windows in the ground floor rooms.These are above eye level because the architecture of this of this quaint neighborhood is such that houses are narrow and very close to each other.

For privacy the windows are placed higher than usual.
However the rooms are air conditioned and windows would normally have remained closed like most other accommodations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

All POI nearby, wonderful staff, nice roof-terrace. The room in ground floor with a small window just below the top, so there is not a lot of daylight in the room. The facilities in the bathrooom could be cleaner.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms might have better window.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wengeraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

There are actually 4 windows in each room, hidden by blinds. Open the blinds and yes you have full sunlight.
Newtown is a quaint historic part of the city where the buildings are long and narrow and built very close together.. so windows on the ground floor have to go above eye level. The rooms are Air conditioned and therefore the windows are kept closed.

We apologise if the white tiled baths were not up to standard.
I have been very busy getting ready for Carnival and some details may have slipped through the cracks.

I have spoken to housekeeping already.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews