We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Feel good guesthouse in centre Port of Spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty Winks Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feel good guesthouse in centre Port of Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well kept guesthouse, located well with respect to restaurants/pubs in Port of Spain.
Gentle staff, very wililng to help you to plan your day-trips. Well prepared breakfast.
Rooms are sufficiently large, airconditioning ok, breakfast room is coasy.
We thought that the taps and the fan in the bathroom should be cleaned better. Furthermore, the fan in the bathroom was too noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
55
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My stay at Forty Winks Inn was pleasant and enjoyable. This an ideal place to stay as it's within easy access to downtown Port of Spain, St James and the Queens Park Savannah. Pam and her staff was excellent in providing information on places to dine and arranging transportation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trininative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great stay at Forty Winks. Pam and her staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. OK, so the rooms may be a little small for some but they are comfortable and we did not plan on spending much time in them. Very good breakfasts. A little nervous about security and parking on the street at first, but it was never a problem. We usually managed to get the car right outside the door. Forty Winks is in a good location for walking out to the restaurants, bars and the Savannah area and is well located for getting into or out of Port of Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The place is pretty small. My room was not very clean, no windows and from the bathroom we could be seen from the upper floor. The space was too cramped. I was never able to get internet service. There is absolutely no where to park your car safely, except on the streets. If you move your car and return then you have to park a good distance off and walk back. Some of the streets are now one way so you must have a map or ask a kind soul of directions.
There is no sign on the building bearing its name, if I had not seen the picture on the internet I would have passed the building then would have had to make the drive all over again.
The employees, I must say were welcoming. They need to do major overhaul to the place and rooms and better lighting in the corridor.

Room Tip: Maybe you can specify exactly the type of room you are looking for. We really needed a place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 828Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
That Forty Winks has maintained a superior status on Trip Advisor over the 8 years of its existence is evidence of its consistency in delivering a quality product and service to its hundreds of guests internationally.

If our local clients had looked behind the curtains they would have found windows on 2 sides of the room. If they had asked for assistance with the internet service they would have been helped immediately. A number on a building is indicative of its location.

The building was re-painted and refreshed inside and outside in June 2012 including desks, cupboards and side tables. The flowers are blooming on the open air terrace which affords an alternative space to relax. If these clients specifically wanted parking facilities we would have happily referred them to our associate facility nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Forty Winks for 4 days & even though the rooms were small, the ambience & friendliness of the staff more than made up for it! The place was clean & very cosy & we felt very well looked after by Pam & her team.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurpreneurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Recently stayed here prior to Aust V Windies test at queens park oval which would be an 8 min walk from hotel. Pam and her staff were absolute gems and I would stay at forty winks again in a heartbeat. The rooms are small but adequate for a budget room. The hotel is very central to Port of spain and arapita av where all the nightlife action is.If you love italian food pop into Buzo (2min stroll)for a memorable nosh--world class. Cheers Dean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIRholidayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Small, pretty hotel. Rooms may be small but there was enough cupboards, shelfs etc so we had no problem with space. Breakfast was good, something little bit different every morning which was nice. Also everybody working there was friendly, hotel was very clean, ac was working well and you can store your own drinks to common fridge. Overall I have no bad word of this place and I would definitely stay there again if traveling back to PoS.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
#7 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Property: Forty Winks Inn
Address: 24 Warner St | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forty Winks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing