We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Hotel”
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty Winks Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We found the hotel to be a great deal and close to many restaurants. Problem was that we arrived late and the curfew was still in effect so all the restaurants were closing. Pam took us in her car to a take out fast food Cuban place so we could get dinner after 13 hours of flights. The personal service is exceptional at this place. The second floor outside patio was excellent for having meals or drinks. Breakfast provided with the room rate is a full breakfast cooked to order. The rooms are small but easily manageable. My only concern with this hotel is that the room we were in had bars on the windows. If there was a fire in the kitchen, you would be trapped in the back rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 193 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Small, pension like hotel. Only 5 rooms, so you get a personalized treatment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I'm from London and stayed at Forty Winks for 3 weeks, with 11 other young musicians working with a local choir. We had a wonderful time, enjoying the roof terrace and dining areas together, for meals, sun bathing and generally relaxing. The accommodation is perfect, very comfortable, with excellent bathrooms and delicious breakfasts every day. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank musicaltravellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a place that I will never forget! Clean, Cool and great food! We stayed at the Forty Winks Inn for over a week and we just loved this place! It is located in a great location by many restaurants, supermarkets and not to far from downtown Port of Spain. Pam the owner is so hospitable and friendly unlike anyone else that we have ever met. If you want a piece of Trinidad this is the place to stay!

Shawn, Olivia & Ariel

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ishla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was quite small. Not the most comfortable room in the world. In addition, my friend was not too pleased with her bed since it was lobsided and she found hairs in her bed. We only had one channel working on our TV. They do give you a complimentary breakfast and staff is very friendly and helpful. I would consider this a hostel rather than a bed and breakfast. I would recommend this hotel if you are not going to be in the room much since you really cant beat the price but with the current curfew in Trinidad, this might not be the best choice since there is nothing to do on the premise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great little guest house! really enjoyed our stay here. Very helpful staff, amazing breakfasts cooked to order. The only problem was internet access, which was not fixed during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

So little control we sometimes have over the quality of the wireless service. When the system fails we restart the router; if that fails we refer to our I.T. consultant. Very often we have to wait for the service provider to render assisstance, and the timing of this we have no control over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Found the rooms smaller than expected. Business people stay here who cannot afford the big hotels - mainly men. Found it far too expensive for what was offered.
Won't be staying here again. Felt like a sardine. Had to find places to go as rooms too small to stay in, unless to sleep

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortyWinksinn, Owner at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Our rooms meet the minimum size standard for Trinidad and Tobago. Americans who are used to oversized and upsized products will find our rooms smaller than normal. Europeans have absolutely no problem, being used to operating in smaller spaces.
As many women as men stay here. We have I.T consultants, University Professors,Professionals on business, Company Executives, at least one of whom flies his own plane on business trips within the U.S.,housewives, simple folk. Retired people, families of all ages, young couples, honey mooners, We have a core of clients, salesmen, holiday makers, who return to us any time they visit Trinidad .
Included in our price, breakfast, taxes, wireless internet, itinerary planning and consierge services,, as much coffee and tea as you need, 24 hour front desk service (unheard of for a 5 room facility)daily room cleaning, business support. and lots of good cheer and personalised service.
We cannot be all things to all people. We deliver what we promise, and we did not promise an expansive facility, just a really sweet, comfortable place to stay when you are away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
316 reviews
34.1 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Address: Warner St 24 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $95 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forty Winks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing