We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BE FOOLED”
Review of Alicia's Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicia's Palace
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
A TripAdvisor Member
Trinidad and Tobago
216
Reviewed February 14, 2006

My experience with this hotel was not at all what i expected. Listed below are some of my points of dissatisfaction.

1. On arrival, I told the clerk I came to check in her greeting was "and you are?" in a tone I did not like. No, welcome to our hotel and can i please have your name Miss?
2. On entering the room I noticed that there wasn’t any soap in the bath or Sink area. I also found it strange that the room did not have a proper dressing area,i was thinking that if this is one of their best rooms i surely was afraid to see the cheaper ones. I still did not make much of it thinking maybe all the rooms were the same and i would go out and get soap. However after the first night I saw the room just opposite me open and asked if I could take a look, I then noticed that that room was complete with proper dressing area, Built-in closets with doors and even a bench in one of the nook/corners which could be used to rest your belongings on, my room lacked all of the above.

3. In order to receive breakfast you had to fill out a form which was categorized and you were only allowed to choose one item per category, so you could not have bread and Hash Browns, you could not even substitute one item from one category for the other, for example I did not want any cereal or porridge but wanted bread and Hash brown. It was the first time I had to fill out a form it order to receive food which I had already paid for.

4.I also found out that there were different rooms and different rates which were cheaper than what I was paying, when I called and asked about the rates I was told 92.00 US (which I later found out to be their highest rate for double occupancy) which included all taxes and Breakfast.
I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Alicia's Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 70 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
nyc
13
Reviewed December 23, 2005

it was ok, the room was cleaned everyday, air conditioner worked, pool was fine, a little dusty because of the renovations that were going on, the floors were very slipery and the bed was on wheels, it kept slipping and sliding all over the room, staff was very pleasant, didn't like the exchange rate, and the price on the website was not the actual price, the view was beautiful I took some really nice pictures, and thank god we had a car because this hotel sits at the top of a very long winding hill and from what i could see there was no transportation to go up and down that hill.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2005

Alicia's Palace (----) is a sister property of Alicia's Guest House in Port of Spain and was supposed to be a new hotel. It was a fairly unpleasant experience that I won't soon return to. It's supposedly being renovated, although there are too many problems that need to be worked out. Website and brochures falsely advertise various amenities and services, and don't fully depict the true property.

Extremely basic room--2 dbl beds and 1 single bed, beat-up armoire w/ tv, no rugs, failed vanity light, roaches, swarming bugs, a praying mantis
Had to ask for remote controls for tv
Stopped-up toilet that wasn't fixed for 2 days--was given a key for the room across the hall from me to use toilet
No bar service, extremely limited and unappetizing dining menu, bfast expensive
No Internet Cafe as advertised, no Business Center as advertised
Internet connection never worked properly--was subsequently charged for Internet usage when I checked out---was never told there was a charge
No convenient transportation down the mountain--once you're there, you're stuck, unless they call you a taxi which could take considerable time
Nice pool, nice mountain view,full cable tv, good air conditioning, although it went out for several hours one day and the guests weren't notified
$60USD/night--Exchange at hotel was 5USD to 1TT--

21  Thank TravelGirl041672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank onparkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MURIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albre-13-TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#16 of 22 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Palace

Address: 3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will welcome you with the magic that Trinidad is famous for. Just minutes from the capital city, an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility await your arrival. Set in the midst of tropical flora and fauna The Palace abounds with scenic decks and modern-styled rooms to its mid-sized conference rooms and multiple reading nooks, it’s just the refreshing escape you were looking for. Alicia’s Palace can accommodate you today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Palace Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicias Palace Port Of Spain
Alicia's Palace Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing