We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Review of Alicia's Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicia's Palace
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My Stay Here Was Extraordinary Customer Service Was Really Nice And I Had The Least Expensive Room And It Was Very Comfortable The Pool Is Wonderful My Only Problem Was The Breakfast Menu Never Changed Every day We Got The Same Breakfast Menu Great Stay Overall

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicolette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
26
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great for a nice get away from the city, with a fantastic view of Port of Spain, well kept rooms and good service. The Dinning room/lounge is very spacious and you have a wide variety of food to order from. We had a quiet and good time..

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Alicia's Palace during Carnival 2006 and enjoyed the stay so this was the hotel I wanted to stay at on my return in June 2013.

I am delighted that I chose to stay at this hotel for the second time.

Positives:
- Charming location overlooking POS.
- Excellent for running up and down the hill.
- Wonderful home cooked food for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.
- Not busy, so relaxed feel.
- Pool
- Good size room
- Pool table.
- Old, yet usable gym.
- Shuttle down or up the hill on demand.
- Close to both malls.
- Friendly staff (apart from one receptionist)
- Wifi in room
- Computer at reception

Negatives:
- No tea making facility in room.
- When internet went down, there was no back up to fix it.

I'll look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a good sized room with a good view two floors above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whodeystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here definitely will be going back. the food was great especially breakfast, the staff were professional and friendly.the view is breathtaking and you feel so relaxed and at peace. the rooms are just right not too much and not too little. if i had ten thumbs would definitely have put up all. love this place, a wonderful hideaway.

Room Tip: choose either the rooms that cost 484 or 584
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherryann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My expectation here was met. Got my money worth.Room was very clean and comfortable. Service at front desk was well received and professional. Would come back here again.

The location at Chancellor Hill was really nice especially with the lovely view of the city.

The size of the room was adequate and spacious.The bathroom as well.

The bed quite comfortable and the overall cleanliness of the environment was welcoming.

Certainly enjoyed my stay at Alicia's Palace

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravTrini868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent one night at the hotel with my spouse this week to attend a Carnival activity in POS.Hotel is ok for an overnight/weekend stay,would not recommend for longer.It is a winding 6-7 minute drive uphill,be weary of the joggers/runners 24-7.Reception area is very tiny,we had the least expensive room which is very average,clean,small,double bed is smaller than tne normal regular size.Breakfast was OK,small pool for lazing not swimming.nice view from dining area,not much choices at breakfast.All in all ok for very short stays.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back had views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiecage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Alicia's palace accommodated our group of 19 students and three faculty in January of 2013. The hearty daily breakfast buffet of local cuisine got us off to a great start every morning. For the price, It is the best available value for a group like ours, with various rooming configurations, although there were no quads, which had been popular with students in other locations.

Being set in the hills above Port of Spain, the view from the dining terrace is fabulous, Transportation to downtown is available, but the cab situation in Port of Spain can be confusing. We often took the hotel shuttle downtown to Alicia's House (a related property), and back for downtown excursions.

We may have been a bit fussy, but the staff addressed our suggestions as they arose (such as supplying ping pong balls and leveling the pool table on the recreation terrace). The WiFi- was spotty, but once we learned which routers to use, we could usually get online to upload photos and FB status of our trip.

The pool was nice, and the staff accommodated our group's desire for extended pool hours.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have balconies, with views of the beautiful grounds, but not of the city belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,023 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Palace

Property: Alicia's Palace
Address: 3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will welcome you with the magic that Trinidad is famous for. Just minutes from the capital city, an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility await your arrival. Set in the midst of tropical flora and fauna The Palace abounds with scenic decks and modern-styled rooms to its mid-sized conference rooms and multiple reading nooks, it’s just the refreshing escape you were looking for. Alicia’s Palace can accommodate you today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Palace Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicias Palace Port Of Spain
Alicia's Palace Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing