We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does exactly what it says on the tin”
Review of Alicia's Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicia's Palace
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I visited this property in August 2011 and although it is removed from the hustle and bustle of the Savannah and POS, it is easily reachable by a 5 minute journey by car. One of the upsides of this hotel is that a shuttle to the Savannah is included in the rate. The new rooms are wonderfully spacious and are equipped with Cable TV, AC and some with large balconies. The bathrooms are more or less basic but clean. The older rooms face the forest and are a bit smaller but still comfortable and also include a small fridge, AC, Cable TV and free wireless internet! . The rooms are clean and the staff VERY helpful. I must shoutout Melissa who has been stellar!!! There's also a restaurant on site, a separate dining/play area with pool table and a small pool. All in all a comfortable experience, It could be a bit cheaper, but the location and amenities make up for it.

Room Tip: the newer rooms which are larger and have beautiful balconies that face the city! try to get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkiniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Situated in one of the hills that line he city of Port of Spain. The view is certainly scenic and the fresh breeze that greets you on a hot day makes this place feel like a lil slice of heaven. However in spite of this I have to say that I was a little disappointed since the cost of the staying here is not worth what you get. I expected more "bang for my bucks".

The rooms are clean and he bed comfortable but it is otherwise quite average. For 600+ TTD one will expect a nicer ambiance in the rooms themselves.

That being said the staff were quite courteous and helpful. The breakfast was nice and tasty as well. But all in all it was just an average experience.

Room Tip: You can request rooms. Ask for room 11 or 5 since you get a better view and a somewhat private balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I visited Alicia's Palace on the weekend of the 23rd of Sept and stayed for a couple of days with a reallly good friend of mine. The drive up Lady Chancellor Road is a bit windy but you will make it. It's a bit of a long drive about 20 to 25 mins, but its worth the trip. The front desk was most welcoming and answered all my questions without ever being rude which was very nice the room i stayed in was large because i like space and it was apprximately $700.00TTD per night inclusive of breakfast. There is a $100.00 key deposit which is refunded on return of the key when you are leaving.There are rooms a little less, but i opted for a larger room. The room was very clean, the floors, the walls, the bathroom, the bed everything was very neat and clean. We had our own balcony which we didn't use we did use balcony on the southern side of the building which overlooked the city of Port of Spain and boy was that view amazing. The lights the layout everything was amazing. There is a very nice pool which you can occupy until 9pm which is really nice and the depths in the pool are easy to indintify as the tile colours change with the different depths. There is an open air restuarant that over looks lots of greenery and you can hear and see lots of birds the the day time and hear lots of insects in the night with the comfort of being secure. There are any mosquitoes, at least i didnt have trouble with any. Coffee in the late afternoon in the restuarant is certainly enjoyable. Now the food, the food served at the restuarant is really good. The prices are in US though but it's all worth it. I certainly think their portion serving are enough for two though and their fresh salad is divine. The dont just toss up some lettuce for you you actually get variety, brocholi, corn, carrots, tomatoe, cumumbers, lettuce,onions just to name a few . The baked potatoe is always so warm and toasty it takes you away :). There is always the choice of burgers, fries and soups but you can certainly request any dish you would like to have and the kitchen staff will certainly obligue. Alicia's Palace can also organize rental cars and even site tours if you desire.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viddhisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

For the cost of approx $565TT a night (usually its $667TT)
1. The room is clean (take room 11 or 5- u get a better view).
2. Take note there are ALOT of steps, no elevator.
3. Generally quiet and peaceful.
4. Breakfast is included in the price but all my hubby and i got was Toast, ham, butter, jam, tea and coffee. Our sour point was that we were not even given an option, how i know this is because 3 minutes later other guests came down and they got spanish omlette, bake and saltfish etc....
5. They is a hidden addtional deposit fee of $100 for room key which would be refunded on check out.
6. At the time of check in they was no electricity (so no a/c, no hot water, no tv) because there is no generator to facilitate the entire hotel.

generally a not so bad experience but Alicia's Palace would NOT be my 1st option

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lovely view of the city, great location, friendly staff, breakfast was homely . If you budget is small it's the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Think of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonesZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

First the good: My room was very clean - I saw almost no bugs (aside from mosquitos); breakfast was tasty, local homestyle cooking; room had good tv, AC and a small fridge; good wireless internet is included in the price; location is lovely, with a great view from the deck.

Not so good: rooms feel grungy and unfinished with grout not fully removed from tile and with bare fluorescent lightbulbs; the remote control didn't work on the AC, so the temp couldn't be adjusted (the staff person just shrugged and said, "that's how it is"); windows didn't have screens and had louvered glass, so mosquitoes got in, giving me many bites; (for me, this was the worst) their coffee urn broke! so there was no fresh coffee! only instant! and when I asked about the coffee the staff person gestured to the instant and said "there". When they had fresh coffee, it was pretty good.

Overall, I would say that the owners took on this project of renovating this hotel and didn't realize how much work it would be. The staff seemed unpleasant and unhappy with their lot.

If one is desperate and/or looking for something inexpensive, this is tolerable, but it wouldn't be my first choice. h

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Kitchen beautiful, room clean including bathroom, scenery soothing and refreshing. No complaints. Stellar,

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleanorSUNVALLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Palace

Address: 3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will welcome you with the magic that Trinidad is famous for. Just minutes from the capital city, an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility await your arrival. Set in the midst of tropical flora and fauna The Palace abounds with scenic decks and modern-styled rooms to its mid-sized conference rooms and multiple reading nooks, it’s just the refreshing escape you were looking for. Alicia’s Palace can accommodate you today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Palace Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicias Palace Port Of Spain
Alicia's Palace Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing