We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small place for long or short stay/great restaurant/friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
indiana usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming small place for long or short stay/great restaurant/friendly staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My colleagues and I stayed here for three weeks while judging a music festival. The hotel has charming, though smallish rooms, interestingly decorated, with microwave, fridge, etc. The smallness of the rooms is made up for by beautifully appointed public spaces with comfortable seating for reading, study and/or work. A splendid rooftop terrace also provided a beautiful outdoor area for late night meals, and visiting. The restaurant was first rate and the staff became like a family, interested in our work and eager to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. A pool would have been nice since we were there so long - but other than that we would definitely return again to this unique and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choralchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
12
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
port of spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I booked a lunch for my partner and two guests here as we had stayed here in January and had a lovely lunch there . What a disappointment , the restaurant was empty and had no atmosphere . We were informed when given our menus that if we ordered desert we could have a free glass of wine which meant we had to decide right away if we could manage desert ? The waitress was very good at attending to us , after all we were the only people in the place .
After a very below average lunch which no one commented on which in itself tells a story . It had a school dinner feel about it ( Im talking 1970's uk here ) we went up to the smoking area and sat with no fans on ( we asked and one was put on for 10 minutes then shut off ! ) We ordered a drink and it has to be said having a drink when maintenance was going on and cleaners bringing out supplies and trailing it past you was not what you would expect , and we felt embarrassed that we had brought our guests here .
We would not go again and I had a wonderful reminder of my visit with the numerous midgy bites that I got in the restaurant .
Do not go you will be disappointed .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieO07PortOfSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

My husband and I have just enjoyed two nights' stay at this very special hotel. Port of Spain has several big chain hotels such as the Hilton, but if you want to enjoy something different and more redolent of the area, then this is the place to stay.
The majority of the rooms are themed, such as 'Government House, or 'Rum Shop' and are accordingly fitted out with the appropriate fittings, books and pictures. The attention of detail is excellent, and we particularly liked the common areas such as the library corner and the roof top terrace with a jacuzzi.
The hotel restaurant Battimamzelle is excellent and we had a memorable and sophisticated Creole meal. This is definitely one of the best restaurants on the island.
One slight criticism is that some of the staff on reception are rather laid back, but then that is one of the charms of Trinidad and must be allowed for. Breakfast was okay but not special, however, we will most certainly be returning to this hotel and to eat again at its fine restaurant.

  • Liked — The individuality of the rooms and the attention to detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

the title says it all... i changed to another hotel because a room with no windows was all they had available when i came to check in.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank diva39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

Disastrous experience.

1) I was in Port of Spain on business and took quite a bit of taxis around. The ones hired from reception were notably and suspiciously more expensive than when hired from my business location.

2) Wake up calls ? Forget about it. And forget about letting them know. They simply could not care less.

3) You need a taxi to te airport at certain time ? They will assess if that is too much time in advance and will call the taxi when ito come. Needless to say, they will not tell you.

4) Currency exchange ? Never enough, never ready ...

5) Broadband Internet: Sometimes work, sometimes does not. The speed was definitively not up to standard

6) In all fairness, the only good thing is the restaurant. The rest is just unprofessional and so poor that I strongly discourage staying there.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank petiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I was told good things about the Coblentz Inn from a few co-workers, and so decided to go there (choosing it over the Hilton) for a 3-week business trip. I stayed at "This Ol' House" room.

Pros:
- Staff was friendly
- It is small, so you get to know the staff
- In a quiet area (if you like that)
- It is cozy, well-decorated, and very clean
- Free wireless internet
- A large super-market (Hi-Lo) just opened up about 10 minutes walking distance
- Amazing restaurant downstairs (Batimamzelle) - 5 Star and rated one of the best in Trinidad!
- Good high-end restaurants within 20 minutes walk
- 15 minute walk to the Savannah

Cons:
- The rooms are tiny - after the first week, this really affected me
- Limited facilities - no fitness centre, no pool, jacuzzi was closed
- Restaurant is right outside the rooms - very annoying to hear patrons laughing away and loud music blaring at midnight
- Restaurant closes at 11pm, and 10pm on Sundays - makes getting food at night extremely difficult (hard to find delivery in Trinidad at those hours)
- The main problem for me was location - it's in a residential area with VERY few stores around within walking distances - virtually NO food places aside from very high-end restaurants
- Wireless speeds were horrid and the router dropped completely for a few days

  • Liked — Friendly staff and it was clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car ahead of time...
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank slaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

This hotel has the best service that you can find in Port of Spain. The restaurant is excellent and has a surprisingly nice wine list. The theme rooms are lovely. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Port of Spain.

S. Velez,
San Juan

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank svelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
304 reviews
33.5 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#3 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: Coblentz Avenue 44 | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel is located in the Port of Spain suburb of Cascade. We are less than 10 minutes away from the Queen's Park Savannah and the business center of Port of Spain. We have 16 rooms and all are equipped with kitchenettes and are en-suite. Wireless internet is available throughout our property. Some of our rooms are decorated to depict the history & culture of Trinidad & Tobago. Battimamzelle Restaurant is our in house restaurant. They serve international food with local fusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coblentz Hotel Boutique
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing