We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time aroeund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd Time aroeund”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Once a again back in Tridad and at the Marriott, Nice to see familar faces, as I remember the pleasnat staff that greeted me from my last stay so did they. Marriott you will see me and the family again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    293
    46
    11
    13
See reviews for
152
163
57
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed here during the England cricket tour and both the teams were also staying in the hotel. The location is out of the centre of town, and you need to be careful walking on the streets, especially at night. There are plenty of taxis available but prices will be high (think US / Europe major cities).

The hotel is right next to MovieTowne, a modern complex containing shops, restaurants and a movie theatre. This is a good option for eating out if you prefer not to "go local", although it does get very busy in the evenings. Breakfast options are limited which is a shame, since the hotel charges a very high price (USD23 pp) for its breakfast buffet.

The hotel itself is clean and the staff were all very friendly. The rooms are large and although a little basic (it is a Courtyard after all) there is everything you will need, including wireless internet access.

Overall a good choice for the business or leisure traveller which meets the standards you would expect at a Marriott hotel. If you can book using rewards points then its a great deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Great hotel for Trinidad. Very clean and well run.

Close to the Green Mall --- your basic modern mall.

Did not seem that close to anything else in POS. Plan on taxis.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Just got back from 9 nights here, using it as a base for exploring the island with private tour guides. The negative reviews gave pause for concern as we were using Marriott points for the stay, but there must've been some problem with the previous guests as we did not experience any problems mentioned. Bed was average for a Marriott (which has better beds than most chain hotels of same calibre) but more comfortable by sleeping on top of the comforter so it was like a featherbed. No noise problems other than hearing an occasional child or baby in the hall crying, but that was the exception rather than the norm. Had to pin the blackout curtains together because they didn't come completely together to keep light out at night. Room was cleaned properly daily, all staff were very cordial & efficient. Some rooms on the west side have views of the Gulf. The breakfast buffet is excellent but high priced for what you get ($23USD). We kept breakfast foods in our fridge after having the buffet our 1st morning. The Flambeau Restaurant is really a lobby with few restaurant-style table/chairs set-ups, mostly seating by a few couches, arm chairs & coffee tables, not my idea of a restaurant, & located directly next to the business center that has an open half-wall so you can see anyone on the computers. Menu also needs tweeking as there were very few items that interested us. What we ordered was good, prices comparable to nearby dinner restaurants. There are several good restaurants at nearby MovieTown mall which is safe to walk to (Trader Jack's & Shanghai) that are worth going to. Also several U.S. "fast food" places, but only BurgerKing & Church's Chicken are open early for breakfast & service is anything BUT fast. If you eat at MovieTown's Ruby Tuesday's, pay with card or Trini $$ because their USD cash exchange rate is OUTRAGEOUS. The mini-store at hotel desk is adequate for a quick snack fix, but if you're staying awhile, suggest grocery shopping at the nearest grocer, which is NOT within walking distance. To avoid paying $10 USD DAILY for a microwave in your room, there's one at the desk you can use for free. There's always an adequate supply of taxis at the front door, but negotiate the price BEFORE you get in, otherwise you're in for a fare surprise. The desk clerks are not up-to-date with current fares if you ask them to suggest a fare for any given place, so if you're uncomfortable with the fare quoted by the driver, ask to see their fare sheet. If they don't have one, TAKE A DIFFERENT CAB. This hotel is NOT close to any tourist attractions other than MovieTown & a large sports stadium, so you must take a taxi everywhere unless you've rented a car. Do not recommend a rental if you've never been here before. Some of the craziest driving is practiced on most of the island (think Rome or Athens!), & most roads only 1 skinny lane. If you walk, be sure to ask a trusted local what areas are not safe to walk in, as there are many. If I had to stay overnight on Trinidad again, I'd stay here, but 9 days as a tourist on the island, I've seen enough.

  • Liked — Could pay for 9 day stay with only 70,000 points. No other Caribbean place could offer this
  • Disliked — Location - not near any tourist attractions or beaches
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed here at the end of October 2008 for two nights. I was told all the other rooms were booked except for one deluxe studio for 350+/ night, so I requested it for two nights.

Apparently, they discriminate between local pricing and foreigner pricing, and would not honor a military discount for me since it wasn't sent in advance (not eactly feasible when on a Navy ship). On top of that, the 'suite' was on the side of a major road- and was extremely noisy. I found that the location was central, however, as an Americanized "Movie Town" complex was within very close proximity and provided basic necessities.

The worst part was after my first night, I went to the front desk to ask to be moved. The clerk told me not only could I not be moved but that I could NOT stay another night as I didn't book two nights (in a rude tone). I disputed this, talking with an assistant manager, then requested a manager (who was much more cordial) and got the issue resolved after a good 20 minutes.

Overall, the pool was also filthy, room was grossly overpriced, the maids were very friendly, and the breakfast buffet was good. If you are not a local nor part of the Marriott program (or even if you are), I highly suggest looking elsewhere for the reasons I have given.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rude staff, overpriced, and noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristophoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I was recently at the Courtyard and my stay was less than comfortable.

The first thing that we noticed was the “droopy bed”. The bed in our room literally had a large sink in the middle, so we asked for another room.

When we got to the other room, the problem persisted… extremely uncomfortable beds, worn out and desperate need of change! We actually cut our stay short because of the bad beds, isn’t that something?

Unfortunately, I also had an unpleasant experience with the front desk staff when checking in..but they did their best to rectify their shortcomings. However, I don’t believe I’ll stay there again.

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — Beds, the staff, the view and the cleanliness of the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CREATIVE-CONCEPTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Excellent business hotel. Nothing fancy, but great location, great staff and clean. Walking distance from restaurants, movie theater and bars. I recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank foc_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
35.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Property: Courtyard Port of Spain
Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing