We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth, NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This Courtyard has to be the best I have ever been to. We travel extensively, too, and normally stay at a full service Marriott when available.

Terrific service all the way around: bar and restaurant staff, front desk (nice work Tojo and Dhalia!), and even the housekeeping staff were the nicest ever!

This is my first time to Trinidad. What I will remember the most are the kind, genuine smiles and helpfulness of this hotel's staff.

If you get to talk with Gina in reservations, she is very professional and accommodating as well!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank peasepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Peasepilot,

We truly appreciate your vote of confidence in the service we provide at our property.
The team will certainly be pleased to read your feedback, special recognition will be given to Tojo, Dhalia and Gina.

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott when you travel and we do look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    302
    47
    11
    14
See reviews for
160
166
59
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I had a pleasant time on this business trip, reception was very helpful on our needs when we checked in very early in the morning. Excellent breakfast selection. Room was very comfortable with very courteous staff... Would certainly return to this esteem establishment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Lyden B,

We are indeed happy to have met your needs during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we are pleased that you will choose to stay with us again on a future visit to Port of Spain.

Lynden B, we do look forward to welcoming you back hopefully sometime soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am a local, and love to have a timeout with my family. The Courtyard offered excellent service, friendly and courteous staff, quality rooms and modern conveniences. Booking the rooms was easy and the staff endeavored to meet my needs and particular taste. The breakfast reflected both local and international cuisine.

Room Tip: Indicate your preference and the staff would do all in their power to satisfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Stephen M,

I am happy that you enjoyed your time away with your family, it truly was our pleasure to have enabled this.

Thank you for recognising the efforts of our staff who went above and beyond to ensure that your needs were met.

Stephen, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel, if not for a stay possibly for breakfast.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at this hotel, although arriving at 6:30am in part due to our flight both Adana and Aneisha were very very helpful and accommodated us with a room until ours was ready. Staff at the hotel are all very polite and helpful and the drivers at Europcar were all great. If I travel back to Port of Spain for business in the future, I know who has my business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Daniel S,

We are happy that you enjoyed the service provided by Adanna and Aneisha. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team and I am sure that they will pleased to read your comments.

Thank you for your vote of confidence in the service that we have provided and we look forward to having you and your wife back with us again.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great, sympathic, lovely, nice, friendly, respectful, helpful, always smiling team. They do their very best to put you at your confort, to respond to any of your request. I appreciate the time spend there, at the fitness room, the pool. Shopping, restaurants and movies not too far, can go by walk. Would like to specially thanks on behalf of my mother and i from Guadeloupe : Pauline, Paulina, Jean Luke and the pretty and lovely ladies at the front desk, sorry i forgot your name, Steeve, Joel.....
Thank you for our wonderful stay and your great job. Continue like that. Lay God bless you, you families and your work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
MedinaT,

We really do appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us.

It was indeed a pleasure to look after the needs of you and your mom during your time in Port of Spain please know I will be sharing your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to your home away from home.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

May 7 - 17, 2014
We travelled by Caribbean Airlines to this fabulous hotel close to downtown Port of Spain opposite the Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Movie Towne Shopping Center.

The Courtyard does not provide shuttle service from the airport. However, we arranged for this service through Europcar (www.europcar.co.tt/). Ronald picked us up and Nicholas brought us back to the airport 10 days later.

Arrival at the Hotel was late (after midnight). Cherylyn was the receptionist on duty and in spite of the lateness, she was extremely friendly and courteous during registration, providing us with information needed at the time and suggesting that we could complete the rest in the morning, which we did with the help of Tojo and Adana, also friendly and helpful.

In our Guest Room (424) there were 2 queen size beds, air conditioning, television, a door that opened to a Juliette balcony, desk, credenza with drawers, closet and in-room safe; hairdryer, bathroom with shower and tub. It was always a chore to make sure that the shower curtain remained inside the tub - not always easy as it just covered about 1" from the top of the tub and no exhaust fan for steam. The website description is very accurate except for those little nuisances.

Breakfast in Centro (the Hotel’s restaurant) is complimentary with a large selection of juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal, eggs, pancakes, etc. etc. Pauline took our order every morning while we were there. All the friendly staff we came in contact with such as Shaniece, Melissa, Maria, Beenie, Nathanel, Rossii, Edomite were always smiling, helpful and friendly; Sandwiches and beverages can be ordered for lunching by the pool where there are chairs, tables and loungers situated in a beautifully maintained garden like area. Pool towels are available every day. We ate dinner twice at the hotel and the menu was also quite good.

Next to Reception, wines by the bottle can be purchased and taken up to your room, or you can just sit at the bar depending on the kind of day you had.

On Mother’s Day at breakfast, the hotel presented every mother with two cupcakes in a little plastic box tied with a ribbon and there were lots of mothers that weekend! Courtyard is close to a very busy highway and walking along the highway is not recommended. However, at Movie Towne Shopping Center right next door and within safe walking distance, there are shops and restaurants. Trader Joe’s for good snacks and margaritas and Ruby Tuesdays served a nice dinner. Nothing out of the ordinary.

The hotel is very clean. The staff extremely friendly and helpful and we had absolutely no complaints, except it would be handy to have an ATM in the hotel as the only bank/ATM was Republic Bank in Movie Towne Shopping Center and we had a bit of a problem using our debit cards. BMO and BNS were not close by.

Trinidad is not a tourist island and some beaches are far way and not well kept. The roads are narrow and traffic is unbelievable and frightful at times. Unless you have family or friends on the island, getting around will have to be by private taxi or tours. Renting a car was definitely not on our agenda!

PLACES TO VISIT: Our family took us zip lining at Chaguaramas, then to Macqueripe Beach right next door, snacks and drinks at Crew’s Inn; drinking coconut water on the Savannah and seeing beautiful mansions, Maracas Bay with great scenery, great beach (45 – 50 minute drive), two days in Mayaro (4 hour drive) at a private cottage on the beach but strong currents and didn’t notice any life guards; dinner at Queen’s Beach Hotel (see review); 2 hour drive to San Fernando Hill (apparently there are water taxis which take you to San Fernando); The Fort @ St. George with incredible views of Port of Spain, Diego Martin and San Fernando in the distance, the ferry going to Tobago and on a clear day you can see Venezuela; National Museum & Art Gallery, Queen’s Hall; 2 hour drive to Temple in the Sea, Dattatreya Temple & Hanuman statue (85 ft tall). Unfortunately we were not able to visit neither Tobago nor the Bird Sanctuary to see the famous Scarlett Ibis.

All in all a great 10 days after a rough winter in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Mjlori,

We really do appreciate your taking the time to share on your experience in Trinidad.
Thank you for recognizing the staff of our on property taxi service as well as our Front Desk agents and restaurant attendants. They will be personally recognized for the excellent service they provided to you during your 10 day stay with us.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to Port of Spain and this time we hope that you can spend some time in our beautiful sister isle of Tobago.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Everything was great: food (available for all kinds of eaters and even vegetarian like me), facilities, view (nice panoramic view in well set rooms), beach (clean and relaxing), guidance..
Going back soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Maria I,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
312 reviews
35.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Property: Courtyard Port of Spain
Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing