We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfy rooms; EXCELLENT breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy rooms; EXCELLENT breakfast”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but my favorite part of the hotel was by far the Trinidadian breakfast. That was delicious. The restaurant overall is good; I ordered the pasta another evening and was pleased again. There is also a snack bar downstairs with snacks and beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) just in case you want to grab something light. The staff is extremely friendly and have a cab stand with cabs ready at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Alexia W,

Our kitchen team is especially pleased to have met your needs on food quality during your stay with us, your feedback will be shared with them. Our local breakfast items are a favorite with all our guests.

Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our team, they not only embody the Trini hospitality but also the Marriott culture.

We hope to have you back with us again sometime soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    293
    46
    11
    13
See reviews for
152
163
57
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed 04/22/14 - 04/26, had Paula the best room service person, the waiters at the bar were excellent, front desk always had a smile in their face. The areas were clean and quiet for the most part. Was there on business but would return for Vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Emy R,

Thank you for recognising the efforts of our team.

In 2013, Paula won the award for the most positive guest mentions among her peers. Paula will be delighted to read your comments and will be recognized for the personalized service she provided.

We look forward to having you back with us on business or for some rest and relaxation.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Formerly a front desk agent at a Westin and all I have to say is that this was by far my best hotel stay anywhere! I was in town visiting my boyfriend and originally we only booked for one night. We ended up extending for an extra night and were happy we could be accommodated with it being a holiday weekend. The staff was friendly, welcoming and very attentive to our needs. Everything we requested plates, glasses, extra towels and even a microwave was easily available to us and in a very timely manner brought to our room. The room was impeccable. Also, request a room facing the pool to void highway noise at night. With shopping, food, drinks and a movie theater walking distance (not even a 5 min walk) we definitely will be back! Thanks for the wonderful mini getaway :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia_Rivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Mia_Rivas,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we especially appreciate it coming from a former Front Desk person.

We were happy to have met your requests and provided a wonderful mini getaway for you and your boyfriend.

We cannot wait to have you back with us again, hopefully soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This has been our 3rd stay at the Marriot within the past 18 months. We keep returning because of the excellent service, friendly staff, clean rooms, great location and super value for money. We stayed for the Easter weekend with our young children and as usual they loved it. Movie Towne (a 2-minute walk away) had extra special activities for the weekend and Easter Sunday breakfast was a treat as usual........especially the hot chocolate with whipped cream and sprinkles. There was no Easter Bunny this year but the children still got their Easter treats. Loved it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Trinitraveller5,

We really do appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are happy that we are consistent in the service we have provided to you over your last three stays with us.

We feel honoured to have made your Easter holidays with your family a memorable one however, we do apologise that our Easter Bunny was not present on Sunday but unfortunately it had to be cancelled at the last moment due to unforeseen circumstances. If you can write to me at cy.poscy.guestcare@courtyard.com, I will make arrangements to make it up to your kids.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the First time I visited this hotel and it will not be the last. The staff, from reception to the crew at Centro, the service was beyond compare. I felt very comfortable and pampered. I loved it.
The quality of food at the restaurant is exceptional.
The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing! Can't wait to go back and I will definitely be recommending to my close friends and business associates.

Deedra

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Deedra M,

Thank you for your comments on the service you received as well as the quality of our food at breakfast. The Head Chef changed the menu in March 2014 after testing various items against our guest tastes/needs, he will be happy to hear your feedback.

I am happy to work with a team that commits everyday to deliver service that enables our guests time on the road to be th best.

We appreciate your confidence in our property and thank you for recommending us to your close friends and business associates.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Relaxing ,friendly staff ,great food ,clean, quiet, my family enjoyed it our second time there my daughter had a ball from the pool, to cake decorating with the chef ,to the park ,an the carusel ,fun fun fun alot of activties in an around the hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Stacey M,
Thank you for choosing us once again for your family getaway.

It was indeed our pleasure to provide your daughter with an enjoyable Easter experience. Our location continues to meet the diverse needs of our guests, with shopping, restaurants, entertainment and a cineplex all within walking distance.

I will pass on your feedback about the cake decorating class for kids, you can look out for our annual Junior Chef training that will be coming up in August, may be your daughter might be interested. Our Head Chef is a local culinary talent that continues to train and mentor other up and coming culinary talent.

We hope to have you and your family back to spend your third visit with us.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This Easter weekend was not the first time my family and I stayed at this hotel and it will not be the last. The staff: from the reception to the restaurant crew to the maids and security the service is impeccable...friendly, pleasant, helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and their breakfast menu is to die for. It's like home away from home.

Room Tip: For senior citizens a room on the ground floor near the lobby like 109, 111 is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaSRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Tessa SRM,
We are so happy to have afforded you a home away from home experience.

It is great to hear that our facilities and location catered to the needs of you and your family. We hope that you had time to enjoy our outdoor terrace area, which is especially popular with the children.

Our breakfast menu was recently changed, so we appreciate your positive comments and they will definitely be shared with our Head Chef.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
35.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Property: Courtyard Port of Spain
Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing