We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice, well located and good customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Port of Spain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, well located and good customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the courtyard for three nights. The room was very clean and well maintained. I found the service staff very pleasant, motivated and easy to approach. The hotel is very close to amenities and the grounds clean and well kept. I would definitely stay here again whether on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    267
    42
    10
    13
See reviews for
141
154
53
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 14 years wedding anniversary and our stay at the marriott was fabulous, The service was excellent and we felt at home,with the warmth and hospitality of the front desk staff. Melony at the front desk offered us a slice of cake, room service, that was so sweet. we do appreciate that. Oh! the breakfast was a belly full and delicious. It was breakfast for a king and queen. thank you so much. will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for my wedding weekend. I was pleasently suprised! The rooms were very spacious and clean. The service was great and people very friendly. I loved my stay here and would definitly return again. The bathtub was nice and big along with the bed and size of the room, I immediatly felt relaxed and at home. Two thumbs up, I will be back for sure !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed here three times, partially because we are fans of Trinidad which, unfortunately has a dearth of tourist hotels, and partially because we are fans of Marriott's loyalty program. There are no other Marriotts in Trinidad or its lovely compatriot, Tobago. That is a shame because this is a wonderful location to experience a different and exotic culture, partially African, partially Indian and quasi English to boot. But to this hotel.

It has recently had a cheerful and colorful renovation of its lobby. The rooms could use a little of that updating. The tiles in our bathroom were cracked and appeared dirty. The room, however, was large. The furnishings were the usual Courtyard--not bad, but not great. Still, quite comfortable.

Trinidadians are, on the whole, fabulous people. Add this natural tendency to Marriott training and you get truly superior service. The cocktails at the bar were most lovingly made and terrific at $8 each. Food not so good but the service element was again first rate. Reception, housekeeping, all were wonderful.

We paid about $130 a night (with a mysterious service charge added on). This was definitely a bargain. Generally, I would recommend this hotel unless, of course , Marriott decides to build a more tourist oriented hotel since this is clearly more appropriate to business travelers.

One more plug for Trinidad. This hotel is located on a highway near a large mall, but driver/guides are easily located , probably the taxi driver who takes you to the hotel. It is quite inexpensive to find someone who will charmingly show you the Caroni swamp (one of the best nature sights ever), hiking trails in the mountains, the wonderful beach at Maracas, the Asa Wright bird sanctuary, etc. So, it is not so terrible to be away from the beach or mountains--all are easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texastravveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church, Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was booked to stay at the Courtyard by my workplace for a three (3) week training stint in Trinidad. My experience was fabulous from Check In to Check Out. The young ladies at the front desk were helpful and engaging and made my stay an enormously enjoyable one. I had enquired about churches in the area and Camille called and made a contact for me. During my last week in the hotel I fell ill and again the young ladies on duty were more than helpful and sent me multiple brands of medication so that I did not have to go down to the lobby. I would definitely stay there again. The service was great, the in-house restaurant staff was also very friendly and the fact that the hotel is a short walk from a cineplex, shopping complex and restaurants didn't hurt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Dominica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here as it was our first time in Trinidad and wanted a hotel in close proximity of Port of Spain. We found this hotel to be ideally located; just about 10-15 minutes drive from Port of Spain without traffic. Furthermore, the hotel is walking distance to Movie Towne, a mall and cinema complex. This area can also be walked to during nights.

The receptionists at Marriott were very friendly and made us feel welcomed at the hotel from night one. Mention must be made of Neline/Nellina and Erchelle (My apologies if I spell the names wrongly). These two ladies always advised us on what we should do, where we should go to and gave us local advice. They always check up on us to ensure everything was okay with the room and our stay.

Also there is a Eurocar (Taxi Service) company stationed at the hotel which will take you to anywhere you want to go, once you're willing to pay the price. If you're adventurous like us, you should learn about the maxi taxis and move around like locals. It's fun and saves you a lot of money also.

In summary, the Marriott is a very clean and friendly hotel ideally suited for anyone who wants to visit Port of Spain frequently and easily. And if you're bored, there's Movie Towne located next door with the cinema and several fast foods chains, restaurants and shops.From my personal experience, I can say that you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentonHilaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not cheap, nor luxurious but cheerful and fit for purpose. Clean, very convenient, friendly and happy staff. Decent food from the one restaurant / come bar. I would opt for the extra cost and have the breakfast included in the room rate. Next to MovieTown where there a several food outlets. Its small but that's part of its charm.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#13 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
35.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Property: Courtyard Port of Spain
Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing