We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Trini to da bone"... and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gingerbread House
Ranked #8 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Three nights at Gingerbread turned to a magical three weeks. Holidaying alone I found a "home" with wonderful characters, friendly and welcoming, comfortable, secure accommodation and a spot convenient for the city, panyards , cricket ground and eating places aplenty. I can't speak highly enough of Rosemary as hostess - attentive and relaxed she helped Trini live for me even by "feeding" me books by local authors. All I can add is "....run,run, as fast as you can ......" and catch The Gingerbread House before all the rooms are booked!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for The Gingerbread House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

After staying at The Hilton for a few nights we were looking for something different and we found it at The Gingerbread House. Beautiful room with high ceilings, air conditioning, fridge, wifi and a sparkling bathroom with high spec fittings. The garden deck area with the plunge pool is lovely after a day out in Port of Spain.

Close to Ariapita Avenue which is safe to walk around and has various restaurants. Secure parking for our hire car, and Rosemary, who is helpful, friendly and polite. She does not intrude on your stay there, but is somehow always available when you want to ask her something.

If I go back to Port of Spain again, I will always choose to stay here over any of the big hotels.

Room Tip: We didn't look at the new rooms at the back, but it did look like it would be quieter staying th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Panther, the driver picked me up at POS airport. His professional friendly personality made me comfortable. On arrival Rosemary greeted me and took me to a beautiful apartment looking site close to the pool. This is the beginning. Rosemary is gracious and always available. I enjoyed the jets in the pool, the patio, socialized with other guests, played with the family dog, Ollie. Also, Rosemary was instrumental in arranging for my ferry trip and hotel accommodation to Tobago. This, beautiful historic home has a family environment and highly recommended for cleanliness, a garden of beautiful flowers, birds and a friendly groundskeeper with parking and security. I highly recommend The Gingerbread House for singles, couples as it is respectable, affordable and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are 2 places of accommodation. I was close to the pool in a modern air conditioned house with...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 561Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This extremely comfortable Guest House is a true "find" and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a central location, a respectful and accommodating staff, lovely rooms with A/C and extremely well appointed facilities. The garden,poolside and terrace are all well maintained and provide respite from the hustle & bustle of nearby Ariapita Avenue where you can find numerous restaurants & clubs. Rosy is the ultimate hostess who cares for her guests and makes everyone feel at home.
Make your next stay in POS the Gingerbread House - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avrelcfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Rosie and Bernard host a lovely 3-bedroom restored house in Port of Spain. The location is 1 1/2 blocks from Ariapita Avenue which is teeming with good restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned - a pleasant place to return after sightseeing. Rosie is an accommodating and nice person. The price is right and the value excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a long flight, it was so comforting to arrive at the Gingerbread House and be welcomed by Rosy, the owner! She was very accommodating and extremely helpful with our many Trinidad inquiries!
I loved the combination of the restored Carib house and the lovely contemporary bathrooms. The back garden area and deck are a delightful place to relax and plan your travels.
Definitely, a place to stay while in Port of Spain!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Beautifully restored house in Woodbrook area of Trinidad's largest city, with an architect designed addition that includes a private deck and garden pool. Five minutes by car from the Port of Spain where you can take a fast ferry to Tobago. 1 block from Arapita Street which is stuffed with restaurants and clubs. We had an unexpected change in plans, and Rosie accommodated us for an extra night. over all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden room is wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atbowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 22 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gingerbread House

Address: Carlos Street 8 | Woodbrook, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: $71 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinidad Gingerbread House offers four double air conditioned rooms each with private ensuite bathrooms and free WIFI, cable tv, in-room safe, hair dryer, overhead fan. Three rooms have their own private entrances. Two rooms have access to an ensuite kitchenette. We also have a 2-room/2 bathroom apartment which sleeps 4 with a sofa bed for a 5th guest and these two rooms are joined by a private kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, electric kettle, toaster oven, cutlery and crockery. There is off-street gated parking for one car with additional parking on the street. Common areas include a splash pool, pool deck and patio.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gingerbread House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gingerbread House Hotel Port Of Spain
The Gingerbread House Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing