We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chancellor Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location to Chancellor is fantastic to overall access to Port of Spain. Plus you can walk to the Botantical Gardens for a relaxing stroll. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were well equipped and clean. We will definitely stay here again. I loved the quaint courtyard.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Hi
Did you know that the hotel has thirteen varieties of palm trees in that average. The seedlings of three Royal palms imported from India for the Botanical Gardens were precariously placed around the property which the builders had to modify the architecture to accommodate.stages. Just thought i would share this information with you. We are currently replanting with buttercup flowers around the poolside which should make the space even cozier. Hope to see you the next time you visit.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 54 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is is our second time at The Chancellor Hotel...Both times we have had wonderful experiences...rooms clean and well equipped...friendly helpful staff...parking always available. ..superb location...very peaceful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a journalist for various travel magazines and would never ever recommend this hotel. The rooms were smelly, food was horrible and the service unethical. They are thief's and charged me for extra room nights and never reimbursed me. Do not stay here, EVER

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank viajera54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Our hotel policy is quite clear which you have disregarded. All documentation has been submitted to your bank which have been approved. Your writing is malicious and deceitful which i have asked trip adviser to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay for 4 nights during the Carnival festivial in this wonderfully located hotel.
The staff were friendly and we had easy access to the Carnival festivities
We had a lovely bedrooms.
Our room was always clean.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sh_ayala_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi
How have you been . We missed you this Carnival 2014 ! Thank you for staying with us and be safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wow! Double wow, this is unbelievable but not sure who is responsible. This has to be taken as a signal of trickery and you can imagine what next .
Let me get to the point, the picture of the hotel is false, that is the official residence of the Archbishop of Port-of -Spain located around the savannah and one of the Magnificent Seven buildings located there. Can someone apologise after this revelation. Maybe confess to Archbishop, place an advertise apologising , the owners have been revealed in this SCAM

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 22Truthseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi
Thank you for sending this review. This picture that you have seen is not one that we have placed online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Pro:
If u looking for the simplest of places, somewhere just to rest you head while you take in the city of port of spain, its here. if you have access to transport, here's a great location.
Clean, simple room. Decor minimal.
theres a closet, with a iron and ironing board,and hangers
Balconey view of the northern range somewhat enjoyable
Simple continental breakfast, we got juice and coffee/tea, eggs, toast with butter or jam. Courteous waitress.
Free ice, free parking.
Reasonable price.
Cable tv.

Cons:
Room was small, and the bathroom was unnecessarily large.
One window facing the courtyard.
No mini fridge in our room
You can sometimes here the tv from the other room.
Hot water didnt always come through the shower.
Pool not usable at that time. the head of staff said they added a chemical to the water,which turned it green. he said it needed to get blue again, which it never did.
Impersonal staff, which could be a pro if you want to be left alone.
Metal frame bed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinra_Tensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Hi

Thanks for your comment which i have reviewed with my operations manager. I have had some issues with my pool , as you may have realised but it was unfortunate that it happened during your stay. I do want to say however that our rooms were remodelled from apartments where some of our great artists once resided. I agree with you that our metal beds need to go, in terms of in keeping with the modern look. However, our product is local and all our furniture and fixtures are manufactured locally. The room you were in was a basic standard room , which does not carry a refrigerator , tea stations or wash cloths. With that being said i would ensure that my staff informs all guests at check in in terms of the room facility.

Thanks , always wonderful for people to share their experiences and for us to tweet our offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

i stayed at The Chancellor Hotel for two months last year Dec 2011- Jan 2012. i enjoyed the ambiance, and would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you on a budget stay.

There menu was quite intriguing with both local and International dishes.

Staff members made me feel like home.

Room Tip: higher floors have lessa A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipsideofacoin, General Manager at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Mr Sammy

Thank you for your response. Let us know how best we can be of service to you in the future.

Thanks
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: Saint Ann's Avenue 5a | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $112 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel Port Of Spain
The Chancellor Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing