We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent on all levels”

Hakka Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #12 of 166 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent on all levels”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

being in the hospitality industry i just had to write my review. went to HAKKA on Nov 26th and it was an absolutely memorable night. we needed help ordering and our server - Hosea - was just great with his recommendation. the food was delicious and came very quickly. our server was extremely courteous and very knowledgeable. the ambiance was serene and cozy and very clean. HAKKA is my new favorite place to dine. Hats off to the Manager who also was on the floor ensuring guest were happy. great job guys...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ameena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    104
    40
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the Hakka that you may find abroad but still good”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I find the this restaurant used to be better when they recently opened. Service depends on the server you get. Some are really efficient but some are just typical Trini restaurant workers. I find recently, that portion sizes have decreased and food has become more greasy and gravy very thick. My favourite dish is the Star spiced pork. The sad thing is that most times it is unavailable. I dont pork is scarce!. I believe management needs to revamp the dessert section as it is just plain stuff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markphillip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wide selection on their menu”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Hakka once and I felt so comfortable that I didn't want to leave. The ambiance is fabulous and I enjoyed a very good meal. The decor is accommodative to private dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamingtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“still unsure”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

this is several times that i have gone to hakka, on business, on personal time etc. the food is good but there is something about the layout and the area is always loud and cold because of the open plan. Am i willing to keep going perhaps.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times in the past but to be honest we had stopped going because of poor service and the food took too long to arrive.

My 15 year old son chose to have his birthday dinner at Hakka restaurant. Lisa, our server made excellent recommendations on menu selection as my husband and I prefer spicy food, our teenager medium and our 10 year old, no spices whatsoever.

If it was not for our son's request to have his birthday dinner there we may not have gone back. Glad to see that there were numerous improvements in the level of service and the quality of food prepared.Our meal lived up to all of our expectations and the service was excellent.

We will definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakka Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Hakka Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing