We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Weekend 2013”

Hakka Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #11 of 160 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Claxton Bay, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Weekend 2013”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A friend was kind enough to invite me to this restaurant. Although we arrived quite late (10.45 pm), we were given excellent service and the server was quite a charming chap, merging professionalism with good Trini humour. The food was quite superb and the kitchen was able to make some changes as we requested. Dinner for 3 with drinks and a LOT of food was about US $50 a person. Definitely a place I will return to when next I visit Trinidad!!!!!
Cuisine is Asian. Can be spicy, but the servings are ample. After the soup I was quite filled, but still squeezed in the rest of the main courses

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    102
    39
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot ...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent choice for a dining out with family. The menu is large and the drinks are ok. Better care full if you can't eat spicy foods, a lot of the dishes are quiet spicy. The staff is friendly but not prompt enough especially if the place is crowded which is the case during official holidays. We also been rushed out right after we finished eating without even having time for a last drink or coffee !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hakka is my go to restaurant for date night or a lime with my friends. We all love the food and the ambience. Some of the food can be a bit spicy though, so ask before you order.

Service can take some time however if its a crowded night, and it usually is full. Its always a good idea to make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Came here on a Saturday night with no reservations and had a great time. The decor and out door seating was great. Food was EXCELLENT and the prices were even better. The birthday dessert was delicious. Will def return!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arima, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb Flavor and Decor”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I absoultely loved the decor. Food was delicious also. I would go there again. Good place for a Dinner Date

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakka Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Hakka Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing