We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, expensive rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible service, expensive rooms.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The service was extremely slow and rude. We felt very unwelcome. The floor we were on was damp and smelt like mildew. Waited over an hour for an extra blanket only to be told they didn't have any. Waited 30 min to get into the dining area for breakfast, in which case we had to rush to eat as they started packing up the buffet.
Pool area was nice for lounging, but pool was dirty.

Definitely would not stay here again for the cost.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the lower the floor level (it's build on a hill and rooms go down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodEater123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please contact me at leroy.browne@hilton.com to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    600
    334
    161
    125
See reviews for
289
387
117
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port fo Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We only stayed one night at the Hilton since our son was graduating and the dance was held at the hotel. We checked in a little after 3pm which is standard time for most hotels, only to be told that our room was not ready and could not say when it would be ready. When I asked to be put in another room while ours was cleaning, since we were pressed for time, we were then told ok the room is ready. Other than that there was no interaction with any other member of staff We had to find our room ourselves which was confusing since this hotel is numbered upside down....I would not stay here again. The rooms were badly in need of an upgrade and very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your response. Please contact me at your convenience at leroy.browne@hilton.com to discuss this in more detail. Please accept my appologies for any inconvenience experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Martin, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

It is the most hospitable hotel and I feel at home. The staff made my staff a great experience, home away from home. My breakfast and in house dinning left me totally satisfied, the quality of the food and the presentation was great. I was able to rest comfortably in the quiet dreamy room. My check-in experience was simple and very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

For the double holiday long weekend, I stayed here for some well deserved RnR.
The location was excellent. Very close to my liming/hang out spots on Ariapita Avenue. And in the morning went for an early morning jog around the QPS to be treated to an excellent buffet breakfast. My short stay prompted me to work harder and I anxiously look forward to my next Staycation

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Alta, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Good service but rates are too high andHilton Honors does not add your stays or nights if you purchase the service from other that is not Hilton. This is very bad. If Hilton does not honor this you try other chains that are as good or better than Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. I would be happy to exlain the Hilton Honors program to you in more detail if that is helpful. Please contact me at leroy.browne@hilton.com at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

For the past couple of years my wife and I spent our wedding anniversaries at the Hilton Trinidad , and we will continue to spent it there because of the excellent service and all round beauty of the surroundings. The rooms are very clean and the staff very courteous. There is not another hotel that offers a buffet breakfast like the Hilton, it's delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TrinidadBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
You are absolutely correct! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Typical check-in run of the mill type of thing. Buffet breakfast, buffet lunch, a-la-cart menu. Breakfast both continental and local - love local food. Lots of walking to do which is good but some days are bad for me so it was exhausting. Handicap parking should be made available at a closer distance.

Friendly staff. In-room dining, not enough menu options. Facilities are good. Business centre is actually the lobby at the moment, not very private.

At least the suite was available at this hotel. Very lovely. When we first checked in, there was a dead bird on the balcony and my husband was going to move it but I asked him to wait and ask them to have it moved just to see how long it took. Well nobody ever came so when we were going out we went to the front desk and nicely asked them to have it removed. It was removed but the balcony wasn't mopped or cleaned and you could see remnants of the bird so maybe I should have just let my husband move it because it made no difference really. Anyway that was nature so nothing to worry about.

Some maintenance work going on so if you are on Floor 8, the elevator belts squeak a lot, a bit of a scary sound but works nonetheless. The attendant at the drop off point while I was there was very kind and helpful, wish I took his name because the others were not. The hotel is majestic as always and I always like the 'upside down' feature of it i.e. the floors go down instead of up. Lovely greenery, majestic trees. Overall a good buy, not too many locals which is good for those "trinis" interested.

Always like the Hilton chain of hotels worldwide so I might be biased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you. Appologies for your experience with the removal of the bird but I am happy you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. 1B | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing