We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was uneasy based on the reviews and the pictures but found this place perfect. It has a prefect location in POS for business and fun. Staff friendly and helpful. Plus, to me the sign of a great hotel is when you meet good people, which I did as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you and hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

I must have stayed at this hotel 8-10 times. Last time, about 2 years ago.What a difference! I was assigned an "Executive" Room on the 9th floor. If you know this hotel, the higher the floor, the lower the room. It was at the bottom of the hotel, no view, nothing!
The room was incredibly damp and the housekeeper forgot to dry the bathroom floor resulting in 2 pair of wet socks and a messy bathroom.
The internet was down during my whole stay which is absolutely unacceptable for a world-class hotel in this day and age.
The Executive lounge was a total afterthought... A cramped room, without a view in a corner of the hotel... Although the service was nice... Still no internet there

I was very disappointed at this, since I am a HHonors Gold member and I don't think my room was an upgrade from what I had paid for.

After my stay, I discovered that there's a new manager in charge and it seems like things are not going well. Sadly, I am running out of options on places to stay in POS. The Marriott is horrible and overpriced...And they Hyatt is expensive but awesome... Wish somebody other than Hyatt would manage it.

Room Tip: Get a low floor... Which will mean a higher, less damp room and the possibility of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranger22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We did experience wifi outages during your stay due to a cable break in the area, which impacted all businesses in the area. We are dissapointed that your stay was not pleasant and will continue to work with our team to effect improvements. Hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Hallways have torn wallpaper, carpet not vacuumed well. Dust& crumbs in corners of doorways. Walls need to be refreshed w/ paint.

Service at front desk good & very accomodating. very helpful & patient in explaining the money conversion.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you and our sincere appologies for your experience. We will continue to work on improving the overall experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Located centrally in Port of Spain, the Hilton is my perfect spot for my Carnival excursions. It's a short trip from there to almost every party of note, to the various Mas Camps to collect your costume, to roam the Savannah, and to get to see the Road Marches. The accommodations are nice enough, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you and yes, we are the official home of carnival! The only place to be...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very nice hotel. Lovely veranda w/city, ocean and mountain views. Each room has its own balcony, a nice touch. Staff is very helpful and friendly. William at the front desk went out of his way to be of service. Rooms are updated, with nice furniture. Bathrooms must have been renovated recently as they have European-style shower enclosure and the grout is very clean (something that we look at as a standard for facilities). Only had the breakfast buffet, and it was very good, with local Trini items. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, just off Queen's Park Savannah. We could easily drive to the Breakfast Shed or the road to Maracas. Easy walk to the Royal Botanical Gardens (free, by the way). Parking at the hotel is free, too. Negative: charge for Wi-Fi. But the Business Center is free. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank bcbsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you and hope to have you back on our balconies soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent a couple days at hilton trinidad with my husband and 8 month daughter and it was amazing. Friendly staff, great food, excellent service. Would definately return. Did not venture to the swimming pool it started at 2 feet and end at 16 feet, that was a bit dangerous for me. Beautiful scenery overlooking port of spain. Beautiful sunset from the balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trini-karri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are certainly ready to welcome you back! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I live in Trinidad and use the Hilton as a weekend get-away for my family. The rooms are all renovated now and they are spacious and well decorated. I love having the balcony which offers beautiful views of Port-of-Spain. The breakfast is top class and the service in all restaurants is good, although the food through room service and at the pool restaurant needs some improvement.

My advice though is to choose a weekend when nothing is happening in Trinidad if you would like to improve your 'staycation' experience. Just went for Independence Weekend and the hotel was booked so the pool was overcrowded and we were relocated from the Dining Room for breakfast which wasn't the same.

Overall though, a good choice if you want to stay in Trinidad and yet feel like you are on a mini vacation.

Room Tip: Room that are on the hotel wing accessed across the glass walkway are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristineInTrinbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks for your response. We are very popular on weekends and quite busy during special holidays. The good news is we are available year round for a relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
327 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre

Address: Lady Young Road | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port of Spain
#2 Business Hotel in Port of Spain
Price Range: $148 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing