We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“social event/ night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
A TripAdvisor Member
“social event/ night stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very impressed with the hotel's facilities, very clean and comfortable rooms with adequate amenities. Excellent food and very wide variety of healthy and gourmet dishes. Very sociable, pleasant and effective staff response especially the assistant manager of co-ordinating events who helped me organize my entire event without any delays, she went above and beyond to meet my requests and I was very satisfied. I was extremely happy with the event and my stay was very enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    619
    350
    169
    130
See reviews for
303
403
126
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were going through hell with our flight and the airline we booked through. The staff was compassionate and empathized with us. They were helpful in giving directions by drawing it out on the map as well as local recommendations for food and shopping. What I loved was I wasn't a member of their elite group, but they treated me as if I were. Natalie Walker, thank you so much for your time and kindness. It was greatly appreciated

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Youshika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for your review and it was our pleasure to assist in any way you needed. We are happy that we were able to make your stay comfortable and as less hassle as possible. Natalie is a Gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I decided to stay at the Hilton for one night to celebrate my birthday and I didn't regret a minute of it. Compared to other hotels I had frequented, the package with breakfast was around the same price. I had made special request for a room with a great view of the city and I also told them that I would be staying for my birthday, but wasn't given any special tokens of remembrance, even though I was made to think so and I was a bit disappointed. But, I must say that the little interaction we had with the front desk staff was very pleasant.

The room we were assigned (Room 160) was a bit far from the main building but the views walking through the connecting passageway was breathtaking. First thing we noticed was that the lobby level is on the third floor and we were assigned a room on the first floor which is the highest floor in the hotel (a first for us). Anyway, the corridor was clean and there was no unpleasant smell at all (unlike some reviews I read). Upon entering the room, we were taken aback how exquisite the entire room was, even if it was a standard room! There was a King sized bed, that looked more like a Queen size, a mini fridge, an iron and board, a large flat screen television, a desk for business minded guests, complimentary coffee and tea and a mini coffee maker. We were impressed with the beautiful furniture and especially with the numerous lights around the room. There's even one in the headboard! The room was just cozy and comfortable with a splash of exquisiteness. The bathroom area was clean and roomy and it offered various but limited toiletries. The balcony provided a view of the St. Anns hills.

We didn't have dinner at the Hotel as we had a late lunch in addition to lots of leftovers but we decided to have drinks at the poolside bar which closes at 12:30 a.m. (The lobby Bar was under repairs). The staff was really pleasant and the cocktails were great. it wasn't until after a few drinks that we decided to have dinner but apparently, it was too late, the kitchen had already closed (that was around 10:30 p.m.) The surrounding area is very beautiful at night but I think some more coloured lights should be placed around the pool area and the garden behind it to really bring out its beauty.

The walk back to the Room was really enchanting as the open air area after the Lobby Bar provided a gorgeous view of the city and its surroundings. We didn't want to waste the view, so I hurried back to our room to get drinks we brought. The great thing is that if you bring your own drinks is that there's an Ice machine on each floor.

Breakfast is served from around 7:00 a.m. till around 10:30 a.m. Like Lunch and Dinner, it is served at the La Boucan Restaurant, on the ninth floor. There were local dishes such as bhaigan (melongene or eggplant ), tomatoes and pumpkin chokas with roti, coconut bake and smoked herring, American styled breakfast favourites such as omelettes, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and an assortment of fruits and veggies, cereals and yoghurts. There were also desserts such as cinnamon pecan buns and various breads and pastries. For me, it was value for money and more.

The pool was actually a bit small but very deep ranging from about three and a half feet to around sixteen feet. It definitely needs an upgrade though, and the cleaning crew should pay attention to cleaning the area where the jets and the run off are.

Just a quick tip - pack everything you need to stay at the hotel because the prices for everyday items are exorbitant in the shops at the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and appologies for missing the opportunity to recognise your special day. Your comments are very productive and will be used to improve the overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hilton Trinidad is a very relaxing place to go on vacation. Its location is ideal since you are actually in the capital city but yet nestled away on the mountain. The view of the city from the terrace is amazing at night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone you is travelling on business or just taking a relaxing vacation with the family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment and we are pleased you had a great stay with us. We enjoyed looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The first thing that hit me when I entered the room was the potent musty smell of damp. It transpired all the rooms came with the same smell. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful; others not so. It was a typical Hilton experience; Average...neither unforgettable, nor worthy of remembering. It was a lot better than staying at a local bed and breakfast. The Hilton is NOT the best hotel on the Island. I found a dead fly on the floor in my room upon arrival. The internet access was very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and my appologies that your experience was dissapointing. Please concact me at your convenience to discuss your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A few friends decided to celebrate their birthdays together at Hilton Trinidad. We had two rooms book for the weekend, and had the most exceptional service. At check in they realised that it was our birthdays, and had cakes decorated and delivered to our rooms...this was well appreciated and very thoughtful. We went down to lime at the bar, and when we got our first round of drinks and did a toast, the bartender realised what we were celebrating and made a set of custom shots for us, which were absolutely lovely! Thank you Martin!! For dinner, we got cake slices with candles on it as well as the staff singing to us. The food was good, the company was great, and the service was impeccably. Hilton really created customer delight this weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattee_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and congratulations. We are pleased you chose to celebrate with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times for business and have seen many changes over the years. The latest is to close the lobby bar leaving only the smoking pool bar with a terrible choice of music. WHY??? One thing that has not changed is the evening buffet - recommend you eat elsewhere. However staff are always friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. One negative is each room gets one small bottle of water for the entire stay which is different from every other international hotel I have stayed at.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. During your stay with us we had to perform some emergency repairs to our lobby bar. This is now completed and the bar is fully functional. Looking forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
311 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. 1B | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing