We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice custom built hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice custom built hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is on the side of big hill overlooking the city. It is very close to anything in the city. The staff is very helpful and nice. The food is pretty good but a little pricey. Nice pool are. The hotel is a little out of date in some areas but it looks like they are continuing to improve on it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Justin Texan,
It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    539
    288
    145
    106
See reviews for
254
339
103
611
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I first visited this hotel in 2010 and again in 2012 and both times I had an exiciting time. This hotel is known as the Upside down hotel because you walk into the loby and then go down to the hotel rooms as opposed to going up. This I found to be quite fascinating. Also, the room was quite cozy and the complimentary drinks we found on the beds added to us having a sizzling first night.The pool there is also great and the food is awesome. Overall I can definitely say that my stay at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre was enjoyable and definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Any room is great Its who your with thats important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionneolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Dionneolivia:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel !!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed both stays at one of the few upside down hotels with rooms and suites terraced down the side of the hill and the lobby at the highest point. Thank you also for your positive comments on room and food quality as well as on our pool area.

We look forward to have you back with us for your next visit to Trinidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very clean, safe and nice place to stay! Great gym, beautiful pool and clean facilities. It is farther away from things- but overall is really a great stay! The food here is a little pricey but you can order food in from Dominos, KFC and Pollo Tropical!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MelissaMuirhead:

Thank for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor!

We are happy to learn that you liked and enjoyed our facilites, especially our gym, pool and overall service, cleanliness and safety.

We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Port of Spain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hiton at Port of Spain is a like a resort. Close to the central park and on top of the hill. The reception is on the top floor and the vehicles go up all the way there. The rooms are actually below the level of the reception. Below reception is the lobby and then the restaurant, after that then the rooms are constructed. The rooms are really nice with twin beds and having a good balcony to view the traffic below. the sea is visible clearly. The restaurant is quiet spacious and can accomodate a large number of people.Hotel is located about 1hours drive from the airport.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sunny 04_11 from Bombay:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us!!

We are very glad to know that we met your expectations regarding our location, rooms and cleanliness and you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward for your continued preference next time you visit Port of Spain !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My daughter, husband and I attended 2011 ole years night party at the Hilton Poolside.
It was a wonderful experience, the music was great, the food was excellent. The hotel is very well kept and the staff at the hotel always willing and ready to help you. The location is also very centrally located near to the Savannah and downtown Port of Spain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyesTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear angeleyes Trinidad:

Thank you for sharing your experience and positive comments with us in Tripadvisor, especially our great location, maintenance of the property and the service from our team.

We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and party for Old Years Night.

We look forward to be your preferred option again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay this past week at the Hilton Trinidad. I'm a HHonors Diamond VIP. The benefits were excellent. The rooms were nice, the fitness center is top notch, and the Executive lounge is one of the best I have been to. The staff at the lounge and the fitness center did a great job. However, housekeeping was very disappointing. Very slow, forgetting to leave coffee, wash clothes, towels was a daily nuisance. When we called to get these needed items I had to call at least twice to get the items. The pool bar staff on Saturday were pathetic. When my wife and I sat down to order some food, the staff acted like we were bothering them. One lady never got out of her chair the whole time we were there. Our food came out of the kitchen and sat on the pickup shelf for about ten minutes. Finally we asked the waitress if she could bring our food before it became cold. She muttered something under her breath and shoved the plates in front of us. People like this can ruin the reputation of this fine hotel. The general attitude of the pool staff and housekeeping is terrible. Saturday I called the front desk and asked for the manager because I wanted to speak to him/her about this. The person at the front desk said “I will have the manager call you”. No phone call was received. Improvements are needed in some departments, but the others are top notch. Will we stay here again. You bet. The good things outweigh the bad things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear youcan2:

We really thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding service at our Executive Lounge. We are sorry to learn that we did not offer the expected service from our housekeeping, pool area team as well as the follow up from our front desk team.

Your valued feedback is the opportunity for us to correct and improve and offer the service we strive for at Hilton.

We look forward to having your preference next time you visit Trinidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
642 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel sits on the side of a hill/small mountain with a view over Port of Spain...if you can find the view. The 9th floor is on the bottom and the 1st floor is at the top. It seems as if every time you wish to go somewhere in the hotel, it requires two elevators and a long walk. The overall feel is tired. Our room was so humid even with the A/C on that we had little puddles on the floor and the sheets on the bed felt almost damp. The prices for food and drink, expecially breakfast were a bit over the top. Plus, the food didn't look very good. And, a beer that cost $2 outside the hotel shouldn't cost that much inside. The staff was mixed, some anxious to help, while others seemed disinterested.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms at the bottom (9th floor) of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Skyhoosier from Naples:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and recommendations with us.

We are sorry to know that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory as we strive to not only meet but exceed our guests expectations with an excellent product and services. We really appreciate your feedback as it will definitely help us to identify improvement opportunities.

We hope to have the opportunity to offer our services next time you visit Trinidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#12 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing