We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going back for seconds at the hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed June 23, 2012

hi im back to write some info on the hilton .as regular readers no i have stayed in the hilton and there was good and bad im getting ready to book my flight again for trini next yearfor carnival. what i did find intersting after carnival is the hotel rooms are lovely very comfortable . but what was aslo interesting was the night time looking out on the balcony overlooking the city on your last night with a nice drink . that is a amazing feeling that makes you love trinidad and makes you want to come back agian. i hopefully intend to stay there again at the hilton on my last day.

Room Tip: call in advance and offer a tip. just joking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxx333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest from London:

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the comfort of our beds and the view from our balconies and terraces. Thank you for your positive comments and for coming back with this second review. We really hope you can come and enjoy Carnival activities with us next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Poor service with some exceptions (some of to the staff was very nice and accommodating others were very rude), the food was extremely expensive for the quality (US$ 8.00 for a small vegetable soup, US$52 for a lunch or dinner buffet). I don't mind staying at modest hotel (with rates accordingly) or pay for luxury if the hotel delivers quality services and amenities, but to pay top dollar for a mediocre place at best is not right.

When I checked out, the lady at the reception desk who printed my receipt said curtly "I'm out of paper" (not even looking at me) and gave me a printout with information from other guests in the back. I support recycling paper, I always reuse paper in my office when appropriate but in a hotel, when you request a receipt that you are going to turn in to your employer for reimbursement, there should be no other information in there but your own. Plus it does not provide much privacy for the people whose information I have printed on the back...

The carpet in our room had some dirt in a corner (I mean big clumps) from a previous guest that we wanted removed and we asked nicely to have the carpet vacuumed (we only needed it vacuumed once) and it never got done. We reminded them (nicely) everyday to no avail. The shower in our bathroom dripped non-stop (and quite a bit not just a few drops, it was more like an open faucet) and that never got solved either. The room smelled very moldy. Also, another guest from our group got detained by security for two hours when the hotel changed his room (at his request) but reception did not received notification. He didn't even get an apology. I could go on.

BTW, this is the first time I have written a negative comment for a hotel. I am not a compulsive complainer, nor do I like to spread bad energy needlessly. Every year, I attend several conferences or meetings held at hotels and this is the worst I have seen. Maybe I have been lucky until this experience, but I do think this place is exceptionally bad. I have been at other Hiltons before and they are not like this one.

I must say that the beds were very comfortable and it was quiet. The breakfast buffet (included in our rate) was very good. The hotel is located up in a hill away from city center, restaurants and shops, so keep that in mind if you want to be near to where things are happening.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patri_traveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest from Providence:

We really thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay giving us the opportunty to improve the quality and value of our services. Please accept our apologies as we did not meet your expectations. Your observations have been reviewed with Management team and immediate actions have been taken in Front Desk, Housekeeping and Food and Beverage areas.

Looking forward to be honored again with your preference next time you visit Trinidad to offer you better facilities and a enjoyable and pleasant stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just returned from a conference here. No other restaurants nearby so you are forced to eat here. The luncheon buffet is $50 & is mediocre. You can't order anything else. We had a group of 10 for a working lunch and asked in advance what would be the quickest item on the a la carte menu. We were told that only the club sandwich was quick - anything else was at least a 30 minute wait. We ordered 10 club sandwiches. An hour later after 3 inquiries about why it was taking so long the food manager came out and YELLED at us, saying "all these sandwiches must be made on spot. What do you expect? It takes time. This is why we have the buffet. Why do you not get the buffet?" He actually kicked the chair in front of him in rage. They brought food after an hour and twenty minutes. We had to bolt it down before going back to meetings. It's just a scam to try to force everyone to pay $50 for a bad buffet. We went without lunch for the rest of the week in order to avoid the hassle and hostility.

Everything here is painfully slow and frustrating and costly. I was awakened at 2 AM with noxious fumes coming into my room and told that nothing could be done until the housekeeping staff arrived at 8 to change the room. Phone lines to the front desk are busy 100% of the time even though staff are not on the phone. The rugs in 8th floor rooms are literally wet the place is so damp. Several people were sick from the mildewed air.

If I were not at a conference, I would have left after the first day. Spare yourself the bad experience.

Room Tip: See the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Psstoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear rachebarlow

We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory as everyday we strive for exceeding our guests expectations. .Kindly contact me to discuss further; we appreciate all your comments as this is valuable feedback that will help us to take accions to offer better service and facilities. Telephone number 1868 6243211 / somalia.amaya@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Whilst superbly located, my weekend stay was a bit disappointing. The hotel's location provides breathtaking views of the city of Port of Spain, and nestled into the St. Ann's area, has the benefit of beautiful foliage.
I found wait staff comments to be short, abrupt and less than courteous. Better communication about reservations, wait times etc. would certainly help in providing better service.
Whilst parts of the property was recently renovated, I did find 1 dead roach, as well as another insect in the bathroom. I was really disappointed that the soft touches that make a stay positive and memorable were missing.
Restaurant dining options should also be improved and become more inclusive of vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Kavita D

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience and your very positive comments about hotel perfect location.

We apologize for service not being up to standard and your expectations not being met. We really appreciate your detailed feedback as they will definitely allow us to take necessary corrective actions on mentioned areas and avoid reocurrence in future.

We hope to have another opportunity to offer you a pleasant memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here for my first trip to Carnival, and I will stay here again next year. The room was paid for upfront due to the special event, so I was only responsible for extra charges.

Our 2 double bed room was in the older side of the hotel but the room was still nice. The bedding was nice and I thought that the bathroom was very nice. There si a flat screen TV and a min fridge. Overall the room was a little small, but we were only in the room to sleep. Truly how much sleeping do you do at Carnival time anyway.

The lobby bar was nice and the drinks were affordable. We also ate at the hotel and the food was good. One evening there was a chef making sushi in the lobby and it only cost $20 US which is a great price.

The fitness center was very nice, although I did not use it during the trip. There is also a pool with lounge chairs and poolside service. I didn't feel that the pool looked that inviting, but there were a couple of people that seemed to enjoy it.

If you are going for Carnival this hotel is in a great location as it across the street from the Savannah and the festivities. We walked to the Savannah everyday and got in great exercise climbing the hill every night. As you know the hotel is atop a hill and the hill is steep.

The service at times seemed slow, perhaps this was due to the hotel being full. However, it wasn't so slow that I felt the need to complain about it. The people who did service me were very nice and polite, and I am appreciative of this.

Also if you are interested in playing mas with Spice, you should know that Spice distributes its costumes at the Hilton. This is a huge convenience and allowed us to go downstairs pick up our costumes, and then take them to our room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSTDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Ms DSTDiva from Chicago:

Thank you very much for your very detailed and positive review. and also for having chosen us for your stay in Trinidad. We are truly happy we met your expectations and you enjoyed all services and facilities during your stay with us; the comfort of your room and amenities, our bar and definitely the convenient location very close to the Savannah Park and all Carnival festivities.

We look forward to having you and your family and friends with us for your next visit !!

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Firstly let me highlight the good:
Got a renovated room for which I was grateful
Quick check in
Grilled Tilapia (fish) I had for dinner was great
Tranquil environment away from the hustle and bustle

The bad:
Firstly, I am a club hotel member and it was my first time using any of the benefit coupons I received after I paid the yearly membership fee of $1200 and I was appalled to know that I had to pay US$189 plus taxes to utilize the coupon for pay for one night and get one free. Now this rate is higher than the local resident rate and also does not include breakfast.

While having dinner on Sat night I bit on a stone in my mash potatoes which was heard by our waitress Elizabeth. She took same in a napkin to the kitchen and asked them to replace my mash potatoes as she was ending her shift. I paid for the dinner nevertheless and didn't seek to complain further as the waitress was so very pleasant and went beyond to ensure we were well while dining.

Lastly, I was appalled to see Hilton charge $2000 to my credit card. This was a separate charge from accommodation. After inquiring and being rudely transferred by their telephone operator and not getting thru to their Accounts personnel who I told would assist me in clarifying same. ( I would not divulge her name). After many phone calls I eventually got through to her and she admitted it was charged in error and asked me to send an email to her highlighting my situation and proof of the charges. This I did promptly after our phone conversation. Also, note that this extra charge, resulted in my credit card being over limit and my cc company charging a fee of US$10.00. I received no follow-up phone call after the email despite the error caused by Hilton Trinidad. My only compensation was the debit of the money back on my cc card without any follow-up phone and this happened a few days later. Hilton I was sorely disappointed since for the few days my card was over-limit I was unable to utilize to do any further personal business.

Too many upsets in one weekend......:(

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nmvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest from Point Fortin:

We thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us; we really appreciate it as you give us the opportunity to take measures and improve our services and facilities. We are glad you are a member of Hilton Premium Club with benefits of special discounts and certificates.

Hotel might have different packages and offers with different valid dates, terms and conditions. Local residents rate has some restrictions and cost for a weekend stay starts at US$ 278, including breakfast. we will gladly confirm this special package if it is more convenient for your weekend stays and is available on your desired dates.

We are sorry to learn that your experience at the restaurant was not good and that erroneous charge was not handled in a timely manner from our staff resulting also in inconveniences using your credit card. Actions have been taken to avoid the repetition of situations like this.

We hope we can have the opportunity to offer our services again and offer an enjoyable experience.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here a total of 3 times over the last year, for both business and pleasure. The hotel is ideally situated - close to Port of Spain yet far enough to be away from the hassle and bustle. The hotel is clean and generally well kept. There is a good selection of food from the restaurants and excellent drinks in the bar. The lobby and upper deck are excellent places to relax read a book or just have a drink. The rooms themselves are excellent. With most being renovated over the last year you get real value for your money. Beds are soft and comfortable, bathrooms large enough and there is a wonderful comfortable recliner to laze about in a writing desk with internet access ports if you need to use it.

The pool area hosts a wonderful party on Saturdays where there is music, drink and most guest relax and interact. Unfortunately I have never tried their pool but it looks inviting and clean unlike others I have seen in Trinidad.

Overall I would rate Hilton 4 stars and as being one of the best hotels to stay in when in Triniad,

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a view of the Savannah, they provide a more enchanting atmosphere than the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelVialva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Mr. MIchael Vialva:

We are very happy you have enjoyed each one of your stays with us, for business and pleasure. We really appreciate the time for sharing your very positive comments and experience in our comfortable rooms and the stunning views of the city.

Thank you for your preference and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
674 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
319 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre

Address: Lady Young Road | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $118 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing