We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapok Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yet Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Stayed at the hotel again for one night after having previously stayed last here year November. Once more, I found the hotel to be quite impressive-quality and cleanliness of the rooms, comfortable bed, great breakfast, excellent service, quiet and relaxing. I look forward to staying here soon again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AventuraChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    56
    13
    19
See reviews for
46
68
26
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

I want to start with the positive. I am going to give credit where credit is due. The waitresses were all professional as well as easy going. I cannot say the same for the front desk, unfortunately it takes one person to spoil it for the rest, but everything that was requested from the one receptionist never happened so therefore it made our opinion of the hotel change with each unanswered request. Towels! I don't understand why you only get one towel per person when there are two people in the room and when you request more you get one at a time, that was a bit frustrating considering I also had a four year old child in the room with us. Overall It was pleaseant stay, may consider another location next visit but won't suggest not going to Kapok. Keep improving.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reagonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.A.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

For business I stayed at Kapok Hotel a couple of times during the last years. Recently they renovated all the rooms. Rooms are clean and the size is good. Flat screen TV, coffee maker, free internet and a small fridge are in the room.
Kapok have 2 restaurants. One upstairs with a nice view over the ocean and town. They serve Asian/Oriental food. The other restaurant Bois Cano is on the first floor, have a nice bar and the food is international with a touch of Trini flavors.
Breakfast is complimentary with some pastries, breads, fruits, cereals, juices, cheeses and sliced cold meat.
Good location nearby the Grand Savannah and downtown POS is 10 minutes. You can find in walking distance also a small strip mall.
Personnel are friendly and good from chambermaids till bartenders.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadobeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Located at a reasonable distance from the city centre, it's a nice looking hotel, with friendly staff and clean rooms. On the down side, breakfast is very poor, air conditioning is noisy and the cable tv channels were quite lame. In other words, it's a good place to sleep and take a shower.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarojasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

The cleaning staff did an excellent job keeping our room clean and were very helpful. The front desk/reception staff were very professional, friendly and very helpful in keeping us posted as to events taking place at the hotel. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHDNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Had a nice pool, resturant and bar. People were very friendly.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank comeauzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed at the Kapok on numerous occasions. All I can really say is that it is a fine hotel. I think it is very over priced but having stayed in other hotels in POS it is not unreasonable. I would stay here for business but would find somewhere else if I was paying. The staff is friendly enough and the rooms are clean, large and have free internet access. The rooms on the street side can be loud and the air-conditioning units are very out-dated when you consider how much you are paying for the room. In the end I would say the hotel is average. I wouldn’t shy away and as I said I stay there frequently; however, I am not surprised with all the mixed reviews.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaBoBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapok Hotel

Property: Kapok Hotel
Address: 16-18 Cotton Hill | St. Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kapok Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kapok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Port Of Spain
Kapok Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing