We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations! ”
Review of Kapok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kapok Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations! ”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

As the title of this review states... This hotel exceeded my expectations. The lobby is modern, clean and open. When we went up to the second floor, the atmosphere changed. The hallway was drab and looked old. At that moment, I started to reconsider the hotel choice. However, when I got into my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the room was in good condition. It was neat and simple with a good view. I now realize that they are trying to renovate the hotel and the hallways are next. My family and I like the people and area so much, we extended our stay two extra nights!
P.S. the hotel is close to the Zoo and Botanical gardens!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    137
    56
    14
    19
See reviews for
47
69
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I will start off by saying that the Kapok Hotel was not my first choice of hotel when I knew that I would be visiting Trinidad for a wedding. I wanted to stay at the Hyatt. But, this hotel was the hotel of choice of the bride for her overseas guests and it was conveniently located close to where the ceremony was to be held. The overall experience was not all bad but I doubt that I would stay there on future visits to Trinidad. In terms of the positives. I liked the location. Close to the Savannah, walking distance from the zoo, the lovely botanical gardens and from one or two shopping centers like Ellerslie Plaza. We did have a car for our visit but we also walked some as there was a lot to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff were genuinely nice. I would single our Joel at the front desk. We found him to be very helpful and accommodating. While the staff were nice, them lacked basic knowledge to me. Things you would expect them to know. For example, I was asking for recommendations for restaurants to have a nice dinner on a Saturday night. No one seemed to know. Or where I might be able to rent a car on a Sunday for delivery to the hotel. Clueless. There is no concierge to speak of so you are on your own in that respect. As to the not so good aspects of the stay, firstly, the hotel has been around for some time and even though it appears to have been spruced up, it is still old. The rooms tell of this. The first room we were assigned to was facing a set of houses in the back of the hotel and it was small (although clean looking). We asked to see another room and were shown a couple of options more looking out to the front of the hotel. Better-ish. The biggest issue I had was the floor air con unit. It was ancient! And loud! And only blows air straight out. It is not possible to adjust the vents. So the extra bed they put out for our 3 year old daughter, she could not sleep on it as they positioned it right next to the air con unit and there was no where else to put it. We were also unable to adjust the temp on the unit so the room was either too hot or too cold. The bathroom was small and had very little counter space. They store the clean towels right on the counter next to the sink. Why not install a rack in the shower or shelves under the sink panel to free up the already limited space on the counters? Also the water coming from the shower was brown on numerous occasions. We also had a problem getting our room cleaned. The housekeeper showed up on the first morning, a Sunday morning, at 8:30 in the morning. We left the room mid morning and came back much later in the day to meet a still unmade up room. Same thing happened the following day. Food wise, generally very good. We had room service a few times during our stay. Delivery was prompt and the food was tasty. Overall a very average stay. I was expecting more given the generally positive reviewed on Tripadvisor but sadly, it did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Check-in was good - friendly, professional and courteous. Everything else - room, restaurant, overall service was "meh". I especially didn't appreciate the hostile service from the waitress in the restaurant. Check-out was bad (e.g, was double charged and had to spend hours with credit card company trying to fix the mess, and wasn't even thanked for staying). Will be booking the Hyatt next time I am in Port of Spain.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor at the front of the hotel - was awakened each morning at 5am by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RossyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Kapok hotel while we vacationed in Trinidad and the experience was amazing. The staff was so friendly and professional. The room, gym, and pool area were clean. The food at the Kava restaurant was absolutely delicious and the service was prompt. I recommend anyone to visit the Kapok hotel and I will definitely be staying at Kapok when I travel back to Trinidad.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Neisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My stay here was wonderful, excellent customer service and delicious food on the 8th floor, beautiful views, and yummy pizza from room service. The pool was also lovely (small but nice). Very modern, great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. The restaurant at the top of the hotel is one of the finest I have ever been to in terms of great quality of food and drinks.the bedroom is nice comfortable bed clean toilet. Comes with a mini fridge that you can purchase drinks and store there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_MDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff, bar and restaurant were hugely welcoming and the owner is both warm and keen to have feedback.

Everyone from the room cleaners to reception and serving staff were unfailingly polite, cheerful and engaging. Nothing was too much trouble.

A marvellous two week business stay - I would return without hesitation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#3 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapok Hotel

Property: Kapok Hotel
Address: 16-18 Cotton Hill | St. Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kapok Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kapok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Port Of Spain
Kapok Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing