We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mistake”

Caribbean Tourist Villa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribbean Tourist Villa
Ranked #21 of 42 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Castries, St. Lucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mistake”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The reservation system stinks. The staff is very rude and has no clue about customer service. Rooms not cleaned daily. Every front desk employee tells you something different and the manager seems to be operating remotely. Very poor experience.

Room Tip: Have someone visit the facility first if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rugs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
4
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Vincent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have never experienced such low class unprofessional service in my lifetime. The service was horrible, the staff were rude and down right out of place. After booking since in February , I turned up in May to be told they had no reservAtion in my name, hence no room was reserved for me and their only solution was for me to share a room with three other strangers. This was totally ludicrous. They took response for anbsolutely nothing and the manager never turned up to deal with my concerns even though I demanded to see him. No one must never have this experience and I am asking folks never to come this hell hole. I was AWFUL!

Room Tip: The rooms are all awful. They were never cleaned and after my fifth day I had to literally beg them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

As my review heading states this is "a place to rest your head" Good rate for Carnival, in the center of all the action. Avoid room 9. Smaller than the rest of rooms and not in good condition. Did not get the room that I actually saw when I had visited earlier.Walked to most places from here. Most of the staff were great. Espically the front desk staff who were most welcoming. Hats off to Sandy.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9.Request a fridge not a cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Okay, the first words out of my girlfriend's mouth was, feels like we're staying at someone's house.... Now if that's what you're looking for, you've hit the bullseye. Wasn't our type of place, but we weren't complaining with the $65 USD price tag. Only opted for one night though, before we moved elsewhere. Rooms were okay, very homely in a Trinidadian way i guess... We were however impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom, though it was super small. Small TV with cable TV was also provided.

Staff was the sore point here, they would assist you if you asked for help, but service was very factory, ("you are a number, let me process you - and you had better not request more than the basics") typa thing. but hey, all that resonated in my head was the $65 payed.

Okay location but just bare basics otherwise. First and last visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

ATTENTION: if you are used to American hotels this is NOT the place for you. I stayed here on business when visiting Port of Spain. Not a bad place if you don't feel like spending 200 dollars to stay at the Crowne or Hyatt. Very basic at the very least. Rooms are TINY, beds are uncomfortable, didn't try the breakfast so I can't rate that. Dining areas are not air conditioned (I hate eating while I sweat) therefore I would dine in my room. They do have internet but charge 3 dollars per minute. Pool was nice and clean. Considering tourism in Trinidad is virtually non-existent and most locals are unfriendly Caribbean Tourist Villas does well. Staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a fridge in the room and cable TV. Very close to the heart of P.O.S. (I actually walked there a few times) and just a street down from the bars and restaurants. Overall not a bad experience but also not a very enjoyable one either. Just a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDragon0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.4 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#28 of 42 in Port of Spain
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at 87
The Inn at 87
#3 of 42 in Port of Spain
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Culture Crossroads Inn
Culture Crossroads Inn
#1 of 42 in Port of Spain
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#8 of 42 in Port of Spain
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Tourist Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Tourist Villa

Property: Caribbean Tourist Villa
Address: Methuen Street # 7 | Woodbrook, Port of Spain 1868, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Tourist Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Tourist Villa is a small guesthouse of fourteen rooms, ideal for groups, persons on business and families looking for a peaceful retreat. We are located walking distance from restaurants, downtown, and cool liming hot spots on Ariapita Avenue and most embassy's. If you are looking for an affordable accommodation with all the modern conveniences, we welcome you. We try to create a comfortable atmosphere to give you the comfort of your home while you are away from your home. Our friendly staff awaits, Caribbean Tourist Villa and experience to be desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Caribbean Tourist Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Tourist Villa Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing