We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.”
Review of The Inn at 87

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at 87
Ranked #5 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The staff was excellent and I felt very safe in the area. The bathrooms were very state of the art .. Mirrors do not fog up when the hot water is used. No back splash fom water when showering as the curvature from the shower curtains hold the water in place. Not on the floor but in the shower. Very accessible to restaurants, there is one next door, and the savannah as it is called, where you can buy coconut water .... Great for cooling down . The handyman Valentine was so helpful , he escorted me to the nearby restaurants and returned when I called for him. He even gave me a taste of the local nightlife. The meeting room was very convenient for me when I held some of my meetings there. For value the price is great, centrally located. I will definitely return here and tell all my associates this is the place to be!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at 87
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

The location was perfect for my friend and I attending Carnival this year! We could walk everywhere ---to our mas camp, the Savannah, town, restaurants, bars, etc. And during Carnival location is key. The room (two single beds) was perfect for those using it more for sleep/showering...as we were out most of the time. It felt new though and much more modern/comfortable then other places I have stayed in POS for Carnival.

The air conditioning was comfortable, the food in the morning hit the spot and the staff was friendly. It is a small place, so the typical "large hotel" stuff wasn't there...but that's not what we were there for. I felt safe and was glad they kept the key while we were out and about. For Carnival the room was pricey, but relatively on the low-end compared to other B&B's/Hotels for that time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didipink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

You have no privacy or security at this establishment, with everyone who works there down to the cleaners all up in your business and making inappropriate comments about the guests! When you are in the room, there is no added security of having an inside chain or lock, and no privacy sign if you do not wish to be disturbed or have your room rumaged through if you go out. There are no security cameras on the premises and the door is opened to whoever rings the doorbell day or night. Why should I have to pay top dollars for a hotel room only to have my room key demanded back from me everytime I go out like I am a child? The front desk receptionists doubles as cooks and do not even wash their hands before preparing meals which leaves a lot to be desired. They claim to be a small hotel but charge big hotel prices, so it's is only fair that they provide big hotel service and security! I will refrain from commenting about the eccentric character who resides there.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank khandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innat87, Owner at The Inn at 87, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

The Inn at 87 is an intimate, sophisticated Boutique- style establishment with 1 main active entrance and exit. It allows for much better control of traffic and by extension security, than larger hotels with their multiple entrances and anonymous public trekking through the vast public spaces.

We know who is in and who is out, and holding room keys when a guest is off compound is in itself a security measure practiced by many hotels internationally.

The main door is kept locked at all times and opened only when staff have taken sight of the visitor, bearing in mind that no hotel in the world can assess the intent of anyone who enters its space.

This client exposed herself and the Inn to risk, by her admission of various unauthorised persons into her room over the period of her stay. This undesirable exposure was of concern to both the management and staff of the Inn.

Carnival is the busiest period of the year in Trinidad. In the hospitality business, resources are typically strained at this time, and it is not unusual for front desk staff countrywide, to get involved with ensuring that the breakfast service is not compromised.

As testified by the previous writer, our rates reflect the price increase inherent in peak time occupancy, and are the best value for money anywhere in Trinidad at this time. We stand by our price offerings at this and any other time of year.

Valentine is the eccentric ‘character’, who does odd jobs around the Inn, escorts clients around - day or night, and is of priceless benefit to the establishment.

We are very disappointed at this individual’s attempts to malign and sour our reputation at this early stage of our operation, because we expressed concern over her behavior as our guest at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mélène G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Titti-fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: El desayuno típico es de lo mejor!!!
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
34.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 87? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 87

Address: Woodford Street 87 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at 87 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel concept. All 9 rooms are uniquely decorated. Located a 2 minutes' walk from Queen's Park Savannah, Inn at 87 offers laundry service, free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Airport transfers arranged on request Inn at 87's air-conditioned rooms feature TV with cable channels and a refrigerator. The bathroom has a bath or shower, a toilet and a hairdryer. The on-site restaurant offers international food. Complimentary tea and coffee are served and room service is available on request. A variety of restaurants can be reached within a 5 minutes' walk. The Front Desk and Concierge Service provide information of activities and the city. The centre of Port of Spain is a 5 minutes' drive from the property. Gulf of Paria is 15 minutes' drive, while Caroni Swamp National Park is 20 minutes by car. The building is a newly restored Gingerbread House of historical worth, set in rich foliage. Parking for 5 cars. Conveniently located near to all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at 87 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At 87 Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing