We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Cascadia Hotel was clean the beds were clean and the towels white, the breakfast was good and we stayed during Carnival they kept breakfast going till we came back from Jouvert at 11am. The food in the restaurant was good, like everything in Trinidad it operates on trini time things can take time to arrive. They are planning to repair the pool this summer some tiles were missing. Security in the hotel was good. I was dreading going to the this hotel after the reviews. It was a basic hotel and clean that is all I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    19
    14
    29
See reviews for
28
18
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I was recently here for a conference. First of all, the pictures are not an accurate description of the property plays this up as a better hotel than it already is. The hotel is run down. The rooms smell moldy and have not been updated since the hotel was built. I had no hot water and the two double beds, werent the same size, and without a nightstand, they were kind enough to put the phone on the bed. The air conditioner didnt work and it was incredibly hot in the room. When looking into getting a swim in, I found that the pool was missing a lot of the tiles and was not taken care of at all. I can not express to anyone how bad this hotel experience was. My business partner had ants in his room and bed. After looking at his mattress, he found something had eaten through the corners. On a good note, there is a member of their team that works in the restaurant named "Viv". She was very nice and took good care of our group. However, the condition of the rooms is a reason to not stay at the hotel.
If you need a nice hotel stay, go somewhere else, there are plenty of choices to look at besides this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. The rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FireMedic203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I am posting this from my husband who is currently there for a conference. He just checked out and thankfully got another hotel. Please see the photos

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jabudarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at Cascadia with my husband recently for 1 night.
The rooms were very outdated... The hotel should spend some time renovating these rooms. Under the bathmats are very dirty.There was bad weather and the electricity was cut for most of the night, so the AC wasn't working, which wasn't the hotel's fault... Requested additional pillows about 5 times and eventually got 1 at midnight. They said the hotel was booked up, but thats not a good reason for not having pillows available. Our room only had 3 pillows which is a bit odd for 2 persons! We made the best of the situation, but the hotel didnt offer anything additional or went out of their way to make up for any of the shortcomings...

The breakfast in the morning could have been better, no pancakes which was disappointing... and the pastries and muffins were dry.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Ok so I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights ( The Worst 4 nights of my life) This hotel is so dated and ran down. The Gym and pool that was presented to me on the web site looked like a zoo had ran through it. The rooms/beds and bathrooms were so nasty. There was no hot water nor pressure to take a nice shower. The hallways smelled like fungus was lerking in the carpets. On top of that my friend which whom was had her whole wedding party staying there had big ants in the bathroom all around the toliet (so NASTY) The manager was very cocky and rude towards us. In addition he took FOREVER to even confirm our rooms for the wedding in which we made arrangements 10 months prior to.. This is a bad represenation of Trinidad & Tobago...me and my family checked out 7 days early and ran NOT walked to the Carlton Savannah (AWESOME HOTEL) I hope this helps anyone considering Cascadia Hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniLover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Three times I called to confirm reservations, so that they will make proper arrangements to accommodate my family., which includes an 11 month old. Ask for crib, got long unsafe mattress.Room (superior) was small and dirty. Breakfast was okay and so was the staff there. There is an old woman at front desk, not my favourite. Everyone else was pleasant. Will never (never say never) return there.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spnTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First i want to say the service was good at the front office there was a tall young lady very very good service.The restaurant service what can i say there was a young lady in a black uniform her service in the restaurant was very good she gave me ideas on what to eat an that was a plus how ever there was a young lady that i dealt with her name is misty cant forget her name please train her, her service an knowledge on that u all had to eat was very very poor an her attitude behind it poor she must lean how to deal with her guest better an now want u all have before she deals with guest. I will like to say i enjoyed my stay other wise an nice breakfast.I will come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.2 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 1,557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#13 of 22 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 67 Ariapita Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and ETB so you can book your Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Conference Center
Cascadia Hotel Port Of Spain
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing