We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I knew they were renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our stay started off rocky. The hotel is under renovations which made things a bit dusty. Our first set of rooms were musty and moldy. Then after a night of that we asked to change rooms. What a difference a floor made!!! We moved to the 11th floor from the 10th. Rooms were much better. I needed that since I have a 9 month old who was 8 months at the time. our last day there the construction noise was way to early in the morning. The staff is great and always helpful. Check out was not the greatest experience. They need to print the bill late night and slip it under your door so that you can review it first thing in the morning for possible disputes and in the event you have special circumstances like paying for two rooms and leaving before your guests with the booking credit card. Overall, I would give them a second chance after renovations are done. The staff kept us there as well as the pool. They should have given us a price break or a 2 nights free based on the noise of the renovations and the night we spent in the mold and must. But business is business I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Simona M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the noise during your stay but we are currently upgrading our elevators in order to improve your future stays with us.

We are happy you did enjoy your time at our pool and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next trip to POS, Trinidad.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 686 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

this makes my third time staying at this hotel and I must say that in my travels around the world this hotel is ranked in the top 10 BEST HOTELS that I have stayed in. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. the Staff at this Hotel are top notch for service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Michael W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Michael WS,

Thank you taking the time to write such a positive review on your recent stay at the Radisson Hotel Trinidad. We are overjoyed that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Port of Spain.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

very nice staff they make you feel welcome.! breakfast oké, coffee terrible, delicious beds&bedding. Close to seefront, but to many buildings closeby to have a nice view. Hotel is close to the Hyatt, which offers nice seefront vieuws and pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank unknown2042010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear unknown2042010,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your recent stay with us. We do apologize that the taste of the coffee was not to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Hotel Trinidad during your next visit to Port of Spain.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The only way to describe my stay is with one word AWESOME. This Radisson Hotel is located down town Port of Spain the capital of Trinidad and Tobago. So shopping - Banking - restaurant's - entertainment is all within your reach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
1  Thank X7970VZrobertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Manager at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear X7970VZrobertc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Radisson Hotel Trinidad during your next trip to POS.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed at the Radisson Trinidad on business, great hotel, very friendly front desk staff.
Food in the restaurant off the lobby was great everyday, service staff very friendly. If you are staying for business and are looking for value for money this is hotel to stay at.
Great Service Friendly Staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Charles E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay with us at the Radisson Hotel Trinidad. We will ensure that the staff receive your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to Port of Spain.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. Check in was quick, free internet and ample selection of food. Definitely more than what I expected. Since the hotel is undergoing renovation, they might want to consider placing fridges in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Ruth Marie M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on your recent stay with us at the Radisson Hotel Trinidad. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next trip to Port of Spain.

Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was lured to this hotel as the rates were cheaper and free wifi was available in comparison to nearby city hotels. Also the re-branding and advertised renovations of this hotel falsely made me believe that quality would have been to acceptable standards. I was wrong.

The check-in process was fairly quick, we were offered complimentary beverages and are still waiting to receive it. Upon arriving at our room, the room number was falling from the wall and was a tell tale sign of what was behind the door. The room door was old and there was an unusually long response time from the room card. The air condition in the room was turned off which contributed more to the unbearable musty smell. The assigned room was neither ocean view nor was it the king sized bed as ordered and hair pins were strewn about the carpet.This suggested that the room was not cleaned. We returned to the front desk and were helped by Kelly who was quite pleasant through the entire ordeal and helped us seek an alternative room. We were shown 2 other rooms, the musty smell persisted in the other rooms, and we had chosen the lesser of the two evils. It was a tiring experience, so much so that we cancelled our city plans for that afternoon. The bathroom faucet was loose with grime around it and the vents needed cleaning.

Room service took a while to deliver, but they were apologetic and the food was good to compensate for our drama.

The lobby area was the only part of this hotel that looked inviting.

My advice would be for the room service manager to inspect room more frequently and the air condition be turned on when expecting guests.

Room Tip: Level 7 for a peek view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulaMar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine35, Director of Marketing at Radisson Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear PaulaMar_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the problems you experienced while at the hotel. We value your comments and have noted them and are working to ensure that similar situations do not reoccur in the future.

We do hope to welcome you soon to bring back your confidence in our Hotel


Maxine Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
322 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Trinidad

Address: Wrightson Road & London Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $144 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel, Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Crowne Plaza Trinidad
Trinidad Crowne Plaza
Radisson Hotel Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing