We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would do it again”
Review of Samise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samise Villa
Ranked #9 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Mount Vernon, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would do it again”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at samise during carnival 2013 and had a very good stay. Denise is the most gracious hostess and very accomodating. I found the house to be easily accessible and not too far from the city center. The house was kept very clean and everything functioning. She is also quite reseourceable - I did more than expected because of whom she connected us with. Definitely would do it again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveforJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
As we have promised, "our hospitality and personalised service will delight you". Thank you for expressing how you felt about our service, as we continue to strive for excellence in customer service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
12
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Islip, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at Samise Villa for a week this past August and Denise is a gracious and accommodating hostess. Very knowledgeable about Port of Spain & transportation. I remember one nite she even went out of her way to bring me KFC for dinner because there was no delivery of food in the area. The rooms were clean & comfortable, the grounds well kept & the music was a nice touch. I am happy to have visited Trinidad for the 1st time since I was a toddler and stayed at this guest house rather than stay at a "hotel". Staying at the villa gave me a more homelike feeling. The other guests were like family (Tony, Sam & Neal). Just liming with them at the villa was something I wouldn't have had at a hotel. It was private & we could wear comfortable house-like clothes to chill in the backyard. If you're visiting Port of Spain for the 1st time, staying at this villa will give you a fuller experience versus a hotel. Not to mention, the cost was reasonable. I would definitely recommend Samise Villa and would visit there again. :)

Room Tip: Upper level of villa has a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1TRUTH2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We appreciate your comments and that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. Happy to know that you felt at home, as this is one of the objectives we strive to achieve when hosting our guests. We stand ready to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I must compliment Denise for her good work, professional behavior and the up keep of this place. Also her concerns towards her guest and treatment is remarkable. I have no difficulties in recommending her place Samise Villa to persons. I also want to comment on the security of her place which is very good. The location is also fantastic

Carlisle Jno Baptiste
Dominica

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlislejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just stay one night and were the only guests but it was ok Denise was very friendly and helpful. The guesthouse is a old house but like a home and very clean. It is far from the city center and the neighborhood is not so nice. But if you only want to have nice place to sleep and have things to do during daytime, it is more than ok. So Thank You Denise for a nice sty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindgren_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Denise, the owner, is absolutely lovely. The facilities are not excellent but a good value for money. The guesthouse is in one of the residential areas which makes it far from the happening places in the city but there are cheap taxis to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Three friends and I stayed at Samise Villa for a short stay in Port of Spain. We arrived late and Denise (the hostess/operator) was very accommodating of that. Our experience was a little different, as I had family close by to help us with rides and everything, but when we needed, we easily got taxis (only cars with "H" in the license plate) and were not too far from the downtown area. The property is lush, secure and our units had many beds, air conditioning and there was a lovely little courtyard to hang out in. Denise made a modest breakfast everyday, but we didn't eat much as we were out quite a bit. The day we left for the airport we left a piece of luggage and Denise was quick to contact one of my relatives who had called during our stay to let us know. That would have been a disaster without Denise's quick thinking!

Definitely not a place if you will possibly make a lot of noise or have guests after 10pm, as there could be other residents. But over-all exactly what we needed for a great price!

I've noticed other posters have mentioned the psychiatric hospital next door..I will affirm it is a non-issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Happy to know that you were comfortable and satisfied with your experience at Samise Villa. It was certainly a pleasure hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had to be in Trinidad for a few days to attend a funeral. Needless to say, I needed a place to stay on very short notice at an affordable price. I found Samise Villa on the internet late at night, emailed my info, and within hours had a room reserved at a very nice rate. When I arrived at the villa I was more than surprised at how beautiful, clean and comfortable the accomodations were at that price point, with a comfortable bed and all the amenities (ac, cable tv, bathroom with hot and cold water, closet space)...not to mention, breakfast was included...and that in itself was also very delicious. The cherry on top was the courteousness and overall pleasant demeanor of my host and her son...they make you feel welcome! I've already said on my next visit I WILL BE STAYING AT SAMISE VILLA!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and compliments. We were happy to host you during your short visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Sundeck Suites
Sundeck Suites
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#27 of 43 in Port of Spain
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savannah Maison Guest House
Savannah Maison Guest House
#11 of 43 in Port of Spain
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Port of Spain
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samise Villa

Property: Samise Villa
Address: St. Anns Road 47 | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samise Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Industry Certification (TTTIC) approved Trinidad Guesthouse/Bed and Breakfast Accommodation (small hotel) situated close to the Central Business District in the Capital City of Port of Spain, on the main thoroughfare of the St. Ann's Road and only five (5) minutes away from the main shopping area in downtown Port of Spain. We are also located approximately 35 minutes from Piarco International Airport. With public transportation at our gateway, access is easy and cheap to and from this Guest House. Our beautiful B&B/Guest House and Vacation Rental offers quality rooms in a clean, safe, secure, quiet and comfortable environment for both business and leisure travellers with low, inexpensive, competitive and affordable rates starting at US$35.00 Per person per night with complimentary Breakfast. We are an inexpensive hotel which offers short-term and long-term vacation rentals for interns, professionals, researchers and vacationers, backpackers accommodation, hikers accommodation and student accommodation. All our rooms are of good quality with air-conditioned, cable television and hot and cold water. Wireless Internet is also available on the entire compound. We provide high quality budget accommodation in a secure, peaceful and convenient environment. Our personable service is evident by our highly rated testimonials from our past guests. "Our hospitality and personalised service will delight you!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Samise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samise Villa Hotel Port Of Spain
Samise Villa Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing