We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad location”
Review of Samise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samise Villa
Ranked #9 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Samise Villa located on St. Anns Road. It is not a nice and safe place to walk at night time. Also it is next to Physiatrist hospital!
Be prepare to deposit $100 and have some unexpected deductions for the laundry and more during check out time.

Never will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

We are saddened and surprised by your expressions of concern of the safety involved in getting to and from our location at night. Obviously we felt flattered when you checked out of another popular Port of Spain hotel after spending time there and came to our facility where you initially booked and stayed four (4) nights and subsequently extended your stay for an additional four (4) nights and then another three (3) more nights. We really thought that when you increased not only your stay with us, but also included another member of your family to stay at the Villa that you were having a different experience as expressed in your review during your eleven (11)nights stay.

As you would have seen, the St. Anns suburb is a well known location for tourist accommodation in the Capital City of Port of Spain. It is in close proximity to many tourist sites and attractions such as the Emperor Valley Zoo, The Botanical Gardens, Queens Park Savannah, Presidents Grounds, the Magnificent Seven, the National Museum and Churches among others. Furthermore, the St. Anns Main Road provides the entrance to many large and medium sized Hotels, Guesthouses and Bed and Breakfast facilities. In addition to this, the official residence of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and the Diplomatic Centre are accessed via this Main Road. This St. Anns Main Road is well traversed both day and night as a course for normal commuting and public transportation. Further, it is common knowledge that as a lone traveller, particularly female, walking the streets at night possesses its own safety challenges and this is relevant to instance and any destination.

Also, we have to say that we are unaware of the existence and location of the “Physiatrist hospital” of which you mentioned . However, the St. Anns psychiatric hospital, which comprises a very huge compound of acres of land borders many properties of which Samise Villa is one. This has never been a problem as evidenced by the many positive visitor reviews of our facility.

The security deposit of which you referred, is a refundable deposit requested of all guests to cover any charges or costs incurred during their stay and this was clearly communicated upon your check in. Our website clearly shows that laundry is a chargeable service. Guests are also reminded of the charges when a chargeable service is requested to avoid unexpected deductions from the security deposit at the conclusion of their stay and this was done in your case when the laundry service was requested.

We cannot help but mention that at no cost to you, it was indeed a pleasure for us to take you to the mas camp and pan yard visits of which we thoroughly enjoyed exposing you to the culture of Trinidad and Tobago.

Samise Villa will continue to strive for excellence in providing quality accommodation to our visitors and to make each person’s experience here at the Villa a positive and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at Samise Villa for two weeks. We are a family of five, two adults and three children. Samise Villa is clean, the food is great, and Denise is extremely helpful. Samise Villa is only a short walk from the zoo, the botanical gardens, and the Queens Park Savannah. I highly recommend these accomodations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonPaulSydnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

It was certainly a pleasure to host you and your family.

Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to have you and your family have a memorable experience in Trinidad and Tobago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Good accomodation, clean, nice breakfast, patio to enjoy late night rum punch, local shops, and bar close by, you can walk to Queens Park where we ate every night, the 'doubles' were yummy, some other nice places to eat, if you want the more 'western' type venue. Denise is very helpfull with everything you may need, in arranging trips and taxis, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauriewalker_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Always our pleasure in serving our guests and making their stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Spent a week with Denise and Sam, lovely hosts, clean rooms, nothing was too difficult for them and the local knowledge they shared allowed us to really experience Trinidadian life.
Denise prepared a tasty and wholesome breakfast each morning.
Would definitely stay at samise again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We are happy to know that we made your stay in Trinidad and Tobago enjoyable. It was a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I spent a week at Samise Villa in St Ann´s and would recommend it to anybody who is looking for an antidote to the large-scale hotel chains in Port of Spain. Denise and Sam are lovely hosts who really take care of their guests...Rooms were modern and very clean with air conditioning and private en-suite facilities...Lovely gardens and patio at the property with a wholesome breakfast included every morning too. If you are looking for a guest house situated near the capital then look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you for your comments and recommendation.

We were delighted to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Samise Villa for one night as we were doing a stop over in Port of Spain. We booked the package which includes a night for two, the breakfast, the transfer from and to the aiport and we paid a 20$ extra for late check out.
The house is very pleasant and clean, the hosts are very friendly. Air conditioning and cable tv in the room, good breakfast.It's a 20 mins walk to the city center but you can take a taxi to go there.
In one word, very nice place to stay in Port of Spain !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifinou973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Appreciation and thanks for your review and recommendation to prospective guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

It was an amazing and fantastic experience to be at Samise Villa!

As a person with personal disabilities, all my needs were met by them and I would even suggest that people with special needs, I mean physical disabilities, could feel safe and comfortable there.

They have surprised me every single day I have been there. All I have to do is to congratulate them for their patience as every time I needed something, they fulfilled it. I am a blind person, but I did not find any difficulty staying here.

I would highly recommend Samise Villa to anyone looking for a comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation in Port of Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We are pleased to know that you were comfortable and happy staying here. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
902 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel
L'Orchidee Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in St. Ann's
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Port of Spain
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Tourist Villa
Caribbean Tourist Villa
#21 of 43 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samise Villa

Address: St. Anns Road 47 | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: $41 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samise Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Industry Certification (TTTIC) approved Trinidad Guesthouse/Bed and Breakfast Accommodation (small hotel) situated close to the Central Business District in the Capital City of Port of Spain, on the main thoroughfare of the St. Ann's Road and only five (5) minutes away from the main shopping area in downtown Port of Spain. We are also located approximately 35 minutes from Piarco International Airport. With public transportation at our gateway, access is easy and cheap to and from this Guest House. Our beautiful B&B/Guest House and Vacation Rental offers quality rooms in a clean, safe, secure, quiet and comfortable environment for both business and leisure travellers with low, inexpensive, competitive and affordable rates starting at US$35.00 Per person per night with complimentary Breakfast. We are an inexpensive hotel which offers short-term and long-term vacation rentals for interns, professionals, researchers and vacationers, backpackers accommodation, hikers accommodation and student accommodation. All our rooms are of good quality with air-conditioned, cable television and hot and cold water. Wireless Internet is also available on the entire compound. We provide high quality budget accommodation in a secure, peaceful and convenient environment. Our personable service is evident by our highly rated testimonials from our past guests. "Our hospitality and personalised service will delight you!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Samise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samise Villa Hotel Port Of Spain
Samise Villa Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing